Best Answer

The first to finish the race. The race starts on Willow Lake and ends in Nome. It is about 1000 miles long.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2010-11-03 04:38:32
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Is the winner of the iditarod first or last to finish the race?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

WHO was the winner of last year Iditarod?

lance macky

Awarded the last musher to finish the Iditarod?


Award given to last person to finish iditarod?

The Red Lantern award

When is the Red Lantern awarded?

It goes to the last musher to cross the Iditarod finish line.

What is the red lantern award in the Iditarod?

it is the award giving to the last musher to cross the finish line and first to win now lets kiss

What does the winner of the Iditarod get?

they get a big cash prize and a trophy. the last one gets a red lantern to represent persistence.

Has there been any Iditarod mushers from Washington state?

Yes, at least one but I'm bettin there have been more. Jan Steves who lists her hometown as Edmonds, Washington, ran her first Iditarod in 2012 winning the Red Lantern award (last to finish/52nd). She plans on running the Iditarod again in 2013.

What is Iditarod Red Lantern?

The Red Lantern Award is an award given to the last musher to cross the finish line in Nome.

How many days does the iditarod race usually last?

Nowadays typically 9 days for the winner and up to about 13 days for the red lantern

What is the history of the red lantern award?

the history of the red lantern award is thet the last musher in iditarod to get to the finish line wins.

Who was the only 5 time winner of the iditarod?

Rick Swenson is the only five time winner of "The Last Great Race", having won in 1977, 1979, 1981, 1982 and 1991. He is now the only person to win the Iditarod in three different decades, a record that will probably never be broken.

What does the Iditarod winner receive?

The "Golden Harness" is most frequently given to the lead dog or dogs of the winning team. However, it is decided by a vote of the mushers, and in 2008 was given to Babe, the lead dog of Ramey Smyth, the 3rd place finisher. Babe was almost 11 years old when she finished the race, and it was her ninth Iditarod. The "Rookie of the Year" award is given to the musher who places the best among those finishing their first Iditarod. A red lantern signifying perseverance is awarded to the last musher to cross the finish line. The size of the purse determines how many mushers receive cash prizes. The first place winner also receives a new pickup truck.

People also asked