Was Kurt Angle ever WCW US Champion?

Updated: 10/26/2022
User Avatar

Wiki User

15y ago

Best Answer

The WWE United States Championship was originally known as the NWA United States Heavyweight Championship. In 1991 it was renamed World Championship Wrestling (WCW) United States Heavyweight Championship. Then in 2001 when WWF bought out WCW it was changed to WCW United States Championship. At Survivor Series 2001 this belt merged with the WWF Intercontinental Championship. Finally in 2003 it was revived as the WWE United States Championship.

On October 22, 2001 in Kansas City, MO there was a match between Kurt Angle and Rhyno for the United States Championship. On this episode of Raw Kurt Angle won this match and became the United States Champion. The belt at the time was still known as the WCW United States Championship at this time. This was the only time Kurt Angle held this belt.

User Avatar

Wiki User

15y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Was Kurt Angle ever WCW US Champion?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

How many times has Kurt angle been the WWE champion?

Kurt Angle was a four-time WWE Champion and a one-time World Heavyweight Champion.

How many Olympic Gold Medals does Kurt Angle have?

Kurt Steven Angle (born December 9, 1968) is an American professional wrestler and 1996 Olympic gold medalist. He is best known for his time in World Wrestling Entertainment. He is currently under contract with Total Nonstop Action Wrestling and New Japan Pro Wrestling. During his tenure in WWE he was a six-time World Champion (four-time WWF/E Champion, World Heavyweight Champion and WCW Champion), WCW United States Champion, WWF Intercontinental Champion, WWF European Champion, WWF Hardcore Champion and WWE Tag Team Champion (with Chris Benoit). In addition, he was the winner of the King of the Ring tournament in 2000, the tenth Triple Crown Champion, and the fifth Grand Slam Champion.

How many times has sting won the title?

He has held these titles: NWA Heavyweight Championship, NWA World Television Championship, WCW International World Championship, WCW United States Championship, WCW World Heavyweight Championship, WCW World Tag Team Championship, TNA World Heavyweight Championship, TNA World Tag Team Championship, UWF World Tag Team Championship and the WWA World Heavyweight Championship. He has been a World Heavyweight Champion 13 times - 6 time WCW Champion, 2 time WCW International World Heavyweight Champion, 2 time TNA Champion, 1 time NWA Champion (Jim Crockett Promotions), 1 time NWA Champion (TNA) and 1 time WWA Champion. He has held 7 Tag Team Titles - WCW Tag Team Champion 3 time (once with Lex Luger, once with the Giant and once with Kevin Nash), 1 time TNA Tag Team Champion (with Kurt Angle) and 3 time UWF Tag Team Champion (twice with Eddie Gilbert and once with Rick Steiner). He held the NWA World Televisions Championship once and the WCW United States Championship twice. In addition to this he also won the Jim Crockett Sr. Memorial Cup Tag Team Tournament with Lex Luger in 1988, the NWA Iron Man Tournament in 1989, the WCW Battlebowl Battle Royal in 1991, the WCW King of Cable Tournament in 1992 and the WCW European Cup in 1994 ad 2000.

Who was first WCW champion?

Danny Devito

What ever happened to wcw?

WWF and WCW had a match, and who ever the loser was agreed to shut down there show (WCW/WWF) and so WWF won so WCW was shut down

What titles Jeff hardy won?

WWE Champion; World Tag Team Champion; Intercontinental Champion; Hardcore Champion; European Champion; Light Heavyweight Champion; WCW Tag Team Champion; World Heavyweight Champion

What has the Undertaker achieved in WWE?

WWE Champion, World Heavyweight Champion, World Tag Team Champion, WCW Tag Team Champion, Hardcore Champion, undefeated at WrestleMania (15-0)

How many times has Steve Austin been WWE champion?

OK I know you only asked for WWE championship but I'll include all titles: TWF: TWF Tag Team Champion (1) WCW: WCW U.S. Heavyweight Champion (2) WCW World Tag Team Champion (1) WCW World Television Champion (2) NWA World Tag Team Champion (1) WWF: Million Dollar Champion (1) WWF Champion (6) WWF Intercontinental Champion (2) WWF Tag Team Champion (4) Other Accomplishments: WWF King Of The Ring (1996) WWF Royal Rumble Winner (1997, 1998, 2001) 1997 Slammy Award Winner : Freedom of Speech Fifth Triple Crown Champion WWE Hall Of Fame (Class of 2009)

How many world titles does Kurt angle have 2011?

This is a question many have wanted to know for years now. Mainly because TNA has given him credit for more actual World titles than he has held. If you break it down to actual "World" titles, he has held 12. TNA claims 15. Here's how it goes... World Wrestling Federation/Entertainment (WWF/E) WWF/E Championship-Originally the W.W.W.F. World Heavyweight title, then the WWF World Heavyweight title, and now the WWE "Undisputed" Heavyweight championship of the World, or for short, THE WWE championship. Kurt Angle held this title 4 times. WWE World Heavyweight championship-Originally the WCW World Heavyweight title. Kurt Angle has held this title 1 time. WCW World Heavyweight championship. Kurt Angle has held this title 1 time. Total Non-Stop Action (TNA) TNA World Heavyweight championship Kurt Angle has held this title 4 times (as of 01/01/12) National Wrestling Alliance (NWA) NWA World Heavyweight championship Kurt Angle has held this title 1 time. Though both the NWA & TNA refuse to recognize. Still, he won the match, and was awarded the belt. New Japan Pro Wrestling-All titles sanctioned by the International Wrestling Grand Prix (New Japan Pro/IWGP) New Japan IWGP World Heavyweight championship Kurt Angle has held this title 1 time. Collectively, that makes Kurt Angle an actual 12 time World's champion. I'm not sure what TNA counts as the other 3. My guess is his olympic gold medal, and either his 2 NCAA National titles, or 1 NCAA National title and his World title in Amateur wrestling. Either way, it's wrong. To sum up this answer once and for all, Kurt Angle is a 12 time Heavyweight champion of this World.

What is rey mysterios championship?

Rey Mysterio has won multiple championships in both WCW and WWE. They are: In WWE: a. 1 time WWE champion b. 2 time world heavyweight champion c. 2 time Intercontinental champion d. 4 time Tag Team champion e. 3 time Cruiserweight champion In WCW: a. 5 time Cruiserweight champion b. 1 time Cruiserweight tag team champion c. 3 time Tag Team champion

What titles has stone cold Steve Austin held?

In WWE:6 time WWE Champion2 time WWE Intercontinental Champion4 time WWE Tag Team ChampionIn WCW:2 time WCW United States Champion2 time WCW Television Champion1 time WCW Tag Team Champion

What does it mean to be an undisputed champion in boxing?

When WCW was bought out by the WWF/E they unified the WCW World Championship and the WWF/E World Championship, creating the Undisputed Championship. Chris Jericho was the First WWE Undisputed Champion.