answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

You can touch the base with the ball if you want to. Any part of the fielder's body can touch a base as long as he has possession of the ball.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2010-10-24 01:29:19
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: It requires a fielder in possession of the ball touch the ball to the base?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

When tagging up does the runner have to wait for fielder to have possession or first touch?

The fielder has to have the ball in his possession but if he drops it he doesn't have to tag up. Actually, the fielder doe NOT have to have possession of the ball for a base runner to tag up and advance. Once the runner is on the base ("tagging up") he may advance as soon as the fielder touches the ball, whether he has possession or not. In other words, the base runner may advance even if the fielder is bobbling the ball and then catches it, i. e. has possession.


Is a runner out on a force out at second base if the fielder drops the ball after touching second base for the out?

Yes, if the fielder had full possession of the ball when he touched the base the runner is out.


If another fielder catches a fly ball after striking the first fielder is it an out?

As long as the ball does not touch the ground or a wall, the batter is called out.


What are the responsibilities of a fielder in rounders?

They have to catch the ball or get the ball and touch it on one of the posts. From Smiley.


Is a runner out if the fielder has the ball and his other hand in his glove when he tags the runner?

So long as the fielder has full possession of the ball the runner is considered out whether the ball is in the glove, in the bare hand, or in the glove covered with the bare hand.


Fielder throws his glove at a batted ball but does not touch the ball what's the ruling?

The ball is live and in play. There is no penalty unless the glove touches the batted ball.


Can a fielder tag a base with any body part for a force out in baseball?

Yes, as long as the fielder has complete possession of the ball any part of their body touching the base creates a force out.


On a force play can a fielder touch the base with his glove while holding the ball in his other hand to get the runner out?

Yes, if it is a force out, as long as the fielder has the ball in his possession (glove or free hand) if he touches the bag before the runner with any part of his body then the runner would be called out. Now if this was a play that required a tag, and the ball was in his bare hand and the tag is made with the glove, or visa-versa, then the runner is safe


In baseball after a fly ball is caught can the fielder touch the bag with his elbow to double a runner up?

Yes, provided he has control of the ball at the time.


How is possession calculated in soccer?

Possession is calculated from the time you touch the ball until it is touched by any other player on the field.


Can you touch the goalie in indoor soccer?

It all depends on how you touch them, if the goalie has possession, and if the goalie is dribbling the soccer ball.


Can you tag the base with your bare hand with the ball in your glove?

The official rules state that a fielder need only hold a ball in his hand and touch a base. If the runner is forced to that base and the fielder touches the base while he is holding the ball, he is out. It does not say he has to step on the base. It just says he has to touch it. The runner, on the other hand, must be tagged with the hand that holds the ball.

People also asked