Well a foul tip is when on the third strike, the catcher catches the ball resulting in the batter being out. But if you are suggesting that on the third strike the batter fouls the ball off but it ends up hitting him it is a strike but the ball is dead, so the count stays the same.
If the ball stays in fair territory, then everything is like a normal bunt. But if the ball is bunted into foul territory on a third strike, then the batter is automatically out.
Batter is out, the ball is dead when it hits the batter. Runner at third returns to third.
yes and no. a foul ball on the third strike goes uncaught then it is not a third strike. if a foul ball is caught on the third strike, including a foul tip, the batter is out.
Yes. Rule 6.05(d) of the MLB Rulebook states that a batter is out if "He bunts foul on third strike".
The batter can make an attempt to reach first, but if the ball is fouled off by the batter, the batter is out (strike out).
If the batter has 2 strikes and attempts to bunt but fouls the ball he is out.
"Dropped third strike", batter swings and misses the third strike, he then runs to an unoccupied first base, but catcher throws him out at first to complete the STRIKE OUT. it's a STRIKE OUT (Capital "K" in the book).
yes, but he can be thrown out if the ball beats him to first after the dropped 3rd strike.
No, but if it was two strikes, then he bunted a foul, then he would be out
If the batter attempts to hit the ball and misses, it is a strike. If the batter does not attempt to hit the ball and the ball enters the strike zone, it is a strike. If the batter does not attempt to hit the ball and the ball does not enter the strike zone, it is a ball (unless it hits the batter, then the batter is awarded 1st base).
If the batter is hit in the arm while swinging and he misses the ball the call is a strike.
If you bunt foul when you already have 2 strikes, you have just gotten your third strike. This is about the only way to get a 3rd strike on a foul ball. A foul bunt that is not caught in flight is always counted as a strike, even if it is a third strike and thus results in a strikeout of the batter. All other foul balls which, if not caught in flight, are only counted as a strike if not a third strike.