Best Answer


User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2009-08-24 10:27:17
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides
See all Study Guides
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Is it a legal move in basketball to grab the ball from an opponents hands?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

What sentence is for conceal about basketball?

When playing basketball, it is important to conceal the ball from your opponents who would try to steal it from you.

What is it called when both basketball teams have their hands on the ball?

Jump ball

Is it legal to use feet in basketball?

Uh, Yeah. Basket-ball is about how you can use your hands. Using your feet will only get you a foul or penalty.

Is bouncing the ball with two hands a foul in basketball?


When are the hands part of the ball if ever?

Hands are considered part of the ball when in contact with the ball. If a defender strikes the hands of a player which are holding the ball, it is considered to be the same as the defender striking the ball. (I am a basketball referee certified by IAABO)

Is it incorrect to shoot basketball with two hands?

No, it is not incorrect to shoot a basket ball with two hands.

What is a double dribble in basketball?

It is when you put to hands on the ball then dribble again.

What is it call when you bounce the ball with two hands in basketball?

A double dirbbile

Football and basketball?

I'm not quit sure what your asking but foot ball is a game where you try to make it to the other side of the feild for a TD. And basketball is where you try to get the ball in the opponents hoop for a point.

What is a good basketball move?

A great move to use in basketball is the crossover. While you are dribbling, switch hands with the ball, this will help you defend the ball.

How do you earn points in basketball?

earning points or score in basketball game is to shoot or throw the ball through the top of the opponents basketball hoop while following a set of rules.

How do you play a basketball?

First of all, the sport is called basketball. Not a basketball. The objective is to dribble the ball down the court and shoot with your hands into the basketball net.

What is the name of the rule that's stops you from running with the ball in your hands in basketball?


Do basketball players dribbles with both hands?

Basketball players do not dribble with both hands on the ball at the same time. Doing so would result in a penalty.

What is the weight difference between a basketball and a soccer ball?

Beacause in soccer you use your feet the ball can't be as hard as it might be in basketball when you only use your hands.

Can you hit the ball out of a shooters hands in basketball just as they are about to shoot?

Yes as long as you don't touch them! only the ball

Is it a foul on basketball to snatch the ball away and fling you to the ground?

It is a foul to snatch the ball away if it is in your opponent's hands

If a basketball player throws the ball off the backboard the ball does not hit the rim and he catches the ball is that travelling?

NO it doesn't as you are not touching the ball and moving with it in your hands

In basketball if a player passes a ball to an opponent who is outside the court whose possession will it be next?

scine the other player was outta the court, it would the the opponents ball

Is it a legal shot in basketball to shoot from behind the backboard?

No its not it will be the other teams ball

When shooting your last ball or black ball can you call the shot off your opponents ball legally?

No. The first ball contacted by the cue ball must be the 8 ball to be a legal shot. However, if you use the opponent's ball as a carom shot after hitting the 8 ball, yes, this is a legal shot.

How long can a basketball player keep the ball in their hands?

He can keep it for 3-5 seconds.

What violation is committed in basketball if you bounce the ball using two hands?

A double dribble

Can you hit the basketball out the inbounders hands when inbounding the ball?

Yes. It'll be hard to do however

Is it a penalty if a player kicks the ball back to the goal keeper?

It is legal for a teammate to kick the ball to their own goal keeper. The goalkeeper would not be allowed to use their hands. If they do so, then it would be an indirect free kick for the opponents at the location the goalkeeper touched the ball. A penalty kick would not be awarded.