Best Answer

'Kyu' are the ranks for color belts in karate. There are generally 10 kyu belts. White is the 10th kyu and brown belt the 1st kyu.

User Avatar

Wiki User

8y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar
More answers
User Avatar

Wiki User

7y ago

Kyu indicates a ranking below the level of black belt. Black belts are Dan levels.

This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: What does 'kyu' stand for in karate belt levels?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

What is a White karate belt with gray stripe?

It will depend on the style of karate. In some styles, a white belt with a grey strip is one of the kyu levels, right above white belt, It may be gray because the black faded.

What is after the belt after purple?

It depends what type of karate your doing (hito Ryu, Wado Ryu, Goju Ryu, & Shotokan) but from my understanding this is the order - -White belt (ungraded)(10th Kyu)(9th Kyu) -Red belt (8th Kyu) -Purple belt (7th Kyu) -Green belt (6th Kyu)(5th Kyu) - Brown belt (4th Kyu)(3rd Kyu)(2nd Kyu) -Black belt (1st Kyu)

What is the stage before black belt in karate?

The brown belt is the stage immediately before the black belt grades in karate. There are two stages of brown belt, the first being brown with a white stripe (2nd Mon Kyu) and then a belt which is completely brown (1st Kyu).

In karate when can you wear a silk black belt?

Most black belts are made of silk. They last a lot longer then the cotton belts normally used for kyu levels and you will have the black belt for the rest of your life.

What is the order of belts for karate?

It depends on the club. For example, in GKR International Karate Club, the order is white (10th kyu), yellow tip (9th kyu), yellow (8th kyu), orange (7th kyu), green (6th kyu) , blue (5th kyu), red (4th kyu), brown (3rd kyu), two black tips (2nd and 1st kyu), black (1st, 2nd, 3rd dan). However, in every club, the first belt is white and the last two are brown and black.It is not the belt which counts, its the grade.

What is the highest ranking in karate?

Karate is divided into kyu and dan rankings. Kyu is everything up to the 1st Kuy, right below black belt. The traditional styles of karate have 10 dan rankings. Typically there is only one 10th degree in each style.

Is the black belt the highest achievement in karate?

Each style of karate sets its own rules and promotions. In some styles, dark blue is the highest rank. A style could set the brown belt as the highest, but most use the black belt. In traditional karate, the highest possible belt is red.

What belt comes after red in karate?

In shotokan karate, the 9th kyu grade is orange belt, after the 8th kyu grade, red. But this will vary according the the particular school of karate, some schools not using a red belt at all in their system. In some styles the red belt indicates 9th or 10th Dan, which is as high as you can go.

Is it illegal to have a red belt in karate in the US?

No, there is no restriction on belt colors in the US. In some styles, red indicates a level in the kyu range. In traditional Okinawan karate, red indicates someone that is 9th or 10th degree blackbelt.

Ranking colours in judo?

The ranking is as following, from beginner to expert: White belt (6th Kyu) Yellow belt (5th Kyu) Orange belt (4th Kyu) Green belt (3rd Kyu) Blue belt (2nd Kyu) Brown belt (1st Kyu) Black belt (1st Dan) (2nd Dan) (3rd Dan) (etc. etc.)

What are the judo martial arts levels?

Judo uses a typical ranking system for Gendai budo martial arts. There are six kyu ranks and ten dan ranks. Progression is from 6th to 1st kyu, and then from 1st to 10th dan. Colored belts include the white belt (6th kyu), yellow belt (5th kyu), orange belt (4th kyu), green belt (3rd kyu), blue belt (2nd kyu), and brown belt (1st kyu). Black belts are used from 1st to 5th dan, red and white belts from 6th to 8th dan, and solid red belts for 9th and 10th dan. Currently, the 10th dan is no longer officially awarded to anyone.

What is karate's ranking system?

There are two major levels in Karate and most Japanese based martial arts. The first are the beginners, the Kyu (Japanese) or Gup (Korean) students. Typically these are indicated by different colored belts and in general run from lighter to darker colors as one gets more knowledge and skill. Then there are the Dan levels, or the black belts. There are 10 levels of these from First Degree Black Belt to Tenth Degree. In most styles the first 6 levels of black belt are really black. Seven and Eighth wear a red and white striped belt and Ninth and Tenth wear a solid red belt.