If scored as a Fielders Choice it will go down as 0-1 (an AB with no hit) -- tigersy2k3
Yes, the batter is credited with an at-bat and scored as a fielders choice.
maybe... maybe not!
It does not count as an at bat
It is a fielders choice
Anytime the batter is put out at 1st base on a batted ball it is not considered a fielders choice, it is simply a put out. Now in your scenario if the catcher would have thrown home and the runner coming from 3rd is out and the batter is safe at 1st, then in that case it would be a fielders choice
It can't ... a balk can only be committed by a pitcher.
yes it's an at bat
No it goes down as a fielders choice.
Official Baseball Rules section 2.00 Definition of Terms: A fielders choice is the act of a fielder who handles a fair grounder and, instead of throwing to first base to put out the batter-runner, throws to another base in an attempt to put out a preceding runner.
No matter what, in a fielders choice play the batter is given and 0 for 1 in the record books. It is based on the thought that if the defense had attempted a play on the batter he most surely would have been out. You misunderstood the question. If a fielder's choice is attmpted, but all runners are save and no error is scored it's a hit ... since the fielder's choice didn't actually happen.
No. No error can ever be given when there is an out made on the play.
This would be a put in the book as a fielders choice -- no hit or RBI granted to the batterThen you tell your infield to wake up and make mental note so you can rip into them once they are in the dugoutin order for that play to be called a fielders choice there has to be an out made ... it's scored as a infield hit ... with the bases loaded ...Correction:A Fielders Choice does not have to result in an out -- I have attached the Official Score Keepers definition of a fielders choice (in the example given for the question.. this would fall under section b -- the 3rd baseman cleanly fielded a ball and was going to go to 2nd for the put out rather then going straight to 1st)Fielders Choice is the act of a fielder who handles a fair grounder and, instead of throwing to first base to put out the batter runner, throws to another base in an attempt to put out a preceding runner. The term is also used by scorers(a) to account for the advance of the batter runner who takes one or more extra bases when the fielder who handles his safe hit attempts to put out a preceding runner;(b) to account for the advance of a runner (other than by stolen base or error) while a fielder is attempting to put out another runner; and(c) to account for the advance of a runner made solely because of the defensive team's indifference (undefended steal).
no, the fielder had no choice to throw out the hitter at first.
A fielder's choice is always an at bat. The book would be marked as an FC with RBI.
Yes you would get an RBI on a fielders choice. If a runner scores on any batted ball the batter will get an RBI, whether an out is made or not.
Hit, hit by pitch, intentional walk, cathers interference, pinch runner, errror, fielders choice, dropped third strike, balk, overturned out call, fielders obstruction,
Yes, if a hitter hits into a fielder's choice he gets credited for an at-bat and is NOT credited with a hit. Whether its an error or a fielder's choice the players batting average WILL decrease