answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

If you bunt foul when you already have 2 strikes, you have just gotten your third strike. This is about the only way to get a 3rd strike on a foul ball. A foul bunt that is not caught in flight is always counted as a strike, even if it is a third strike and thus results in a strikeout of the batter. All other foul balls which, if not caught in flight, are only counted as a strike if not a third strike.

User Avatar

Araceli Harris

Lvl 10
โˆ™ 2022-04-14 16:44:59
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: What happens when you bunt a foul ball with two strikes on hand?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

Why after 2 strikes in baseball don't count foul balls as strikes?

Because you can't get called out on a foul ball if it wasn't caught in the air. you can get out on a foul ball after 2 strikes. mainly people just think of the swinging foul being the only possibility but there are people who will bunt with 2 strikes and they are called out on a foul ball. it doesnt happen that much but it still happens.


What happens when you bunt a foul ball with two strikes out on hand?

If you bunt foul when you already have 2 strikes, you have just gotten your third strike. This is about the only way to get a 3rd strike on a foul ball. A foul bunt that is not caught in flight is always counted as a strike, even if it is a third strike and thus results in a strikeout of the batter. All other foul balls which, if not caught in flight, are only counted as a strike if not a third strike.


A foul tip bunt that does not go higher than the batters head is he out?

If he had to previous strikes then yes. No matter where the pitch is, a foul ball is a foul ball.


Can a batter be called out on a bunted ball that goes foul?

Yes. If a batter attempts a bunt when there are two strikes and the bunt is ruled foul, the batter is called out and a strikeout is awarded to the pitcher's stats.


When are foul balls strikes?

Only the first 2 foul balls are counted as strikes unless a subsequent foul is a foul tip into the catches glove and they maintain possesion of it or the batter attempts to bunt with two strikes and the ball goes foul. This would be strike three.


A batter tried to bunt with two strikes. the bat hit the ball twice. the ball lands fair and rolls foul. What is the call?

Batter is out.


What is a foul ball in baseball?

When a batter hits a ball but it goes outside the white lines (these line up with 3rd and 1st base)it is called a "foul ball" and it counts as a strike. However if the batter already has 2 strikes it does not count as anything because you can not "strike out" on a foul ball. You cannot have a foul ball on a bunt attempt if you have two strikes, however, as that is considered an out.


How do you score an out when a player gets hit by ball afterbunting while in batters box?

First of all a player cannot be called out if s/he is hit with a bunt while still in the batters box. That is declared a foul ball. If the person bunts the ball with two strikes and is hit in the batter's box with the ball after bunting then is is ruled a strikeout. It is ruled a strikout if you ever bunt the ball foul with two strikes.


There is 1 out with a man on third 2 strikes on the batter The batter attempts a bunt that goes foul behind first base no one catches it the batter is out Can the runner from 3rd base advance?

NO. A runner cannot advance on a foul ball that is not "played" (i.e. if a foul fly ball is CAUGHT, the runner may tag up). A foul bunt on a 2 strike count is a dead ball out.


If you hit the ball outside of the foul lines what is the ball called and what happens?

The ball is considered foul. The play results in a strike against the batter, unless he already has two strikes in which case no strikes are added.


Is the batter out if a bunted ball hits him?

it depends on the situation. If the count is two strikes then it is an out because if the batter is insied the box then it is a fould ball and a two strike foul ball on a bunt attempt is an out. If there is one strike or zero strikes then the batter can be called out or a foul ball. If he is still in the batter's box and the ball touches him then it is a fould ball but if the batter is outside the batter's box and the ball touches him, then he is out.


How many foul balls can a batter have?

You can technically have infinite foul balls (assuming they go out of the playing field and are not caught). The exception is if there are already 2 strikes and you foul the ball off but it goes right into the catchers mitt. Then you're out. Also, if they're are 2 strikes and you attempt a bunt and hit it foul then you are out. ---------- Above answer is almost correct... A batter can hit an unlimited number of fouls, but a foul that is caught in the air is not counted as a foul. It's simply an out. Also, a ball that is hit straight back to the catcher who then catches it is not a foul...it is a "foul tip," and the ball is still alive, so that's not a foul either. And it doesn't matter if there are 2 strikes, or 1 strike or 0 strikes, or what the count is at all.

People also asked