A stalemate occurs when your opponent's king is in such a position where it is not actually in check, but the only legal move left to your opponent is one where the king puts itself in check. This situation commonly occurs when your opponent has nothing but the king left or nothing but the king and pawns, which are blocked. The only piece that can make a move to another square is the king, but if that move puts his own king in check, it is a stalemate. Think of a stalemate in terms of what a checkmate is. Checkmate is when you put the other player's king in check in such a way that there is no legal move the opponent can make to get out of check. Stalemate is when you put the other king in a non-check position, but it cannot move anywhere without placing itself in check. This is usually a very frustrating mistake and often happens just as you are about to checkmate the king, but overlook the stalemate possibility by losing sight of all your own pieces.
A checkmate in chess is when the king is checked and has no where to go. A stalemate is when the king is not in check and has nowhere to go and his other pieces(if any) also have no where to go. A stalemate is considered a draw. A checkmate occurs when a player's King is in danger of being captured by the other player's very next move and either the other player cannot move the king to a safe square, or cannot move one of his other pieces to block the capture or move one of his other pieces to capture the threatening piece. Checkmate ends the game with a win for the player checkmating the other player. Stalemate occurs when one player's king is not in check but the only legal move the king can make puts the king in check. Stalemate also ends the game but it counts as a draw.
If the king is not currently in check and has nowhere to move without being in check, it is stalemate, which is a draw. However if any other piece of his can make a move (i.e a pawn), then it is not stalemate, and you are forced to move whatever piece can be moved.
No , it is checkmate since it is an illegal move to move into check .
A stalemate occurs when there is no possible winner. In other words, a deadlock. In chess, it means one of the players cannot move their king without placing it in check.
A stalemate occurs when one player's king is not in check, but has no legal moves left. Most often this occurs when a player's king is not in check but the player's only available move would put the king in check. Since the rules forbid a player from moving the king into check, the player has no legal moves remaining. But since the king is not "in check" it is not a checkmate.
Yes, that situation is called a stalemate, which results in a tie. A king is not permitted to move into check, In fact even if in addition to the king there are pawns on the board which are blocked and have no move to make it will be a stalemate, because the only piece able to move would be the king.
To get a stalemate, you must get your oppenents king into a position where he cannot move without being taken (although not in check). Note that if somebody gets a stalemate, it is because their only remaining piece remaining is their king. You cannot use stalemate if they have and extra pawn, knight, bishop, rook, or queen. And you can also get stalemate if the only remaining pieces is both of the kings.
If the player to move is unable to, it is stalemate, and the game is a draw.
That entirely depends on the position and whose move it is. If it is your move and you do not have any other pieces that can move, then it is a stalemate and the game is drawn. If you do have other pieces that can move, the game simply keeps going. If it is your opponent's move and he checks you and you cannot block the check, it is checkmate and your opponent wins. If he does not check your king, then the game just goes on.
No. The reason for this is that for let's say the White King to 'capture' the Black King the White King would have to move one square away from it the previous turn. Kings can only move 1 square at a time (except when castling). This previous turn's position is not legal since if you were to move the White King one square away from the Black King, you would be moving your own King into check - and that is an illegal move in chess (here Black King could 'capture' the White King on it's turn). But the questions idea of capturing Kings is not quite right - a King can never be captured in chess by ANY piece. If you were to say move a Rook so that now aims directly at your opponent's King ('check'), your opponent has to immediately do one of three things: a) Move his King to an adjacent square that is no longer being attacked, b) take your attacking piece (if it can do so), or c) put one of it's own pieces in between to block the 'check' (again if it can do so). If your opponent is unable to do any one of these 3 things then this is now 'check mate' and the game is over. So the King never acutally gets captured and removed from the board, unlike the other pieces. The original answer had this to say: >The real question though is can one King checkmate the other King? This is a > trick move that can only happen if no other pieces of that color are on the >board. Lets say that the black king is the only black piece on the board, but > the there are 2 white knights ,1 White pawn , and 1white rook. The black king > can checkmate the white king but the white king can not checkmate the black > king. This is simply not correct. The Black King cannot checkmate the White King in this case because it has nothing left to 'check' the White King with. To checkmate the opponent, their king must be in 'check', and as explained above a King cannnot do this by themselves. The best the person playing black can hope for is for a 'stalemate' position. A stalemate is where the Black King is NOT in check, but it is black's turn and there are no legal moves (ie. all the other squares around it are attacked by White's pieces so the King can't move to safety, and black has no other pieces that can be moved on their turn). This position is a draw ('stalemate' is chess terminology for a draw). When playing white in this example, you have to be careful that you always leave a valid move for black to make when you are not giving check, otherwise you hard-fought efforts are waisted by getting a draw. So as long as you avoid stalemate white will be easily able to checkmate black's defenseless King.
A tied game of chess is called a Stalemate, this happens when all a player's moves would put his King into check, but the King is not actually in check at that moment.
It is not called stalemate, but if 50 moves by both players are played without capture, it is declared a draw.
A "stalemate" does not depend on the number of moves. A stalemate occurs when the king no longer has a legal move or where one opponent has a king and a knight or bishop against a lone king. This is because a king and a single minor piece like the bishop or knight cannot checkmate the king. Since checkmate is impossible, the rules declare it a stalemate. On the other hand, a "draw" may be declared if after 50 moves there is no capture AND if no pawn has been moved during those 50 moves. Although a stalemate and a draw amount to the same thing in practicality, they do have different terminology.
In ChessA stalemate is a condition in which neither side can win, and so it is when it ends a game of chess. If the player to move cannot make any move without putting his king into check (jeopardy of being taken) and the King is not already in check, it's called a "stalemate." It's considered a tie game.Stalemate has also become a widely used metaphor for other situations where there is a conflict or contest between two parties, such as war or political negotiations, and neither side is able to achieve victory, resulting in what is also called a dead heat, standoff, or deadlock.In this usage, unlike in chess, "stalemate" often refers to a temporary impasse that may ultimately be resolved.
No, the game is pat (stalemate). You cannot checkmate your opponent with just a king without being checkmate yourself.
No, kings cannot come within one square range of each other. Think of it like a forcefield.
A checkmate occurs when the king is in a direct line of attack, and also cannot move. If the king cannot move any piece but isn't in a direct line of attack, it is a stalemate (tie)
Wouldn't be advised to do so ... the player who places his/her king next to the opponents king would immediately lose the game as the opponent's next move would be to capture your king, and thus ending the game.Games where just the two kings remain is usually considered a "draw", or "stalemate".No, the kings cannot ever be side by side. Recall that the game is over (checkmate) when the king cannot move to escape attack (check). By attempting to move a king onto a square adjacent to the other king, this would be moving into check, and the king can never move into check. A move like the one suggested in the question is not a legal move in the game of chess.
No, a king can never move to a square that is being threatened by an opponents piece. This would result in check, and you can never move your king into check.
The King is not allowed to be in check. If a piece is on a square where if the King were there, the King would in check, the King isn't allowed to capture it.
If you or your opponent cannot make any legal move and the king is NOT in check, it is called stalemate and the game is a draw.
No, if a white king for an example checks a black king, then that white king is in check because of the white king. That means that a king can never be checked by a king. Think of it as a forcefield, neither king can come within a 1 square range of the other. The only possible way a king could check another is if it was blocking the path of one of its own pieces that would be checking the opponent's king, and the king moved to unblock the path. This is called a discovered check.
Checkmate or a stalemate if neither player can put the other in a position where their king is trapped
No The rules state that one may never place his own King in check. Because a King can only move one square, it must be adjacent to a piece in order to attack it. But the act of moving your King adjacent to your opponent's King would be putting it in check. And so the move is not allowed. If your King is two squares away from your opponent's King, it is not attacking it, and thus it is not putting the other King in check. --CM