answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

if you catch a fly ball in Baseball, the person who hit it, is out.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2010-10-12 00:58:57
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: What happens if a fly ball is caught in the air?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

What is a fly-out in Baseball?

A fly out is technically any ball that is hit in the air and caught by a player in the field before it hits the ground or wall resulting in an out. There are different terms depending on where the ball is caught 'Fly out' is usually reserved for balls hit to the outfield and caught in fair territory by an outfielder 'Foul out' is a ball caught in foul territory for an out 'Popup' or 'Pop out' is used to describe a ball hit in the air and caught by an infielder 'Line out' is a ball that is hit hard without going very high into the air and is caught be any defender


What should the batter when a fly ball is caught?

When a fly ball is caught, the batter doesn't do anything but go back to the dugout.


In softball what is a fly ball?

A fly ball is when the ball is hit high up in the air. A fly ball is almost always caught, so a line drive is the best thing to hit in softball.....Or its a sport where you use flies to push a ball into a goal.


If a fly ball is caught out of bounds is it an out?

Yes as it is still caught on the fly, without touching the ground. Depends on your definition. If a fly ball is caught in "Foul Ground", then yes it is an out. Some leagues, for safety reasons, have an "out of bounds" area beyond foul territory. If a ball is caught there, there is no out and it is considered a foul ball.


Can a runner on 3rd base score before a fly ball is caught when there are 2 outs?

No. A runner can only advance on a fly ball after it is caught. Since there are two outs and the catch of the fly ball would make the third out. A runner cannot score before a fly ball is caught at any time.


Is a caught fly ball a force out?

No it is not it is the end of the game


Does a caught fly ball count as a hit in softball?

No.


What is a fly out in softball?

An infield fly is when the batter hits it really high in the infield and no matter if it is caught or dropped, the batter is out. Or just a regular fly ball is when the batter hits the ball into the air and one of the fielders catches it and the batter is out.


What do you call a fly ball catch?

A "Fly out" or "Pop Out" -- generally if it is caught in the outfield it is called a "Fly Out", a ball in the infield is called a "Pop Out"


Is a fly ball used in softball?

Yes. A flyball is a ball hit in the air higher tthn shoulder height. If caught before touching the ground the batter is out


In softball what is a pop fly?

A pop fly is when the ball is hit and it goes in the air. If a pop fly is caught before it hits the ground, the batter is out. Grounders are balls that are hit on the ground that roll.


What happens if a fly ball is caught before it touches the ground?

In the event of a batted ball being hit on the fly and was caught by an Infielder or Outfielder on the fly before it hit the ground, it will be ruled as a Fly Out and in the event of there being no outs, one out or two outs and in the event of there being runners on base, runners will have to return to their original bases prior to the pitched ball before they can advance to the next base.

People also asked