Well No, but remember if he swings its a strike The pitch is legal but it cannot be called a strike unless the batter swings and misses or hits the ball foul. The batter may swing at a ball that hits the ground before home plate and if he hits it fair play goes on. In other words, if a batter were to hit a home run on a pitched ball that hit the ground before home plate, it would be ruled a home run.
A pitched ball can hit the ground before crossing home-plate. In most cases the batter would not swing and the pitch would be called a ball. But, if the batter decides the swing, the ball is still in play after hitting the ground and the batter may not hit the ball and receive a strike, or he may foul the ball, or hit a base-hit.
This will be considered a strike. The player was on the plate or in the way of the plate.
If the batter has the bat out over the plate when the ball hits them it is a strike... As long as the batter makes an attempt at the ball, like pushing or moving the bat to the ball then yes it would be a strike if they were hit.If the batter simply has the bat over the plate and is hit by the pitch out of the strike zone then its not a strike.
That is considered a strike.
The strike zone varies from batter to batter. The width of the strike zone is the width of home plate. The height is from the batter's chest (usually the letters) down to the batter's knees. The strike zone doesn't necessarily go by how tall the batter is, but by how the batter's stance is in the batter's box while waiting for the pitch.
Yes as a matter of fact it is. If the bat swings half way past home plate then its a strike.
If the pitch passes through the strike zone, or if the batter swings at the pitch and misses, it's a Strike. Otherwise it's a Ball. It has nothing to do with where the batter is standing.
If the bat is over the plate it is indeed a strike. It is considered an attempt to hit the ball and it does not matter where thepitch is in relation to the strike zone. Ball
If the ball touches the ground even before the catcher catches it the batter/runner may attempt to advance to first if there are less than 2 out and first is not occupied or if there are 2 out and first is occupied. The catcher does not have to catch the ball on a third a strike for it the be considered a strike out. This includes a ball which bounces to the catcher because the strike zone is over the plate not where it is caught.
if it hits off the bat then the batter its autmatically foul but if they completely miss then its a strike