answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

Baseball rule 10:06 (e) a base hit shall not be scored when a runner is called out for interference with a fielder attempting to field a batted ball, unless in the scorer's judgment the batter runner would have been safe had the interference not occurred.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2011-05-05 14:00:20
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: What is a batter credited with when a baserunner is called out for interference?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

If an interference is called on the batter does the batter get an at bat?

If a batter is called out for interference, it will be recorded as a put-out by the catcher and will go against the batter's batting average.


What happens on a fly ball when the baserunner is not on a base in softball?

The baserunner is called out.


Does batters interference have to be intentional?

No, any type of interference is against the rule. It is similar to a pitcher unintentionally hitting a batter. As it is true that the interference does not have to be intentional, there are occasions where there might be "interference" that is not called as such. i.e If a batter takes a pitch and a runner is stealing a base, if the catcher throws the ball and hits the batter or his bat, while the batter is still standing in the box, this is not called interference


What happens to a runner when theres batter interference?

The ball is dead and all runner go back there base the batter is called out ...


Can the catcher touch the batter while throwing to 3RD base?

The catcher is allowed to touch the batter while throwing to any base. However, the batter must not move into the catcher's path. If the batter does and the catcher makes contact with the batter, it is called as Interference. If Interference is called during a steal attempt, the runner must go back to their original base.


Does a pitcher get credited with an earned run if the run was originally called out but due to interference by second baseman run was counted?

No, error


What is catchers interference?

Catcher's Interference is an Umpire's call due to the Catcher making some type of contact with either the batter or his bat during a pitch or does other actions to interfere with a batter's ability to hit the oncoming pitched ball however an Umpire can only call Catcher's Interference as long as the batter is in a legal position while in the batter's box and in the event of Catcher's Interference being called the batter is awarded first base automatically and the runners advanced only if forced to.


How can you hit three triples and three singels in one inning and not score a run?

Batter 1 (B1) hits a triple and is thrown out at the plate. B2 does the same. B3 safetly hits a triple. B4 hits an infield single yet B3 is unable to score. B5 also hits an infield single but is unable to score. Bases loaded, 2 outs, 3 triples hit and 2 singles thus far. B6 hits a ground ball (or line drive) that strikes a baserunner. Baserunner is called out whereas batter is automatically credited with a single.


Ways to get to first base without hitting the ball?

Without actually hitting the ball: 1. Walk 2. Intentional walk 3. Balk 4. Third strike, dropped ball 5. Hit by pitch 6. Pinch-runner 7. Base runner on first base at time game is delayed is traded before play resumes; baserunner is subbed in when game resumes 8. Failure to pitch within 20 seconds 9. Four illegal pitches 10. Fielder obstruction* 11. Error* Hitting the ball, but not having it scored as a hit: 1. Catcher interference 2. Fielder interference 3. Fan interference 4. Fan obstruction 5. Fielder obstruction* 6. Fielder's choice 7. Baserunner called out on appeal 8. Error* 9. Fair ball hits ump 10. Fair ball hits baserunner Hitting the ball; scored as a hit: 1. Single 2. Dropped sacrifice fly (different than error--dropped sac fly is intentional) 3. Sacrifice bunt fails to advance baserunner 4. Preceding baserunner put out *Batter can reach first base after dropped 3rd strike on error (catcher overthrows first base) or if obstructed by a fielder (pitcher gets in the way of the baserunner). Batter can also reach first base after hitting the ball if fielder commits error (fielder overthrows first base) or if obstructed by a fielder (pitcher gets in the way of the baserunner).


Is a runner out for interference if accidentally contacted by a thrown ball?

depends on the sport, but in baseball yes he is out. its called bean-baging EDIT: No. Baseball is not kickball. A baserunner is not out if he/she is hit by a thrown ball as long as the baserunner is in the base path. If the runner is considered to have left the base path as so to interfere with a thrown ball, or made some other purposeful effort to impede the flight of the ball (ie, stick his/her hand or leg in the way), they can be called out for interference. This is a judgment call made at the discretion of one of the umpires. However, a baserunner is considered automatically out if struck by a batted ball. And as far as I know, bean-bagging is not a term used in baseball.


With a runner on third stealing on a passed ball can the batter be called for interference?

yes i doesnt matten ur team or not


Should a batter be called out on a foul ball when he intentionally kicks it out of course?

I would imagine this could be interpreted as interference.

People also asked

Does a batter get credited with a hit on runner interference?

View results