answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

The runner is out if he is hit by a batted ball if it does not touch the infielder. If it touches the infielder, he is not out.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2010-02-20 19:11:36
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Is the Runner out if he is hit by a batted ball after it passes infielder?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

What happens to the batter runner and other base runners if a batted ball hits a runner before passing an infielder?

If a runner is touched by a batted ball while off base before the ball passes an infielder (other than the pitcher), it's dead ball, runner is out. If the runner is on base when touched by a batted ball, it's live ball and play continues.


What is the official score when a base runner is hit by a batted ball?

If a base runner is hit by a batted ball before the ball contacts, or passed an infielder they are out... once the ball passes, or is contacted by an opposing player there is no penalty for being hit.


If a batted ball glances off of glove and then hits runner is the runner safe or out?

The runner is not out and play goes on. Rule 7.09(k) states a runner is out when: "A fair ball touches him on fair territory before touching a fielder. If a fair ball goes through, or by, an infielder, and touches a runner immediately back of him, or touches the runner after having been deflected by a fielder, the umpire shall not declare the runner out for being touched by a batted ball. In making such decision the umpire must be convinced that the ball passed through, or by, the fielder, and that no other infielder had the chance to make a play on the ball. If, in the judgment of the umpire, the runner deliberately and intentionally kicks such a batted ball on which the infielder has missed a play, then the runner shall be called out for interference" Since the ball touched the fielder first and then the runner, play goes on.


Is the batter out in every circumstance when a batted ball hits a baserunner?

No. If a fielder has a legitimate opportunity to make an attempt at the ball, but the ball passes the fielder and then touches the runner, he is not out. The rules state a runner is out when a batted ball touches him before it passes a fielder.


Is a runner out if the ball hits them after the ball has hit a defensive player?

No. If a batted ball is touched by a defensive player before it touches a runner, the ball is live and the runner is not out. Also, if a batted ball passes a fielder that could make a play on the ball and touches a runner, the ball is live and the runner is not out. This situation is very rare and would only occur when the infield is playing in and are in front of the runner(s).


If a infielder boots the ball from out of the base path into the base path and the runner runs in to him while he is trying to field the ball is the runner out?

No, once the fielder comes in contact with the batted ball a runner cannot be called for runner interference unless he intentionally goes out of his way (basepath) to make contact with the fielder


Is a batted ball fair or foul if it strikes a runner while he is on base?

It depends. If a runner is in foul territory, and is hit with a batted ball, before the batted ball reaches 1B or 3B, then it's foul. But if a batted ball hits a runner in fair territory, before passing an infielder other than the pitcher, time is called, the ball is dead, and the runner is declared out for interference. The batter is awarded 1B, but all other runners must return to the base they previously occupied.


If a batted ball hits a base runner is the runner safe or out?

From the official rule book Rule 7.08: the runner is out if "He is touched by a fair ball in fair territory before the ball has touched or passed an infielder. The ball is dead and no runner may score, nor runners advance, except runners forced to advance. EXCEPTION: If a runner is touching his base when touched by an Infield Fly, he is not out, although the batter is out; Rule 7.08(f) Comment: If two runners are touched by the same fair ball, only the first one is out because the ball is instantly dead. If runner is touched by an Infield Fly when he is not touching his base, both runner and batter are out." Rule 7.09 is also relevant. The runner is not out if 1) the ball was first deflected by a fielder or 2) if the umpire is convinced that the ball went through or past the fielder untouched, and in the umpire's judgment no other infielder had the chance to make a play on the ball.If, in the judgment of the umpire, the runner deliberately and intentionally kicks such a batted ball on which the infielder has missed a play, then the runner shall be called out for interference." However, if in the umpire's judgment the runner intentionally kicks the batted ball, the runner shall be called out for interference. If a runner is touched by a batted ball in foul territory he is not out though.


If a batted ball hits a base runner is the hitter safe or out?

The runner would be safe if the ball passes by a fielder other than the pitcher, out if hit before the ball has past a fielder.


Is a runner out that gets hit with a batted ball?

Yes if it hits him before passing a fielder. If it passes a fielder, then no, he is safe.


Old mlb rules hitting runner with ball?

If a runner is touched by a fair ball in fair territory before the ball has touched or passed an infielder, the runner is out. The ball is dead and no runner may score. And no runner can advance, except runners forced to advance. [Rule 7.08(f)]


Is a runner out if a fielder throws the ball and hits the runner?

No. A runner is out if hit by a batted ball but not out if hit by a thrown ball.

People also asked

How do you score a runner being hit by a batted ball?

View results

If a infielder boots the ball from out of the base path into the base path and the runner runs in to him while he is trying to field the ball is the runner out?

View results

What is the official score when a base runner is hit by a batted ball?

View results

Is runner out if fielder does not field the ball and the runner is then hit by the ball?

View results