answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

If it hits the net but does not go over then it is a sideout and the other team gets the ball. If it hits the net but goes over, it is playable and the other team must get it or lose a point.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2010-06-05 09:32:17
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides

Sports

21 cards

What happens if carbon dioxide levels in the blood are too low

Which sport combined the games of handball and squash

What type of surface is the All-England championships at Wimbledon played on

Which of these sports features a competition known as the Grand Slam

โžก๏ธ
See all cards
โ˜†โ˜…โ˜†โ˜…โ˜†โ˜…โ˜†โ˜…โ˜†โ˜…
No Reviews

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: What happens if a player serves the ball into the net?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

What happens if player touches the net in volleyball?

The ball goes to the other team.


What is net in tennis?

Net is when a player serves the ball at the begging of a point and the ball hits the top of the net cord and bounces "in" the opponents service box. The point doesn't count and is then replayed. Although if the ball doesn't bounce "in" then the point is awarded to the opposing player and isn't played again.


What is Service Attempt?

A service attempt is anytime a player serves regardless of whether the ball goes over the net or not or if it goes in or out.


In a volleyball game if a player blocks a ball but his hand touches the net what happens?

A net violation is called on that player and the point is awarded to the other team.


What is a net serve in tennis?

A player serves and the ball hits the net, then jumps into the serve field on the other side of the net. The player gets to repeat the service until it's either a good serve or a double-fault.


If a player hits the ball into the net and another player plays the ball over the net what is it called?

A save


What does net ball mean in tennis?

A net ball means that when a player hits their serve and it hits the net, then bounces in. That is when a net ball is called.


When a player hits the net but still goes over in volleyball what happens?

If a PLAYER hits the net, then it's called as a net violation and the opposite team gets a point, but if the BALL hit's the net, it's still in play.


What is a let for tennis?

In tennis, a let is where a player serves and the ball clips or brushes the top of the net chord and still lands in the serice box, and when this happens, the serve is played again without a fault taking effect in the scoring.


What is it called in tenni when a server serves and hits the net and the ball lands in the court?

Let.


What is the net ball in table tennis?

Net ball is called "Let" in table tennis. A Let occurs when a served ball hits the net and lands on the opponents side of the table. There is no penalty, the server just serves again.


In Tennis What Happens If The Ball hits the net during play?

If the ball hits the net and goes over during a serve, it is called a let and is not counted as a fault. If it doesn't go over it is counted as a fault. In play, if the ball touches the net but goes over it is counted and a point is given to the player who hit it; if a ball hits the net but it doesn't make it over, a point is given to the receiving player.


What is a net foul in volleyball?

A net foul is when a player from a team hits the net with their hand or arm when blocking the ball or spiking the ball.


Why is there an antenna at the volleyball net?

The "antenna" is placed at the edge of the net, thus the edge of the court. It serves to show when the ball goals out of bounds.


How come sometimes the tennis player gets to serve three erroneous serves and not double faulted?

If the server serves the ball and hits the top of the net, but the ball bounces over into the serve box, that is called a let. If that was their first serve, then they still have two tries left.


What is the fewest number of times the ball has to go over the net to win women's Wimbledon title?

Very unlikely, but I believe the correct number would be 36 (in a normal 5-set match). If the first player earns an ace on their first serve for every point he/she serves, and the second player serves every ball into the net (because it technically isn't going OVER the net. If one counts the amount of times the ball is hit in the court, the minimum number would be 108.)


Can the ball touch the net during a rally in volleyball?

Yes the ball can touch the net, but the player can't touch the top of the net or bottom.


Who is Eugenia Pierre?

was an net ball player for Trinidad


What does a professional soccer player have to do?

Kick the ball in the net


Can a player block or attack the ball in volleyball?

yes a player can block the ball from coming over the net (after you have done 1 rally) but you can not block the ball from coming over the net when your opponent has just served the ball.


In soccer during a goal kick what happens when an attacking player gets to the ball and kicks it in the net for a score before the ball has left the penalty area?

The goal kick is retaken.


Can a racket cross over the net to the opponent's side?

"A player may break the plane of the net on a follow through from a shot as long as the ball was on that player's side of the court when the ball was struck. (The player can only reach over to play a ball in the situation stated in the paragraph below). The player in either situation may not touch the net, or the opponent's court with anything he wears or carries or with any part of the body. If the spin or wind brings the ball back over the net to the side of the player(s) who hit the shot, the opponent(s) may then reach over the net and play the ball. They may not touch the net or the opponent's court. This is the only situation when a player may reach over the net to play a ball. If the opponent does not play the ball and it bounces on the side of the player who hit the spin shot, that player who hit that shot wins the point." According to the rules, it is perfectly fine for the follow through on a swing of the racquet to cross the net as long as contact with the ball was on the player's side and not on the opponent's side, and contact was not made with the net by the striking player or their racquet. However, one cannot reach across the net to strike a ball that is on the opponent's side of the net except under on circumstance: If the ball originally bounced on the player's side of the net but due to back spin the ball wound up crossing back over the net, it is acceptable to then reach over the net and strike the ball prior to its hitting the ground as long as contact is not made with the net by the striking player's racquet or body.


What happens if you hit the ball into the net?

It is out and the other team gets the point.


What are the ways to score a volleyball game?

You can serve the ball and the other team doesn't get it back over the net you get a point. You also can get the ball back over the net after the other team serves it each time it goes back over the net.


What happens in tennis if a ball hits a pole and lands in on the other side of the net?

The ball is still in play as if it hit the net but went on the other side.