Over at Baseball-Reference.com each hitters record shows his batting average for each pitch in the count on the Splits page
a swinging pitch in the dirt
He was hit by a pitch in the head i believe
If the batter was swinging it is a strike...if the batter was not swinging, then they are deemed to have been "hit by pitch" and are awarded first base.
In scoring baseball on all levels, a backwards "K" means the batter was called out on strikes by the umpire. A regular "K" means the batter struck out while swinging at the pitch.
Yes they are. If you watch closely, some teams let all the first pitch strikes go by withouth swinging. Baseball managers use the excuse "raising the pitch count" to prevent getting caught.
Grand Slam First PitchKevin Kouzmanoff (Texas) was the first in 2006, Daniel Nava (Boston) was the second in 2010.
No. If the ball hits the batter's bat first there can be no call of hit by pitched ball. Added: It is actually a foul ball and a strike.
It varies from player to player. Some throw in the 70s to the upper 90s.
William Howard Taft was the first to open the major league baseball season by throwing out the first pitch on April 14, 1910. McKinley threw out the first pitch in a minor league game as governor of Ohio before he was President.