Best Answer

The Premier League only became the top division in English football in the 1992-93 season, it is important to remember that the league has been running continuously (except during the First and Second World Wars) since 1888. The season finished as follows:

1. Manchester United

2. Aston Villa

3. Norwich City

4. Blackburn Rovers

5. Queens Park Rangers

6. Liverpool

7. Sheffield Wednesday

8. Tottenham Hotspur

9. Manchester City

10. Arsenal

11. Chelsea

12. Wimbledon

13. Everton

14. Sheffield United

15. Coventry City

16. Ipswich Town

17. Leeds United

18. Southampton

19. Oldham Athletic

20. Crystal Palace (R)

21. Middlesbrough (R)

22. Nottingham Forest (R)

User Avatar

Wiki User

13y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: What football teams where in the premier league in 1992?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

When did the first division turn into the premier league?

Launched in 1888 by the The Football Association as the Football League, the competition gave way in 1992 to the Premier League, whose official name is the Barclays Premier League since 2004.

How old is Football's English Premier League?

The English premier league was formed in season 1992/1993

How many teams there are in the premier league?

There are currently 20 teams in the Premier League. The League originally had 22 teams when it was formed in 1992, but this was dropped to 20 in 1995.

Why is premier league called premier league?

The Premier League used to be called the Football League First Division but in 1992 the teams in the Premier League branched off from this championship. There is really no reason that the Premier League is called the Premier League other than Premier meaning good and needing to incorporate "League" in the name. Note that at the moment the Premier League is called the Barclays Premier League because of sponsorship (Barclays being the bank.)

What team won the South African Premier Soccer League in 1992?

The Arcadia Shepherds won the National Premier Soccer League (NPSL) in 1992. The Kaizer Chiefs won the National Soccer League (NSL) in 1992. The two teams merged in 1996 to form the Premier Soccer League.

What premier league teams have been in every premier league season?

Arsenal, Aston Villa, Chelsea, Everton, Liverpool, Manchester United and Tottenham Hotspur have been ever-present in the Premier League since its inception in 1992.

Which of the teams have won the premier league since its induction in 1992?

Arsenal, Blackburn, Chelsea and Man Utd.

How many football teams have played in the premiership?

There are 20 teams in the Premier League of England (otherwise known as Barclays Premiere League or English Premier League). Because there are only 20 spots in the league, teams can be promoted from or relegated to the lower divisions based on that season's performance. Since its founding in 1992, only seven clubs have never left the Premier League: Arsenal, Aston Villa, Chelsea, Everton, Liverpool, Manchester United, and Tottenham Hotspur. The twenty teams playing in the Premier League for the 2014-2015 season are Arsenal, Aston Villa, Burnley, Chelsea, Crystal Palace, Everton, Hull City, Leicester City, Liverpool, Manchester City, Manchester United, Newcastle United, Queens Park Rangers, Southampton, Stoke City, Sunderland, Swansea City, Tottenham Hotspur, West Bromwich Albion, and West Ham United.

Who has scored from the most free kicks in football history?

Billy Heath of the Wolverhampton Wanderers in the Football League scored the first free kick against Accrington. The league was founded in 1888 and in 1992, twenty two teams left to form their own league called the Premier League.

Was the winner of the English Premier League in 1992?

Sunderland was the winner of the English Premier League in 1992.

Who were the Kenya premier league winners in 1992?

The Kenya premier league winners in 1992 were AFC Leopards.

How long have everton been in the premier league?

the premiership has only been around since 1992 and Chelsea have been in it ever year