If the Basketball touches the side of, or goes over, the backboard, then the ball is called out of bounds and the play is called dead.
No, it is not considered out of bounds if the ball hits the side of the backboard. Unless it bounces off the side of the backboard and then out of bounds before you or someone else can catch it.
Yes, the backboard or any supports are considered out of bounds.
Sure you can shoot the ball over the backboard but it will be out of bounds and the other team will get posession.
Out of bounds, same if it hits the very top or back of the backboard!
Only if it stays there. If it comes down inside the lines, then it's still in play. If the ball touches the very top of the backboard it is considered and declared out of bounds to most referees.
If the ball goes off the rim and over the backboard then it is out of bounds. If it goes off the rim and hits the top of the backboard but falls back in play on the front side of the backboard, then it isn't out of bounds.
Yes, it is out of bounds.
15 feet from the backboard or 19 feet from the out of bounds line.
as log as the player's feet remain in bounds and the ball is not obstructed by the shot clock or the top of the backboard the basked is legal.
also known as the baseline, it's the out of bounds lines right behind the basketball hoops.
No. If it touches the top of the backboard, it is ruled as out of bounds, therefore, a turnover
no it can not. once it hits or goes over the top of the backboard it is officially out of bounds and its the other teams ball
There is a change in posession, the team that shot the ball loses the possession
Yes, and it's out-of-bounds.
The Ball is still in play. Back surface is the only out-of-bounds part of the backboard. (Supporting elements, such as pipes or poles or arms, etc. are obviously not part of the backboard or rim and are out of bounds.)The ball traveling OVER the top of the backboard is OUT of bounds. I believe this rule was put in place because Wilt Chamberlain would score from the other side of the board.Some sources say that if the backboard is 'fan shaped' or arched top, then the over-top rule does not apply, but does if the backboard is rectangle.It's amazing to me how many times this happens at the gym and players call it out of bounds. Cmon! You gotta know the rules if you want to play the game. No one ever knows this rule, but here it is:Rule 4, Section I - c. All five sides of the backboard (top, bottom, both sides and front face) are in play. As long as the shot stays on the top of the backboard, it is still in bounds. When it falls through the basket, the goal counts. But once the ball crosses over the backboard - regardless of where it comes to rest - it is out of bounds.
It means that the ball out of bounds/ out of play/ not on the court.
because that is the rule...
yes the reff calls it out of bounds.
The base line in basketball is the out of bounds line!