What is a IPL address?

Updated: 9/28/2023
User Avatar

Wiki User

11y ago

Best Answer
Indian Premier LeagueThe IPL - the Indian Premier League - is a cricket league started by BCCI. It is a tournament that features the format of 20 overs per game, and is contested by various teams that have their headquarters in the various large cities of India.

It is also referred to as the DLF IPL, to signify the company that is the prime sponsor for the tournament - DLF Limited.

Each team is owned by a franchisee who is a prominent personality or an industrialist. Initially, in 2008, the IPL was started with only 8 teams. After three successful tournaments, this year (2011), the IPL features 2 extra teams, making the total tally of 10 teams.

The teams and their respective city/state and owners are as follows:

  1. Deccan Chargers - Hyderabad - Deccan Chronicle
  2. Delhi Daredevils - Delhi - GMR Group
  3. Kings XI Punjab - Mohali - Preity Zinta & Ness Wadia
  4. Mumbai Indians - Mumbai - Mukesh Ambani
  5. Pune Warriors India - Pune - Sahara Group*
  6. Kolkata Knight Riders - Kolkata - Shahrukh Khan
  7. Kochi Tuskers Kerala - Cochin - Rendezvous Sports*
  8. Royal Challengers Bangalore - Bangalore - Vijay Mallya
  9. Rajasthan Royals - Rajasthan - Shilpa Shetty
  10. Chennai Super Kings - Chennai - India Cements

The two teams marked with an asterisk are the new additions as of the 2011 edition of the IPL. The other eight teams have been playing ever since the beginning of the tournament in 2008.

Winners of the IPL in previous years

2008 - Rajasthan Royals

2009 - Deccan Chargers

2010 - Chennai Super Kings

2011 - As of April 11, 2011, competition currently in progress

Where are the matches held?

Each team has a home venue (ground) where they play each of their opponents once; likewise, each of the opponents hosts a match on its home ground.

Players and auction

Players who express interest in playing in the IPL tournament are entered into an auction, where the owners of the respective teams bid for a specific player and win his services. Players such as Dhoni, Sachin, Sehwag, and Kevin Pietersen - amongst others - are in high demand and are paid hefty sums by the franchisees to gain their services.

User Avatar

Wiki User

12y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar
More answers
User Avatar

Wiki User

11y ago

indian premiure league

This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: What is a IPL address?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

Which team made the hihgest score in dlf ipl 2007?

IPL started in 2008.There was no IPL held in 2007. IPL season 1-2008 IPL season 2-2009 IPL season 3-2010 IPL season 4-2011

What were the winning teams of all seasons in ipl?

IPL 1-Rajasthan Royals,IPL 2-Deccan Chargers,IPL 3- Chennai Super Kings, IPL 4- Chennai super kings, IPL 5- Kolkata Knight Riders, IPL 6-Mumbai Indians, IPL 7- Kolkata Knight riders

Who is the captain of IPL?

Mr Chirau Aameen is the IPL Chief and is responsible for launching th IPL..

Who makes ads of ipl?

IPL ads will be created by the sponsors of the IPL which has been conducted every year.

What are the negative effects of IPL on people?

this ipl disturbs the people who dont know or want to know about ipl.

What is important ipl match or election?

ipl match

Which team has won IPL 1 and 2and 3?

Rajasthan Royals (IPL 1)) Deccan Chargers (IPL 2) Chennai Super Kings (IPL 3)

Why the name dlf ipl?

DLF was the sponser of the IPL for the seasons for three years hence the name was dlf Ipl

Is IPL hair removal suitable for people with albinism?

no ipl is hair removal all pepole like ipl

Who will ipl?

ipl wil win delhi daredevils 100%

Is kkr a good ipl team in ipl 2010?


Which the website to see ipl?

www.dlf ipl