answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

I believe it's a single rule 10.05 a base hit shall be scored in the following cases:(e) when a fair ball which has not been touched by a fielder touches a runner or an umpire. EXCEPTION: Do not score a hit when a runner is called out for having been touched by an infield fly.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2007-08-09 18:02:26
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: What is a batter credited with when his ground ball hits a base runner?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

If a ground ball to the infield scores a runner when they throw to first to get the batter is it a sac for the batter?

No, it is scored as a ground out and the batter is credited with an RBI.


What is the official scoring of a ground ball that hits the runner?

The baserunner is out and the batter is credited with a single. The putout goes to the fielder closest to the ball when it hit the runner.


How do you score the batter if a base runner is hit by the ball?

The batter is credited with a single. The runner is out and play is dead.


Does the hitter get credited for a single if he makes a ground ball hit to the outfield and the runner at first gets forced out at second base?

No. In no situation can a batter be credited with a base hit if a runner is forced out.


Does a batter get credit for hit if the batted ball hits a base runner?

If a batted ball hits a runner in fair territory, the runner is out, and the batter is credited with a single and takes 1st base


Does the batter get a sacrifice if the runner on first tags and goes to second?

Yes as long as the runner advances Assuming you mean the runner tags up on a fly ball and advances to second, it is not scored as a sacrifice, but, simply as a fly out and the batter is charged with a time at bat. If the batter bunt a ground ball, the runner would not be required to "tag up" to advance and the batter would be credited with a sacrifice. If the batter is attempting a sacrifice bunt and pops up and the runner, tags up and somehow advances to second the batter is not credited with a sacrifice.


Does the batter get credited with an RBI when a runner on third scores on a wild pitch or passed ball?

no


If a batter hits a pitch and the ball hits a runner how is it scored?

The play is dead, the runner that was hit is out, and the batter reaches first base and is credited with a single.


There is a runner on 1st base with 1 out Next batter hits a ground ball to the outfield and reaches first base and runner is out at second base Does the hitter ger credited for a single?

That would depend on how the runner was retired at second base. For example, if the runner slipped and fell on his way to second base and the outfielder had the time to throw him out on a force play, the batter would not get credited with a base hit. If the runner made it to second base safely and then slipped rounding the bag and the outfielder threw to second base and the runner was tagged out, the batter would be credited with a base hit. If a runner is forced out at any base, regardless of where the ball was hit, the batter is not credited with a base hit.


Little league ball is hit and bounces back toward batter it hits batters helmet and goes out of bounds Is the batter out?

If the baseball hit the ground in foul territory, the ball is a foul ball. If the baseball hit the ground in fair territory, and the batter/runner is still in the batter's box when the baseball hits him, it is a foul ball. If the baseball hit the ground in fair territory and the batter/runner is out of the batter's box when the baseball hits him, the batter/runner is out and the ball is dead.


If a runner is hit with the ball running to secondbase is the batter credited with a hit when there is two outs?

No. Runner must reach 1st safely.


Does the batter get a hit when the baseball he hits then hits the runner moving from 1st base to 2nd?

If a batted ball that a fielder has no chance to field hits a runner, the runner is called out and the batter is credited with a single.

People also asked