answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

It is the position of the ball in relation to the foul line...NOT the player.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2011-05-01 16:39:52
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides
More answers
User Avatar

Anonymous

Lvl 1
โˆ™ 2020-06-22 14:34:22

No, if a player touches a ball in fair and it land foul, it is a live ball.

This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Is it a foul ball if a player touches while in fair territory?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

Is a baseball considered fair if the defensive player touches the ball while he is in fair territory while the ball is in foul territory?

The location of the baseball decides if the ball is fair or foul. If the ball is in foul territory, the ball is foul regardless of the position of the player touching the ball. The same applies for balls in fair territory. This is opposite the ruling in football.


In softball how can a runner be out?

The batter is out, if they hit a ball in the air and a defensive player catches the ball before it touches the ground, in fair or foul territory. If a defensive player has the ball in control and touches a base before the runner, the runner is out. If a defensive player has the ball in control and touches the runner with the ball in their hand or glove, the runner is out.


Player attempts to catch a pop up and touches the ball in foul territory and it hits the ground in fair territory?

Once a batted ball is touched by a defensive player in foul territory, it is ruled a foul ball regardless if said batted ball returns to fair territory.


If a baseball player touches a ball in foul territory but doesn't catch it is it foul or fair?

it is a foul ball as long as someone in fair territory didnt touch it first


What is the call if a player touches a ball that is entering a rim?

Goaltending: A referee calls goaltending when a defensive player illegally interferes with a shot. If the defensive player touches the ball as it makes its downward path to the basket, touches the ball while it is on the rim, or touches the rim or net itself as the ball is being shot, the offensive team receives the basket


Is a ball fair or foul if the fielder has two feet in fair territory and catches the ball in foul territory?

Once the ball is past first or third base, the ONLY consideration is where the BALL is located -- fair or foul -- when it FIRST comes in contact with either the ground or a player. If the player is almost entirely in fair territory when he first grabs the ball, but the glove that touches the ball is in foul territory, then it's a foul ball. "If the ball touches a fielder in-flight, the judgment is made at where the ball was when it was touched, NOT from where it may land after a miss, or drop of the ball, by a fielder. The position of the fielder is irrelevant."


If a fielder standing in foul territory touches a fly ball over fair territory it is a foul ball?

yes it is a foul ball


If a batted ball hits an umpire in fair territory is the ball live?

According to MLB rules, that would depend on the situation. MLB Rule 5.09(f) states that the ball becomes dead and runners advance one base, or return to their bases, without liability to be put out when "A fair ball touches a runner or an umpire on fair territory before it touches an infielder including the pitcher, or touches an umpire before it has passed an infielder other than the pitcher. Rule 5.09(f) Comment: If a fair ball touches an umpire working in the infield after it has bounded past, or over, the pitcher, it is a dead ball. If a batted ball is deflected by a fielder in fair territory and hits a runner or an umpire while still in flight and then is caught by an infielder it shall not be a catch, but the ball shall remain in play." If the ball hits the umpire first, the ball is dead. If a defensive player touches the ball and then the ball hits the umpire, the ball is live.


If a player steps out of bounds are they still elligable to get the ball?

A player can not touch the ball while they are out of bounds they can jump and touch hit it back inbounds. If the balls bounces or touches any where out of bounds then last person who touches, doesn't get the ball and it goes to the other team.


Is a base runner out if he touches a ground ball that is in foul territory before the other team?

If the ball is in foul territory and hits a base runner in foul territory then it is a foul ball, so no he would not be out


If a player is out of bounds and another player throws the ball off him who is it out on?

The player that is out of bounds when the ball touches him.


What is it when a player touches the ball in soccer?

A touch.

People also asked