answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

First base.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2009-12-05 20:56:40
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: What base does a fielder never have to tag a base runner in softball?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

If it is not forced out what must happen to a base runner to be called out in softball?

the fielder must tag the base runner


What can't a base fielder do in softball?

the base fielder cant catch


If a player is in the line of the runner and the runner runs into the player are they out?

If the fielder is attempting to make a play on a batted ball, and the base runner runs into the fielder, then the runner is out. If there is no play to be made on the ball, and the fielder is standing in the base line and is run into by the base runner, then it is interference on the fielder, and the runner is awarded the next base.


What is the difference between a softball and baseball field?

A baseball field is larger and it has a pitching mound. A softball field has an extended first base to protect the fielder and runner.


Does a fielder have to step on the base before making a tag out on the runner?

No, the fielder does NOT have to touch the base before tagging a runner out. The fielder only touches the base on a forced play.


If a runner has to return to a base on a caught flyball is that a force out?

Yes. The fielder covering the base does NOT have to tag the runner. The runner is forced out when the fielder steps on the base before the runner can make it back. Got that.


Definition of play first in softball?

It's a play where in the fielder throws the ball to 1st base to get the batter-runner out. This play is always done when there are no runners on base.


What is a rundown in softball?

When the ball is thrown to a base where the runner is trying to advance. The runner instead of continuing to the base stops and tries to return to the base from which they came. The fielder then throws the ball to that base causing the runner to change their direction again and so forth until the runner is tagged out or safely reaches a base.


Is a runner out on a force out at second base if the fielder drops the ball after touching second base for the out?

Yes, if the fielder had full possession of the ball when he touched the base the runner is out.


If the runner is tagged out then the fielder drops the ball and the runner touches the base is he out?

No


A runner not touching the base and a fielder touches him with a glove and ball is?

The runner is out as long as the fielder you touches has the ball in his glove


Does the runner have to be tagged out?

Not always. They can be forced out if there is a runner behind them and the fielder tags the base they were running to.


What happens if a base runner leaves the base or is standing off the base and the pitcher releases the ball in softball?

runner is out


How do you determine a fielder's choice vs base hit?

A fielder's choice is when a fielder has choosen to make an out on another runner on base when he could of gotten the batter/runner out instead. The batter/runner is safe, therefore reaching base via a fielder's choice. Please note that this counts as an at-bat and goes against the batter's batting average.


When in baseball do the fielders need to tag the runner out?

Not always. If a fielder is in possession of the ball AND in physical contact to a base that a base runner must run, then that base runner is out.


Who is the fastest softball base runner?

mens or womens


In machine pitch softball can a runner steal a base?

NO


Does a batter get credit with a basehit if he misses first base?

He does if he can get back and touch it in time before a fielder does. If the runner makes no attempt to return to the base and a fielder touches it and appeals, the runner is out.


Can you tag out a base runner anytime in softball?

Yes unless they are on the base!


In softball if a runner on 3rd scores before a batter running to 1st is tagged instead of the fielder touching 1st base does the run count?

As long as it isn't the third out.


Is the base runner out if the Baseball is kicked by the base runner during play?

If the runner kicks a batted ball, the runner is out. If the ball had been touched by a fielder first, the runner is not out and can continue.


Is the ball alive or dead when hitting a runner in fair territory?

It depends. Is the ball being thrown or is it hit. If it's hit off the bat and hits a base runner it's a dead ball and the runner is out if the ball has not passed a fielder. If the ball has already passed a fielder then the ball is live and the runner is not out. It is as if it never happened. If it hits the runner when it is thrown it is perceived as if it never hit the runner.


What is the baseball tag up rule?

The runner must remain on the base until the ball is in the fielders glove. Once the fielder has the ball securely(in the glove and the glove closed), the runner can advance to the next base. The fielder can throw you out at the base.Actually the runner may leave the base once the ball is touched by a fielder.


What if a fielder takes out a runner who is on the base path - not involved with a play?

You would have obstruction on the player that interfered with the runner, the play however is not dead. The fielder could be ejected for unnecessary excessive contact. The runner will be awarded the base he was going to but anything after that base is runner discretion meaning if the runner advances to any other base it is at their own risk.


What are RBI s in girls fast-pitch softball?

when theres a base runner on a base.. the batter hits the softball and trys to get to a base while the base runner at 3rd or 2nd run home and get a point