answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

For the play you describe, it would be a hit. A fielder's choice is when a fielder chooses to throw to another base instead of 1st base to retire the batter. I doubt the center fielder had a chance to throw out the batter at 1st base.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2010-04-13 20:48:25
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: The hitter gets a clear hit to centerfield but the runner waits too long to go to second and is thrown out at second Is it a hit or a fielders choice for the hitter?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

If a ball is hit to the outfield with batters at first and second and the runner gets out at third is it a fielders choice?

no, the fielder had no choice to throw out the hitter at first.


If the ball hits a runner is it a hit or a fielders choice?

If a ball hits the runner, the runner is out and the play is scored a hit for the batter.


Is it a fielders choice with one out and runner on third and batter grounds out to first with runner on third scoring?

Anytime the batter is put out at 1st base on a batted ball it is not considered a fielders choice, it is simply a put out. Now in your scenario if the catcher would have thrown home and the runner coming from 3rd is out and the batter is safe at 1st, then in that case it would be a fielders choice


Heres the situation runner on 1st and 2nd with no outs a ground ball is hit to the third baseman but the runner beat the third baseman to the bag and the hitter made it to first fielders choice?

first choice would probably be first base


Runner on second and batter hits grounder to short and throws out runner at third is batter credited with a hit?

No hit it is a fielders choice


If on a fielders choice the 2nd baseman doesn't touch the base can the runner be out?

If the runner gets tagged, then he is out. If the base doesn't get stepped on or the runner gets tagged, then he is safe.


With runners in 2nd 3rd a ball is batted to the pitcher the pitcher looks the runner at 3rd back but makes no play or throw to any base Is this a base hit or fielders choice?

It is a fielders choice


Is a batter given a hit if he hits a ball to shortstop and shortstop can not throw out hitter but throws out runner at 3rd in a rundown from 2nd base instead of throwing to 1st?

It isn't a hit. It is a fielders choice.


Is it scored as a fielders choice if the infield attempt to throw the runner at second out is unsuccessful?

Nope. It's a stolen base.


Do you get an RBI on a Fielder's choice?

Yes you would get an RBI on a fielders choice. If a runner scores on any batted ball the batter will get an RBI, whether an out is made or not.


When a runner that has reached from another pitcher is put out on a fielders choice and another runner that has reached scores why does it count as an earned run to the previous pitcher?

cuz they left that man on


Is it a hit if the runner running to 3rd base gets tagged out but there is no force?

No. This would be a fielders choice and would not count as a hit for the batter.


If a runner is on third base with one out and you hit a grounder to second why are you charged with an at-bat if the runner scores?

The fielder made a decision to throw the batter out at first instead of throwing the runner out at home. This is considered a fielders choice.


Seven ways to reach first base?

Hit, hit by pitch, intentional walk, cathers interference, pinch runner, errror, fielders choice, dropped third strike, balk, overturned out call, fielders obstruction,


What is the scoring if you cannot assume an IF could get the batter but the runner makes a delayed attempt to advance on a bobbled ball and gets thrown out or caught in a rundown?

fielders choice


What is a fielder's choice?

Official Baseball Rules section 2.00 Definition of Terms: A fielders choice is the act of a fielder who handles a fair grounder and, instead of throwing to first base to put out the batter-runner, throws to another base in an attempt to put out a preceding runner.


Can a runner intentionally dislodge a ball from a fielders glove to avoid a tag?

NO


Can a base runner knock the ball out of a fielders glove?

no! that would be interfering, and you will be out


If a batter hits a ball that falls safely in front of the center fielder but the runner at second hesitates and gets thrown out at third should it be considered a fielder's choice and not a hit?

Provided that there were no runner on 1st base and batter reached 1st before runner were tagged out, this is a hit. Batter alreay had first base, runner chose to go to 3rd, not forced. If he were forced, then it is a fielders choice.


Can a batter reach base on a sacrifice bunt?

No. By definition it is not a sacrifice unless the batter is out. The correct answer is yes. The runner can reach base during a sacrifice on a throwing error or a fielders choice.


When in baseball do the fielders need to tag the runner out?

Not always. If a fielder is in possession of the ball AND in physical contact to a base that a base runner must run, then that base runner is out.


What does fielders choice mean?

The fielder who caught the ball had the option to either get the batter running to first or another runner. Example: With a runner of first the batter hits the ball to the short stop. The short stop choices to throw the ball to second to get the runner out but the batter reaches first base safely.


Is runner out if he misses touching home plate and catcher drops ball and runner swats it away?

Yes, runner cannot intentionally dislodge ball from fielders glove.


A batter gets a hit and later scores on a fielders choice is the run earned or unearned?

Earned. Unearned runs only apply to cases where an error allows a runner to score where they otherwise would not have.


How do you officially score a fielder's choice?

A fielders choice is noted with the abbreviation FC and an indication of the path the baseball traveled. For example... With a runner on 1st base a ground ball is hit to the third baseman His throw to second base results in an out but the runner beats the relay throw to first. The scoring would be "FC 6-4"