answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

the runner is out not the hitter but if he doesn't reach base before the ball is thrown to the base he would be out too.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2013-05-20 07:29:53
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Is the batter out or safe if a base runner gets hit by a ball?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

Is a caught ball a hit even if the runner gets on base?

If a batted ball is caught in the air, the batter is out and would not be on base. It would not be a "hit."


If a batter is tagged out going to first are all other runners forced to run?

no, if there's a runner on first base and the batter gets a strike-out but the catcher drop the ball. he's out because of the runner on first base.


What happens to the batter when a suicide squeeze bunt hits the runner from third base in fair territory If it matters I should add that the batter never left the batter's box?

It does not matter what the batter did. If the runner from 3rd was in fair territory when the ball hit him -- the runner is out, batter is credited with a single and gets to go to 1st base


Can a runner get out if the batter gets walked?

Yes, the ball is still in play after a batter is walked.


Does the hitter get credited for a single if he makes a ground ball hit to the outfield and the runner at first gets forced out at second base?

No. In no situation can a batter be credited with a base hit if a runner is forced out.


Runner on base gets hit with batted ball is he out?

yep


Is the batter out if the pitcher accidentally hits the ball to the batter?

No when the batter gets hit by the ball it is called and walk and the batter gets to go to first base


With runners on base a balk is called does the batter get a ball called?

No. A balk only affects base runners. Each base runner gets to advance one base when a balk is called.


When a batter gets hit by a pitch is it an automatic dead ball?

Yes, it is a dead ball and the batter gets a free base (He/she gets to go to 1st)


What is the official scoring for the batter when the baserunner gets hit with a batted ball?

The runner is out, the ball is dead,all runners return to their original base, and the batter receives a base hitAnswerThe batter is awarded a single Added information: This was recently (past few years) changed. Now, the batter is awarded a base hit only if the official scorer judges that the ball would have been a hit had it not touched a runner. Otherwise the batter is on base with a fielder's choice!improvement:The official scoring is single, and the runner is out (unassited putout awarded to the nearest fielder)


How do you get an out in softball?

There are many ways including tagging a runner with the ball, striking a batter out, thowing the ball to a teammate on a base and then she must step on the base before the runner gets there, catcing a ball, and there are others. I would consult a recent rulebook to find other rules that could cause outs.


If a batter hits a ball where they would otherwise safely reach first and a runner currently on a base gets tagged out due to a base running error is this considered a fielders choice?

That would depend on whether the runner that made the base running error was forced out. If there is a runner on first base and the batter hits a ground ball into left field and the runner trips and falls between first and second and the left fielder throws to second and gets the runner out, it would be considered a force out and the batter would not get credited with a hit. But if there is a runner on first base and the batter hits a ground ball into left field and the runner rounds second base too far and the left fielder throws to second and the runner is tagged out, the batter would be credited with a base hit.Answer:The above is incorrect. In order for the batter to receive a Fielder's Choice and not be credited with the hit, the scorer must determine that the batter would not have safely reached 1st base. In simple terms: "the fielder COULD have thrown out the batter, but CHOSE not to". In the example above, the left fielder could not have thrown out the batter at first. The batter is awarded the hit and the defense records a 7-4 put out.A force out does not determine a Fielder's choice. If there is a runner on 2nd with 1st empty: If the batter hits a sharp ground ball to second basemen who fields the ball cleanly and attempts to throw out the runner advancing from 2nd, the batter is given the fielder's choice whether the advancing runner is safe or out at 3rd.


If a batted ground ball hits a base runner who is on the base is the runner safe or out?

A batted ball that hits a runner in fair territory, without first being touched by a defender (or passing a fielder other than the pitcher) results in -- a dead ball, runner is ruled out, and the batter gets first base. According to the old rules, batter is credited with a single, but currently the batter is credited with a fielder's choice unless the umpire judges that the ball would have been a single. The putout goes to the nearest defensive player. Being on base doesn't change the situation. The only exception is if the base runner, while on the base (force or not), is hit by an Infield Fly. Ref 7.08. "Any runner is out when... (f) He is touched by a fair ball in fair territory before the ball has touched or passed an infielder. The ball is dead and no runner may score, nor runners advance, except runners forced to advance. EXCEPTION: If a runner is touching his base when touched by an Infield Fly, he is not out, although the batter is out;"


What do you call when a pitcher tags the batter and throws ball to second base?

its called a double play. it is the same as if a ball is hit up the middle and the shortstop gets it and gets the runner out at second and then throws to get the guy out at first


When does a batter walk to first base?

when he gets hit with the ball


If a base runner and the ball reach the base at the same time on a force play is the runner safe or out?

MLB rules state the ball must beat the runner to the base on a force play. If the ball and the runner reach the base at the same time the runner would be considered safe. However, there are no ties in baseball. The runner either gets there before the ball or after...Ties are only a myth.....


If the base runner gets hit with the grounded ball do the remaining base runners remain where they are?

The base runner is out that got hit with the ball as long as he is in fair territory. At this point the ball is considered dead and the runners would go to the base they should be at. Example: Runners at 1st and 2nd. Guy on 2nd running toward 3rd after ball is hit, he is hit. He is out. Runner at 1st is awarded 2nd, batter is awarded 1st and the ball is dead.


What are the four ways a batter can get out in softball?

1. 3 strikes are called ("strikeout") 2. the ball hit by the batter is caught before hitting the ground ("flyout") 3. first baseman catches the ball before the batter runs there 4. the batter doesn't stand in the batter's box 5. the batter runs to a base that has already been tagged ("tagged" or "tag play") 6. the runner is tagged with the ball before reaching a base 7. the runner goes more than 3 feet out of the base line to avoid being tagged 8. the runner doesn't touch the bases (the runner is allowed to run past first but must touch second and third) 9. a fielder holding the ball touches a base, that is the only remaining base to which the runner can go, before the runner gets there


If a batter hits a ball that falls safely in front of the center fielder but the runner at second hesitates and gets thrown out at third should it be considered a fielder's choice and not a hit?

Provided that there were no runner on 1st base and batter reached 1st before runner were tagged out, this is a hit. Batter alreay had first base, runner chose to go to 3rd, not forced. If he were forced, then it is a fielders choice.


Runner on second is hit by the batted ball while running to third. How is this recorded?

dead ball, the runner is out and the putout goes to the closest fielder...the batter gets credit for a hit and if there are other runners that are forced to advance by the batter getting first (in this case, a runner on first), he gets to advance also...if there are 2 outs, the batter still gets credit for a hit but the inning is over


What is base on ball-softball?

Base on ball is also known as a walk. This occurs when the pitcher throws 4 balls to a batter. In this situation the batter gets to automatically advance to first base


If a player from first to second runs into the base before the ball gets there but the baseman reaches for the ball and knocks the runner off the base and falls on him then tags him is he out?

no


What does the abbreviation H stand for in softball?

H stands for Hit ... Hit is when the hitter is able to get a clean hit on the ball. It's when the batter-runner gets to base without an error..


In fast pitch baserunner is stealing on pitch but the ball gets away from catcher does the base runner stealing get credit for stolen base?

yes, the base runner stealing does get credit for the stolen base.


On an attempted squeeze play runner on 3rd base is trying to steal home batter is hit by the pitch is the runner entitled to score or is he asked to return to 3rd base?

When a batter gets hit by a pitch the runner or runners must go back to their base unless they have to move to forcefully move. now with a base on balls the runner can still steal the base