answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

No, only if the player holding it steps out of bounds.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2009-02-02 01:32:34
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Is the ball down if the tackler touches the ball from out of bounds?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

At what times is someone in possession of the ball considered out of bounds if ones knee goes down in bounds but the ball hits out of bounds?

If his knee touches inbounds, he is considered tackled in the field of play, regardless if the the ball ends up out of bounds. The clock will continue to run


Do you need two feet in bounds to score a touchdown?

Yes In the NFL, yes. In college you need only one foot in bounds, as long as it touches down in bounds before the other foot touches out of bounds.


Is a ball carrier down if his knee lands on tackler?

No. To be considered down the ball carrier must make contact with the ground.


In NFL if player is in bounds but the ball is out of bounds is it still a 1st down?

If the player fails to cross the ball where ever the marker is before he physically steps out of bounds then it is not a first down. Although I'm not certain, I think the ball has to cross the marker in bounds as well.


If a basketball is shot and hits the top of the backboard is it out of bounds?

Only if it stays there. If it comes down inside the lines, then it's still in play. If the ball touches the very top of the backboard it is considered and declared out of bounds to most referees.


Is a ball carrier down if his hand touches the ground?

The ball carrier is not down if his hand touches the ground. He is however ruled down if his elbow or knee touch during a run.


If the ball is fumbled and rolls past the first down marker is it a first down?

A fumble is down when the recovering player is down or when the ball goes out of bounds...so yes, if the ball is fumbled forward and recovered by the offense, or goes out of bounds, past the first down marker, it is a first down. The exception is on fourth down. In the NFL, only the player who fumbled the ball can advance it on fourth down.


Can you run out of bounds then back in to catch a football?

No, not unless: a) you were forced out of bounds by a defender and immediately came back onto the playing field, or b) someone else touches the ball first. Otherwise, you would be assessed a penalty for illegal touching, which is a loss of down -- same as if the pass were incomplete.


Can a player dribble down court lose the ball go out of bounds come back on the court and be the first person to touch the ball?

yes as long as all of your body is in bounds before you touch the ball again


Is a college football player down if he touches the ball to the ground?

Yes.


Can a player running the ball touch the ball to the ground to steady himself without going down?

If the ball touches the ground, the runner is down. This is why 'the ground cannot cause a fumble.'


Can a gunner run down the field out of bounds then reenter to tackle the ball carrier?

Only if he is forced out. If the gunner voluntarily runs out of bounds to avoid blockers on the return team, and then runs back in bounds to make the tackle, it is a penalty.

People also asked