answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

No. Only in the penalty area may the goal keeper handle the ball.

User Avatar

Wiki User

βˆ™ 13y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Newcastle United FC Reserves and Academy staff contact

➑️
See all cards
4.08
β˜†β˜…β˜†β˜…β˜†β˜…β˜†β˜…β˜†β˜…
13 Reviews

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: May the goal keeper enter the penalty arc and pick up the ball with their hands?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

When can't the goal keeper use their hands?

A goal keeper may never use their hands outside of their own penalty area. A goal keeper may not use their hands, even in their penalty area, when a team-mate deliberately plays the ball to them with their feet. A goal keeper may not use their hands, even in their penalty area, when a team-mate directly throws the ball to them on a throw-in.


Can the goalie touch the ball with their hand?

Yes. The goal keeper can touch the ball with their hands when inside their own penalty area.


What area can the goalkeeper handle the ball?

The goal keeper may touch the ball with his hands and arms in his team's penalty area.


Can the goal keeper touch a ball in the other teams goal box?

Not with their hands. A goal keeper may only use his hands inside of his own penalty area.


What is the penalty when a goalkeeper mistakenly touches the ball with his hands when the ball is passed to him by one of his own players?

If their team mate passed the ball deliberately, with their feet, and the goal keeper then touches it with their hands within their own penalty area, then an indirect free kick is awarded to the opponents at the place where the goal keeper handled it.


Can the goalie have the ball in his hands in the semi circle at the top of the 18 yard box?

The semi circle describe is called the penalty arc and it is not considered part of the penalty area. A goal keeper may not touch the ball with their hands inside the penalty arc.


What are the rules for goal keeping in soccer?

Although a goalkeeper is counted as a player on the field, special accommodations are given to him/her, including:A goal keeper is entitled to play of the ball as any other player may (inncluding penalty kicks and throw-ins), with additional privileges and restrictionsA goal keeper may use his/her hands to handle the ball within the confines of the penalty area (large painted box in his/her half of the field)A goal keeper may use his/her hands to throw, roll, or punt the ball, as long as the ball is not handled outside the penalty area (the goal keeper may also kick the ball outside the penalty area as long as it is released from his/her hands before their hands extend over the penalty box boundary)A goal keeper may NOT use his/her hands to handle the ball when the ball is deliberately played to the goal keeper by a team mateA goal keeper may put the ball into play after the opposing team kicks the ball over the goal line (outside the confines of the goal posts)During penalty kicks, the goal keeper must have both feet on or behind the goal line until the ball is played, at which point they may move forward


Can a soccer goalie touch the ball in the offensive zone?

No. The goal keeper may only touch the ball with their hands in their own penalty area.


Can the ball in soccer touch your hands?

You may deliberately handle the ball if you are a goal keeper in their own penalty area or to restart the match if the ball goes out of play.


As long as the goalie is in the penalty are can they touch the ball?

Not always. A goal keeper may not touch a ball with their hands if it was directly kicked or thrown-in to them by a team-mate.


What happens if you touch the ball but you are goalie?

A goal keeper is allowed to touch the ball with their hands when the ball is inside their own penalty area. If a goal keeper does so outside of the area, then a direct free kick is awarded to the opposing team.


Is it a penalty if a player kicks the ball back to the goal keeper?

It is legal for a teammate to kick the ball to their own goal keeper. The goalkeeper would not be allowed to use their hands. If they do so, then it would be an indirect free kick for the opponents at the location the goalkeeper touched the ball. A penalty kick would not be awarded.