Best Answer

The results of Intentional grounding, holding or a sack in the end zone is Safety - 2 points for the defending team.

User Avatar

Wiki User

12y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: What happens after intentional grounding in the end zone?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

What if a quarter back has an incomplete pass in their own en zone is it a safety?

No ... an incomplete forward pass in the end zone does not result in a safety. However, if a quarterback is in the end zone and is called for an intentional grounding penalty, the result is a safety. Also, if the offensive team is called for a holding penalty in their end zone the result is a safety regardless of whether the quarterback was in the end zone at the time of the penalty.

How many times has Ben Roethlisberger been sacked for a safety in his career?

Ben Roethlisberger has been called for intentional grounding which resulted in a safety, but he has never been sacked in the end zone.

Does an incomplete pass in the end zone result in a safety Did it ever?

It depends. If the quarterback passes it out of the end zone, and it gets batted by the other team, and then the ball gets caught by the team that threw it in the end zone, then it would be a call for illegal touching or intentional grounding and be called a safety. I hope this answer isn't confusing, but I don't know how else to say it. It did happen in the Virginia Tech and Stanford Orange Bowl game.

Why are players allowed to spike the football?

If you look at the formation for a spike, there is a tight end or running back within five yards of the QB, therefore it's not intentional grounding.AnswerYou may want to check this, but I believe the definition of Intentional Grounding includes that the quarterback be at risk of being sacked and it is intentional grounding if done to avoid the sack. Because the quarterback is not under duress on a spike to stop the clock, it is not intentional grounding. Answeryes i checked it you are right heres why... Intentional Grounding of Forward Pass1. Intentional grounding of a forward pass is a foul: loss of down and 10 yards from previous spot if passer is in the field of play or loss of down at the spot of the foul if it occurs more than 10 yards behind the line or safety if passer is in his own end zone when ball is released.2. Intentional grounding will be called when a passer, facing an imminent loss of yardage due to pressure from the defense, throws a forward pass without a realistic chance of completion.3. Intentional grounding will not be called when a passer, while out of the pocket and facing an imminent loss of yardage, throws a pass that lands at or beyond the line of scrimmage, even if no offensive player(s) have a realistic chance to catch the ball (including if the ball lands out of bounds over the sideline or end line).4. Intentional gounding will not be called when a screen pass is developing and the quarterback throws the ball in the vicinity of the screen receiver.AnswerThe rule says, "Intentional grounding will be called when a passer, facing an imminent loss of yardage due to pressure from the defense, throws a forward pass without a realistic chance of completion." When the QB spikes the ball he is not faced with a loss of yardage. The rule was phrased that way specifically so spiking the ball would not be against the rules. Basically, You can only spike the ball INSTANTLY after the ball is snapped. Any later would count as grounding.

What happens if a team fumbles the ball into the opposing team's end zone?

If the QB fumbles the ball out of his own end zone it is a safety.

What happens at the end of Danger Zone by David Klass?

Jimmy gets shot in the leg

What are the two ways a team can score on a penalty in football?

1 way that i know you can score on a penalty in football is holding in your own endzone, which results in a safety. the 2nd way is if you are under pressure in the endzone, and you throw it away to an area where there are no receivers, it is a safety. it is kinda like intentional grounding. The defense scores a safety if the offense commits a penalty in its own end zone. A team can also be awarded a touchdown if the official determines that a player was en route to the end zone but was prohibited from getting there by a palpably unfair act, such as if a player comes off the sidelines to tackle him.

Does a defensive player get credit for a quarterback sack if he forces an intentional grounding in the end zone?

No, for the player to get credit for a sack he would have to tackle the quarterback behind the line of scrimmage. The quarterback would have to be declared down for it to be counted as a sack. If the quarterback is down then there couldn't be a fumble. So therefore there could be no fumble recovery.

What if you have to ball and you go to the wrong end zone and score a touchdown?

If you run backwards into your own endzone, nothing happens unless you are tackled in your endzone, or you run out of bounds in your end zone. The result is a safety.

What happens if a player with the ball runs into the oppositions end zone?

If the ball is ran to the opposite goal and the player is downed in the end zone it is considered a safety and the opposing team receives 2 points as well as a free kick.

What happens if there are two people in the end zone at the same time when the disc is caught?

There can be any number of people in the end zone when the disc is caught in ultimate Frisbee; the game would continue as normal. Now, if an offensive and defensive player both grab a disc in the end zone, then the play would go to the offensive player.

What part of speech is end zone?

End zone is a noun.