answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

Runner is out.

No. The rule reads the runner is out if physically assisted by the coach. Simply touching the runner is nothing.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2012-08-16 17:01:55
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Is runner out or safe if base coach touches runner when ball in play?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

Is it a dead ball if the ball is thrown to first base and hits the base coach?

MLB Rule 5.08 is pretty clear: If a thrown ball accidentally touches a base coach, or a pitched or thrown ball touches an umpire, the ball is alive and in play. However, if the coach interferes with a thrown ball, the runner is out.


Is the batter out if the base runner touches the ball?

no, but the base runner is out if he is struck by a BATTED ball (but he isn't out if he touches a ball thrown by a fielder)


Runner at third base goes home and touches home plate on a fair batted ball After touching the plate he hears someone say it was foul so he retreats to 3bA runner made it to third on the batted ball?

As soon as the runner touches home plate, the run scores. The following runner has the right to third base. Either the base coach or the following runner on third base should tell the runner who scored that it was not a foul ball and he should go to the dugout. The ball is still live.


A runner not touching the base and a fielder touches him with a glove and ball is?

The runner is out as long as the fielder you touches has the ball in his glove


What happens if a runner touches or interferes with a active ball?

If the runner is standing on a base, nothing happens; the ball is live. If the runner is not standing on a base, the ball is declared dead and the runner is out.


If the runner is tagged out then the fielder drops the ball and the runner touches the base is he out?

No


In softball how can a runner be out?

The batter is out, if they hit a ball in the air and a defensive player catches the ball before it touches the ground, in fair or foul territory. If a defensive player has the ball in control and touches a base before the runner, the runner is out. If a defensive player has the ball in control and touches the runner with the ball in their hand or glove, the runner is out.


Is a runner on base permitted to advance on a fly ball as soon as the fielder touches the ball?

Yes.


If a the ball get stuck in a runners shirt while being tag then runs around the rest of the bases what is the call?

5.08 If a thrown ball accidentally touches a base coach, or a pitched or thrown ball touches an umpire, the ball is alive and in play. However, if the coach interferes with a thrown ball, the runner is out7.01A runner acquires the right to an unoccupied base when he touches it before he is out. He is then entitled to it until he is put out, or forced to vacate it for another runner legally entitled to that base.Rule 7.01 Comment: If a runner legally acquires title to a base, and the pitcher assumes his pitching position, the runner may not return to a previously occupied baseCommentI just wanted to say... Rule 7.01 does not apply to this rule. 7.01 is the basic fundamental of a safe/out call at a base -- basically it says, the runner can advance if the next base doesnt have a runner. If he gets there before tagged, then he is safe -- nothing to do with a ball being stuck in a jersey -----tigersy2k3


Is a base runner out if he touches a ground ball that is in foul territory before the other team?

If the ball is in foul territory and hits a base runner in foul territory then it is a foul ball, so no he would not be out


Can a base coach make contact with a runner when the ball is live?

No.


Is a runner out if the first baseman is in foul territory and has the ball in one hand and touches the base with and empty glove?

yes because he has the ball in his possession when he touches the base so it is like touching the base with his foot.


When a player is on first or third can the coach be out of the box?

The 1st base coach can never be out of the coach's box. The 3rd base coach can only be out of his box when the ball is hit and there is a runner on or advancing to 3rd base.


Is the runner out if the fielder has the ball in the glove and touches the base with his hand on a force?

Yes, the runner would be out because of the force play meaning that the runner has to go no matter what.


What does the word 'steal' and 'slide' mean?

These are terms from baseball. To 'steal' is to advance one or more bases in a situation where the ball has not been hit: where someone has mishandled the ball, or during a pitch. A 'slide' is what players use when as a base runner they approach a base guarded by a defending player who has or is expected to shortly have the ball. If the defending player touches the runner before he touches the base, the runner is out, so the runner slides, usually foot first, toward the base, in an effort to get past the defender before he can be tagged.


Is it an out if the glove with the ball touches a base and then pops out of the glove?

This would probably be the judgment of the umpire. If he felt the ball was under control as the fielder touched the base, the runner would be out. If he felt that the ball was not fully under control and hitting the base caused the ball to come out of the glove, the runner would be safe.


If a runner is forced to run to 2nd base and overruns does he have to be tagged to be out if 2nd baseman has the ball and touches the ball?

If the runner touches second base frist, then yes. He would the technically be on his way to third base, and no longer forced. If he has yet to touch second, then no. He would still be on his way to second and therefore "forced". He can be tagged or you could just step on second.


In baseball if a ball is hit to first base and the first baseman grabs the ball in one hand and then touches the base with his glove on the hand that does not hold the ball is the runner out?

YES! Because it is a FORCE out and not a TAGGED out.


If a runner hits and touches base with another runner on base is out?

yes yes


Can a foul ball ever be a sacrifice fly?

yes, if it is a fly ball and it gets caught, any base runner can try to go to the next base. for example, a runner on third tags up on a fly ball. the right fielder catches it in foul territory. as long as the runner on third is on the base or goes back and touches it after leading off, she can try to steal home.


Can the defense in kickball kick the ball at the runners feet and hit them with the ball on the ground?

It all depends on what type of kickball you are playing. In traditional kickball you don't even have to touch the ball. As long as the ball touches the runner, the runner is out. Even if the "kicker" kicks the ball at a runner that is not on a base, the runner is out. There are different kinds of rules about this type of situation that can be adjusted to your liking


Can you tag the base with your bare hand with the ball in your glove?

The official rules state that a fielder need only hold a ball in his hand and touch a base. If the runner is forced to that base and the fielder touches the base while he is holding the ball, he is out. It does not say he has to step on the base. It just says he has to touch it. The runner, on the other hand, must be tagged with the hand that holds the ball.


There is a runner at 1st and 2nd base the batter hits the ball the SS fields the ball and throws it to the 3rd basemen who does not tag the player but instead touches the base with his foot Out?

Out. Force play.


Is the runner out if he touches home plate on a fly ball without tagging up or can he retouch home and go back to third before they touch the base?

The runner may retouch home and go back to third before the ball reaches the base.


Is the batter out when he hits his own player with a hit ball?

No, the batter is not out. The runner could be out though. For example in Little League if the runner touches the ball before it goes by a fielder, the runner is out. (The pitcher does not count as a fielder for the purpose of the rule) The runner is not out if he/she is touching a base.