answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

The ball has to be in the touchdown zone. If it is above the zone it is still a touchdown.

Take Troy Polamalu's touchdown on Dec,12,2010.

He dived, broke the plane of the goal line but he was holding the football above the zone so it counts as a touchdown. In some cases the ref might not count it.

User Avatar

Wiki User

βˆ™ 2010-12-13 23:03:45
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Is it a touchdown if the ball breaks the plane of the goal line on the out of bounds side when a player is diving?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

When a football breaks the plane in the endzone when is it a touchdown?

you just answered your own question. as long as a player is in bounds with control of the ball as it crosses the plane then it is a touchdown. if the ball does not cross the plane but a player does then it is not a td. if the ball is beyond the plane and out of bounds but the player has his feet in bounds with control of the ball it is a td.


Ball in players possession however ball outside pilon. is this a touchdown?

As long as the player is not ruled out of bounds it is a touchdown. The goal line technically extends past out of bounds.


Can a ball be tipped back in bounds in the end zone for a touchdown?

yes, as long as the player that tips has not stepped out of bounds


If an NFL player flies out of bounds before crossing the goal line in bounds but the ball crosses the extended goal line out of bounds before the player's body hits the ground is it scored a touchdown?

According to referee Ed Hochuli who is quoted in the article that you can read at the 'Touchdown or No Touchdown' link below, a player who crosses out of bounds is awarded a touchdown if a part of his body touches in the end zone, or the pylon, after the ball crosses the 'imaginary' goal line outside the pylons. I interpret the question to ask if a player lands completely out of bounds but the ball crosses the 'imaginary' goal line outside the pylon, is it a touchdown? The way I understand what I read, the answer is no since no part of the player touched inbounds. Click on the 'Touchdown or No Touchdown' link to read the article and weigh in with your opinions. If I'm understanding your question right, you're asking about the hypothetical goal line that "travels around the world" indefinitely out of bounds. The NFL just changed this rule for the 2008 season, so that the extended goal line no longer exists. The player must now break the plane of the goal line within the field of play, or press the ball against the corner pylon, for the touchdown to count.


Can a player run out of bounds then catch a pass in bounds?

Only if the player was forced out of bounds by a defensive player.


Why is an NFL goal line pylon out of bounds?

The goal line is marked inbounds, but extends beyond the in bounds line. The pylon is the point at which the goal line is out of bounds. It is used by the sideline officials (usually deep wings: FG & SG) to determine when a touchdown is scored or not on plays that are at made at one of the four corners of the endzone. In the NFL, the ball has to be inside the pylon when running into the endzone to be considered a touchdown. In the NCAA starting this year (2012), and part of the player can touch the pylon and as long as the ball is inside the goal line extended (extending into the out of bounds area), to be considered a touchdown. In high school, the ball has to cross the goal line extended to be considered a touchdown.


Can a player who is out of bounds direct the ball back in bounds and continue play?

No. Once the ball touches a player that is out of bounds, the ball is considered out of bounds.


Did the player have to be inbound to score a touchdown?

Yes. The technical way to score a touchdown is to have to ball "cross the plane" into the endzone without the player being down or out of bounds. With a catch, the player must establish himself as inbounds while maintaining possession. In the NFL, the player must do so with two feet inbounds. In NCAA Division I football, the player only needs to do so with one foot inbounds. With a run, the player must have not stepped out of bounds before the ball crosses the plane into he endzone.


How do you get a touchdown in football?

The ball must break the plane of the end zone (doesn't have to completely cross) while a player is in possession of the ball and before he goes out of bounds or is tackled.


If a player is laying out of bounds and another player is on top of the player laying out of bounds but not touching the ground is the player laying on top also out of bounds?

i believe so


When is a player in or out of bounds in soccer?

When a player steps outside the white line they are out of bounds


If a player is out of bounds and another player throws the ball off him who is it out on?

The player that is out of bounds when the ball touches him.

People also asked