answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

The batter can run to first if the 3rd strike isn't caught. However, the batter still can be thrown out by the catcher at first base. Yes. A strike is called if the ball crosses home plate at the correct height, which is usually between the knees and the letters. A pitched ball does not have to be caught by the catcher to be called a strike.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2007-08-05 21:21:35
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides

Astronomy

22 cards

At what point is the Northern Hemisphere pointed farthest away from the sun

Ocean currents moving away from the equator bring what waters

What temperature does lightning heat the surrounding air

Is air gravity

โžก๏ธ
See all cards

Physics

24 cards

The type of energy transferred by a wave in a medium is energy

The larger the index of refraction the light will bend as it enters

A convex lens is also called a

What is the reciprocal of frequency

โžก๏ธ
See all cards

Clouds

24 cards

Which type of cloud produces thunderstorms

Which term describes layered round formations of ice which form in cumulonimbus clouds

Which type of rock is formed from the cementing of small pieces of older rocks shells soil or dead plants and animals

Which type of physical weathering occurs when water seeps into cracks of rocks and freezes

โžก๏ธ
See all cards

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Is it a strike if the catcher doesn't catch a strike?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

Do you run on the third strike if first base is not occupied?

If the catcher doesnt cleaning catch the 3rd strike (it hits the dirt), then you can run to 1st, the catcher will have to tag or throw to 1st to get you out. This rule applies if there are less then 2 outs and 1st base is not occupied, if there are 2 outs, then you can run even if 1st base is occupied


Can you run on the the third strike in Major League Baseball?

Only if the catcher doesn't catch it in the air.


What is strike in softball?

Jeez, first of all, you need to catch up on reading that rules book of yours! A strike is a pitch thrown by the pitcher and hits the catcher's glove so that the catcher doesn't have to move her/his glove at all. Or if the pitch is in the "strike zone", the umpire may also call it a strike.


On a third strike is aball which is caught as it bounces out?

If the ball touches the ground even before the catcher catches it the batter/runner may attempt to advance to first if there are less than 2 out and first is not occupied or if there are 2 out and first is occupied. The catcher does not have to catch the ball on a third a strike for it the be considered a strike out. This includes a ball which bounces to the catcher because the strike zone is over the plate not where it is caught.


Who catches the baseball thrown by the pitcher if the batter doesnt hit it?

In that case, the catcher is supposed to catch the ball , but sometimes they don't.


What are the responsibilities of a catcher in a softball?

The catcher has a really important job! the catcher and pitcher are the leaders of the team pretty much! the catcher protects home base almost. if someone is on 3rd and coming home . she has to catch the ball and tag the base and/or the person to make sure she doesnt get a run!.;]


What is an errant pitch that the catcher cannot be expected to catch and that allows a base runner to advance a base?

missed third strike No, a Wild Pitch.


Why can a hitter run to first base on a strike 3 when the catcher drops the ball?

A hitter can only run to first if the catcher drops the third strike. Because of the dropped third strike rule.


Can you steal from home to first?

in the MLB you can run to first if you swing on a third strike and the catcher does not catch it, he has to tag you or throw down to first, it's rare that the runner is safe


Is the batter out if the catcher catches a tipped third strike?

Yes, this counts as a strike out.


How do you score a missed third strike if catcher drops the ball and the batter is out at first?

"Dropped third strike", batter swings and misses the third strike, he then runs to an unoccupied first base, but catcher throws him out at first to complete the STRIKE OUT. it's a STRIKE OUT (Capital "K" in the book).


Can you get four outs in an inning?

No, that is not possible. That thought comes from the fact that, in certain situations, a batter can strikeout but get on base if the catcher does not catch the ball on strike three and cannot get the ball to the first baseman before the batter reaches first base. This is called the 'Dropped Third Strike Rule' and there is a link to its description on this page. There have been many occasions, I don't know the exact number, where a pitcher has struckout four batters in an inning. This can only occur when the catcher does not catch strike three on a strikeout and the batter reaches first base safely.


Does the catcher have to catch pitches or can he act as another infielder or outfielder when the bases are empty?

there are many reasons as to why the catcher has to be behind home plate and NOT play the infield or out field here are a few ...the catcher gives the signs to the pitcher ( what to throw)if theres no catcher the 3rd strike will be dropped ( the batter will take 1st easily)the cather will frame the ball ( make it look like a strike)Clarification:Actually the only fundamental reason you need a catcher behind the plate is --- if you do not, then nobody will be in the "catcher box" and this will be a balk on the catcher, meaning you pitcher can never throw a strike because every pitch will be illegal --- other then that you would probably really upset the Home Plate umpire. I guess if you wanted absolutely no chance of winning (because your pitcher cant get anyone out if every pitch is illegal), then you can stick your catcher wherever you want --- all the other things mentioned above is good too, but those are not THE REASON you cannot have a catcher, because even if your catcher doesnt do those things when he is behind the plate your team will be ok (i.e little league catchers dont do most those things)


Why can a runner go to 1st on a dropped 3rd strike by the catcher and why is a foul ball that is caught an out if it is out of play?

1.) For a strikeout, the catcher must actually hang on to the ball in his mitt. If he drops it, or never has it in the first place, the runner can run to first and the catcher must tag or throw him out. 2.) The ball isn't out of play if he catches it. Catch -> Out. That simple. Mr Know-it-all [GRIN]. (I don't answer enough of these darn things, heheheh.) Basically, Glenn, a player must have posession of the ball for an out to be recorded. On every play, the ball is caught by the defensive team (pop out, line out, tag). The same is true for a strike out. The catcher must have possession of the ball to record the out. In the case of a passed ball or wild pitch, he does not therefore, no out and the runner may attempt to advance to first. the ball is only out of play if you can't catch it or use it to make a play, therefore it is called out of play when fouled into the crowd/anywhere the player cant get to it. Not only can the batter advance to first base if the catcher does not catch the ball, he can attempt to advance if the third strike skips in the dirt and is CAUGHT by the catcher; the catcher must catch the third strike cleanly to record the strike-out. In regard to the foul ball/out-of-play ball, they are 2 different things; a foul ball is, in fact, in play and the out can be made if caught on the fly (and runners on base can tag up and advance at their own peril). An out-of-play ball is a not-playable ball. Out-of-play boundaries are agreed upon prior to the start of the game by the umpires and coaches of both teams.


Is a dropped third strike in fastpitch softball an error on the catcher?

It depends, it may be the batter or the catcher but mostly catcher. They missed the pass.


What the dream catcher do?

They say that a dream catcher is to catch bad dreams.


What is moray catcher?

A moray catcher is also known as a fisherman for eels. That is, they hunt and catch eels like fishermen catch fish.


When is it necessary for a catcher to secure an out by tagging the batter or throwing to first on a strike out?

When there is a dropped 3rd strike


Does the catcher have to catch the third strike in his glove to not be considered a passed ball Example ball hits the catcher in the chest rolls down but traps it and does not hits the ground?

You situation has nothing to do with passed balls. You are talking about the "uncaught third strike". And no, as long as the ball does not hit the ground it is considered caught. If the batter traps the ball and he gets it before it hits the ground, he caught it. Bobbling the ball and catching it is an out.


What is catcher framing?

catcher framing is when the picth enters your glove you then move it so it looks like a strike.


If a batter tips the ball with two strikes and the catcher juggles it but still catches it before the ball hits the ground is the batter still out just as he would be if the catcher caught it cleanly?

All that matters is that the catcher caught the ball. Accordng to MLB Rule 6.05(b), a batter is out if: " A third strike is legally caught by the catcher; Rule 6.05(b) Comment: "Legally caught" means in the catcher's glove before the ball touches the ground. It is not legal if the ball lodges in his clothing or paraphernalia; or if it touches the umpire and is caught by the catcher on the rebound. If a foul-tip first strikes the catcher's glove and then goes on through and is caught by both hands against his body or protector, before the ball touches the ground, it is a strike, and if third strike, batter is out. If smothered against his body or protector, it is a catch provided the ball struck the catcher's glove or hand first. "


How is it possible for a pitcher to make four or more strikeouts in one inning?

There is a rule in baseball known as the uncaught third strike rule. This rule states that a catcher must catch the ball from the pitcher on a third strike for an out to be recorded. If, on a third strike, the pitched ball touches the ground before reaching the catcher or the catcher does not cleanly catch the ball, the batter becomes a runner and may advance to first base and must be tagged or thrown out at first base for the out to be recorded. For example, a batter swings and misses for strike three but the ball gets past the catcher and rolls back to the backstop. For the out to be recorded, the catcher must retrieve the ball and throw to first base before the batter gets there. If the batter beats the throw to first base, he becomes a base runner and is not out. In this situation, the pitcher is credited with a strikeout. The official scorer will rule as to whether the pitcher will also be charged with a wild pitch or the catcher will be charged with a passed ball (the reason the batter reached base). So the pitcher strikes out the first batter but the ball gets by the catcher and the batter reaches first base. The pitcher then cleanly strikes out the next three batters. For the inning, the pitcher is credited with 4 strikeouts. The uncaught third strike rule does not apply when there is a runner on first base and there are less than two outs. This keeps the catcher from intentionally dropping a third strike which would allow for an easy double play ... catcher throws to second base for one out and the second baseman/shortstop throws to first for the second out. There is no uncaught third strike rule in Little League Baseball. The batter is automatically out on a third strike regardless of whether the catcher catches the ball or not.


Is the pitcher credited with a strike out if the catcher drops ball on third strike?

yes, so as a result it is possible to strike out four batters in an inning


What does colonel catcher catch?

Moshlings


Is the pitcher awarded a strikeout with catcher interference on strike three?

no