answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

The bottom or top of the ninth.... INNING! It's both!

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2010-10-17 03:00:45
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Is the bottom of the ninth the last inning or is it the top of the ninth?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

When does an inning begin?

The 1st inning and it last to the top of the ninth unless the away team is winning on the road, then the home team gets a shot at winning the game at the bottom of the ninth.


What is the bottom of the ninth?

That is when the home team is batting in the ninth inning. If the home team is ahead after the visiting team makes its three outs in the 'top' of the ninth (their turn to bat in the ninth inning) there is no bottom of the ninth because the game is over and the home team has won. If the home team is tied or behind the visiting team after the visiting team makes their three outs in the ninth inning, the home team comes to bat and it is called 'batting in the bottom of the ninth inning'.


What is the top of the inning in baseball?

the top of the inning is the first three outs in an inning. an inning has a total of six outs, three outs for each team. each team takes as many at-bats as they can get before they get three outs in their half of the inning. then the other team gets at-bats until they get three outs. after that, the inning is over. ============================================ The home team gets "home field advantage." In baseball, the visiting team bats first and the home team bats last. The advantage to batting last is that the visiting team does not get another chance to take the lead if the home team is ahead after the visiting team has batted in the ninth inning, or if the home team takes the lead during its turn at bat in the ninth inning. The home team always gets the last chance to tie or win the game in the ninth inning or extra innings. The "top" of the inning refers to the visiting team being at bat. The "bottom" of the inning refers to the home team being at bat.


Where did the terms top and bottom of an inning come from?

On a scoreboard, the visitor's inning by inning score is shown above the home team's score. So the visitor's score is on the top and the home team's is on the bottom.


What is the top half of an inning?

The top half of the inning is when the visiting team is batting. When the home team is batting, that is called the bottom half of the inning.


What does top of the fifth mean?

With respects to the sport of baseball (which I believe is the root of your question), the term "top of the fifth" simply refers to the first half of the fifth inning during which the visiting team has the opportunity to bat. After the visiting team cycles through their allotted three outs, the inning enters the bottom of the inning. Each inning has both a "top" and "bottom" half. The actual term "top" or "bottom" of an inning stems from the placement of the score on either the top or bottom section of a scoreboard or scorecard.


How many outs are in a baseball inning?

3 per team IMPROVED ANSWER: In a normal 9-inning baseball game, "3 per team" would be correct. However, there are many games when both teams do not have to bat in the ninth inning, thus reducing the number of outs in that inning to zero for one of the teams (the case would apply to a home team that is leading after the other team registers 3 outs in the top half of the ninth inning). The home team would have won the game if still ahead after the other team bats in their half of the ninth. There is no need to bat in the bottom of the ninth.


Do Softball innings have a top and bottom?

Yes they do, just as in baseball. The visiting team bats during the top of an inning. The home team bats during the bottom of an inning.


In baseball how many outs arethere in a inning?

Six, Three in the top of the inning and three at the bottom


If a starting pitcher pitches a 0-0 game at home and his team scores in the top of the 7th inning how long does he have to pitch in the bottom of the seventh inning to earn a win?

The situation that you describe is not possible because a pitcher who is starting at home would pitch the top of the inning, not the bottom. The home team always plays defense in the top of an inning and offense in the bottom of an inning. If the score is 0-0 in the top of the seventh and the team scores in the top of the seventh and does not give up the lead, the pitcher who was in the lineup in the bottom of the sixth when the final out was recorded will be awarded the win regardless of whether they pitch the bottom of the seventh.


Pitcher leaves game relief pitcher enters with two runners on base and one run lead does relief pitcher get win or save?

It will depend on the circumstances. If this happens in the top of the ninth inning, he will get a save if he retires the remaining batters without giving up a run, but if he gives up one run to tie the game, so that the game is tied in the middle of the ninth, he will get a win if his team gets a run in the bottom of the ninth inning. Peter


How do you get past the icicles in club penguin?

if the icicles r in the new Mountain Explore thing you click the last one on the bottom row,then the first in the top row,after that you click the second to last one on the top,then the second one on the bottom row,then the last one on the top,then the first one on the bottom, then there will be three on the top and bottom,click the middle icicle out of the three that are left for both top and bottom.


If the starting pticher leaves the game after 8 innings with the score tied and the team wins who gets credit for the win?

If a pitcher leaves a tie game after finishing the 8th inning he cannot get the loss. If his team takes the lead before another pitcher on his team throws a pitch he could be credited with the win. For example, if a pitcher finishes the bottom of the 8th with a tie score and his team takes the lead in the top of the 9th and they keep the lead in the bottom of the ninth, he gets the win. If his replacement throws a pitch in the bottom of the 9th with the score still tied, the pitcher that left after the 8th inning gets a "no decision". If his team takes the lead in the top of the ninth, but they cannot hold the lead in the bottom of the ninth (another tie or loss) the pitcher that finished the 8th inning gets a "no decision". The final win will go to the "pitcher of record" when the winning run is finally scored (even if he only faced the last batter of the inning before the winning run is scored). The pitcher that gives up the winning run gets the loss.


If your team goes ahead in the top of the inning and a new pitcher goes in in the bottom of the inning - which pitcher gets the win - the starting pitcher or the 2nd pitcher?

The pitcher who got the last out in the previous bottom of that inning. In other word, that pitcher can be credited with the win by making only one pitch. If I'm called in as a reliever and get a ground out to end the inning and then my team goes ahead in the top of the next inning, I would be the winning pitcher. Even if i only threw one pitch.


How many quarters are in softball?

Softball doesn't have quarters. It has innings. Each inning consists of a bottom and a top. (In the top the home team is out in the field on defense and the visiting team is batting. In the bottom it's flip flopped.) Most games will last seven innings, but there is a mercy rule. If a team is up by either 15 points by the end of the third inning, or by 10 at the end of the fifth inning, (or after) the game will be called.


What is a walk off RBI?

A walk-off RBI is when a batter in the bottom half of the last inning of the game (either the ninth or in extra innings) drives in a runner that gives his team the lead. Since the opposing team does not get to bat again (having batted in the top half of the inning) the player's team "walks off" without having made three outs. Further play is no longer necessary.


Riddle How many outs are there in an inning?

Six, three for the top and three for the bottom


What happens at the end of the ninth inning if its tied baseball?

If the game can safely continue, the top of the 10th inning begins. And they keep on playing baseball till someone wins the game.


What sport does the term top of the fifth come from?

The term 'Top of the fifth' comes from the sport of baseball and is when the visiting team is batting during the fifth inning. The 'top' of an inning is when the visiting team is batting. The 'bottom' of an inning is when the home team is batting.


In the Sunday night baseball game between the New York Yankees and the New York Mets was there any scoring between the 2nd and 5th inning?

No. On their way to a 6-4 victory on May 23, the Mets scored four runs in the bottom of the second and then two runs in the bottom of the fifth. The Yankees scored a run in the top of the seventh and three in the top of the ninth.


How many outs are there in a inning?

There are a total of 6 outs per inning... 3 for the Visiting team (top half of the inning)... and 3 for the Home team (bottom half of the inning).


Why is how many outs are in an inning such a popular trick question?

Because some people forget that an inning consists of the top AND bottom of the inning. They just think of their portion.


Can a major league baseball game be called off because of a walk off home run in the top of an inning?

A game can not be called because of a walk off home run at the top of the inning because the home team gets to try to earn runs in the bottom of the inning. If the game gets called after the walk off the game reverts back to the last completed inning.


How many outs are in an inning of baseball?

There are 6 outs per inning...3 outs for the Visitor in the top half of the inning, and 3 outs for the Home team in the bottom half of the inning.


There are two outs - a player is at bat and he already has two strikes and two balls How many more strikes until the inning is over?

That depends on if this is the top or the bottom of the inning. If it is the bottom then only one strike will do the trick, unless this batter gets a hit then we can't know the answer. If it is the top of the inning then we cannot know the answer.