The 3 second call in the lane does not start until the offense has brought the ball into the front court. At this point if a player spends 3 or more consecutive seconds in the lane, they are violating the 3 second rule. There is no three-second count during rebounding action or during an out-of-bounds throw-in. The count on a player in the restricted area is suspended when that player begins to try for a goal (shot).
Yes, but officials usually focus on a 5 second inbound violation rather than a three second violation.
Yes, it is called an offensive three second violation.
if you have both of your feet in the lane for three seconds, it is the other team's ball, which would be imbounded at the baseline
One foot has to be in the lane in order to get called for 3 in the key.
No it applies to anyone on the offensive team
lane violation goaltending violation offensive interference defensive interference kicked ball violation
three seconds. Three in the key.
== == If an offensive team player stayed in the key-hole (painted area) for more than 3 seconds its called a 3 seconds violation. Ball awarded to the opposing team! In the NBA, there is also a defensive three second call. If a defensive player is in the painted area for three seconds while not guarding an offensive player, the officials can call a defensive three second violation. This rule was put in to keep teams who play the zone defense from placing a player in the lane solely for rebounding or keeping an offensive player from driving the lane.
When an offensive player has any portion of one foot or both feet completey in the lane for 3 seconds with removing it or a teammate taking a shot. At the point of the rebound of a missed shot the 3 second count will begin again.