answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

yes?

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2010-02-08 15:42:08
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Is it considered a turnover when an onside kick does not travel 10 yards but is touched by the receiving team and the kicking team recovers the ball?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

In football on an onside kick if the ball touches the receiving team and then the kicking team recovers is it a turnover?

the defence doesnt have to touch the ball in order for the offence to get it.


If a punt is partially blocked is it a live ball allowing the kicking team to recover it?

Yes it is a live ball and if the kicking team recovers they still have to get the first down and if the defense recovers its a turnover. The ball is live, however, the kicking team cannot regain possession of the ball unless the receiving team touches it first.


Is the recovery of a onside kick by the kicking team considered a turnover by the receiving team in the stats?

i dont think so because they never had possesion of the ball.


Is an onside kick recovered by the kicking team considered as a turnover in the stats?

no it is not.


If the receiving team touches the ball before it goes ten yards and the kicking team recovers the ball the ball did not go ten yards who would get the ball?

Once the receiving team touches it becomes a live ball and if the kicking team recovers it regardless how far it went they have the ball.


If the kicking team touches a punt ball before the receiving team can the receiving team take possession of the ball without risking a turnover?

Yes. The ball is downed and turned over to the receiving team wherever the kicking team touches it.


What is the call if the kicking team recovers the ball before ten yards?

the kicking team gets a penalty and the receiving team gets it ten yards forward from where they picked it up.


Can an onside kick be advanced if kicking team recovers it?

If the kicking team legally recovers an onside attempt, the ball is dead, the clock is stopped, and the kicking team gets the ball for an offensive series at the spot of recovery.


Do you rekick if an onside kick is too short?

no, if the kicking team recovers it and it's too short it's a penalty, but the receiving team can pick up the ball no matter how long it was kicked


When you are receiving a kickoff do you have to touch the ball in order for it to be a live ball?

Once the ball has gone 10 yards after being kicked during a kickoff, the ball is indeed live! During a punt, however, someone on the receiving team must touch the football for it to be live. The ball is always live during a kick. The only thing in question is who can recover, and when. On free kicks (including kickoffs and free kicks following a safety), the receiving team can recover the ball at any time, and the kicking team can recover either after it has traveled 10 yards or after the receiving team touches it after any distance. On scrimmage kicks (field goals and punts), the kicking team gives up possession of the ball unless (1) the ball fails to cross the line of scrimmage, (2) the kicking team then recovers the ball, and (3) the down played was not 4th down. In any other situation, the receiving team takes the ball. Once the ball crosses the line of scrimmage, the only way the kicking team can retake possession is if the receiving team fumbles, muffs, or touches the ball and the kicking team recovers.


Can the kicking team recover a kicked ball?

Yes but only if the ball is fumbled by the other team (the runner loses possession while running or touches the football but does not catch it). The kicking team cannot recover a kicked ball if the receiving team has not touched it/fumbled. If the kicking team does touch it before the receiving team does, it is considered a dead ball and the receiving team's offense will start wherever the ball was stopped.


When kicking off the ball touches the receiving team player then bounces to the ground and is then touched before going out of bounds by the kicking team who gets the ball?

the receiving team

People also asked