Best Answer

The batter is out. He can only advance to first if he SWINGS on the third strike. And then only if 1) there is not a runner already on first base, or 2) there are already two outs.

However, if there are other runners on base, there's a potential problem here. Runners can advance on a pass ball, but if a fan touches the ball, it may impede the catcher's ability to field the ball and throw out the runner. So the umpire has to make a judgment call as to whether the catcher had a reasonable chance of making the play. This is almost never decided in the catcher's favor. If the ball traveled far enough behind the catcher for a fan to touch it, he almost certainly could not have chased it down and made the throw in time. Maybe he would have gotten a "good bounce" off the backstop, but it's impossible to prove that. Fortunately, however, MLB parks have barriers that prevent players behind home plate from touching a ball in the first place.

ClarificationWhat is the MLB rule number that states a runner cannot advance to first base via the uncaught third strike rule if the third strike is a called strike? MLB rules 6.05, 6.09, and 10.15 do not specify swinging vs. called. They simple state a 'third strike'. You're rightAccording to the official rules, the third strike does not have to be a swinging strike. But that was the way I always heard it.
User Avatar

Wiki User

12y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar
More answers
User Avatar

Wiki User

15y ago

This is recorded as a strike out in the score book, and the pitcher is credited with a K. However, it does not count as an out should the runner advance successfully to first base, and the play is entered as a passed ball or a wild pitch.

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

13y ago

It is recorded as a strike out and the batter/runner advance to 1st is due to a past ball or wild pitch which ever the case. In this situation the pitcher can record more than 3 strike out in 1 inning. There is no technical name it's just a dropped 3rd strike.

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

13y ago

Only if, in the judgment of the umpire, the batter made deliberate contact with the ball.

This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: What happens when a called third strike is dropped by the catcher the batter runs to first but the passed ball is touched by a fan?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

Is it an unearned run when the catcher throws to first to throw the batter out on a dropped third strike?


What happens when a batter has two strikes and swings and tips the next pitch?

If the catcher catches the tip the batter is out. If the catcher does not catch the tip, it counts as a foul ball and the batter continues at bat.

What happens when an advancing runner is hit with a batted ball?

The batter is out unless a fielder touched the ball

If the third strike is not caught in the air by the catcher what happens?

if that happens then the batter tries to make it to first base before the catcher throwes it to the first baseman and if he beat es the ball he is safe

In baseball when a batter strikeouts who gets credit for the out The pitcher or catcher?

MLB Rule 10.09b-4 is pretty unambiguous: The official scorer shall credit an automatic putout to the catcher when a: ... (4) batter is called out for being touched by his own batted ball;

If there is no strikes and a batter hits the ball not in the air in the faul taritory and the catcher catches is it a out?

If the batted ball is on the ground and touched by a defensive player while the ball is in foul territory, before passing 1B or 3B, then it is foul, and the batter is not out. But if the batted ball is hit in the air, a pop up, and the catcher catches it while in foul territory, the batter is out.

When is it necessary for a catcher to secure an out by tagging the batter or throwing to first on a strike out?

Anytime a third strike is dropped the runner can advance to first unless he is tagged or the ball is thrown to first before he reaches.

Is it possible to strike six people out in one inning?

Yes, it is. When a pitcher strikes someone out, the ball will occasionally pop out of the catcher's glove while the batter is swinging. When that happens, the batter can run for first. The pitcher, however, is still credited with the strikeout.Therefore, a pitcher could strike 6 people out if 3 people reached base when the catcher dropped the ball 3 times and if the pitcher struck out 3 batters regularly.

In baseball can you make an error on a foul ball?

Yes. A dropped foul ball can be considered an error if the official scorer deems that the player should have caught the ball. The batter will not reach base in this case. However, if the batter subsequently scores a run, the run will be unearned. Notably, an error on a dropped foul ball would not disrupt a pitcher's attempt to record a perfect game.

Why does the batter get to run to first and is safe if 2 strikes and catcher misses a third strike?

Well, first of all, a dropped third strike is an out if the catcher's throw beats the runner. It's that way because that's just the rule.

If there are no outs and bases are loaded on a drop third strike. What should the catcher do?

Throw the ball back to the pitcher. A batter can not advance on a dropped third if first base is occupied.

When an a catcher get credit for a putout without touching the ball?

If there is a runner on first base and less than 2 outs, and on the third strike to the batter the catcher misses the ball entirely, the batter is still out and the catcher is credited with the putout. If a runner is one first base with less then 2 outs, a missed 3rd strike is not officially recorded as a putout by the catcher as there is nowhere for the runner to go as the batter cannot advance in this situation. The only time a catcher or any other position player can get a put out without touching the ball is in the case of runner-interference - - i.e. The batter pops up a ball a runner (either the batter or a guy from 3rd) runs into the catcher, not allowing him a chance to make a play on the ball -- the runner would be called out and the catcher would be credited with the out) -- another scenerio would be a bunt or swinging bunt where the batter makes contact with the ball in fair territory (not in batters box) -- this would be a batted ball touched by a base runner in fair territory -- the batter would be out, with the recorded out going to the closest position player (in this scenerio, that would be the catcher)