That is considered a strike.
I watched this happen yesterday between the Cubs and Dodgers. It is a strike. It happened as a player was hit in the leg as they were squared up to bunt. His back foot was outside the batter's box and behind the plate, where he was struck with the pitch. It was called a strike.
Yes. If the batter swings, it's a strike.
This will be considered a strike. The player was on the plate or in the way of the plate.
If the batter has the bat out over the plate when the ball hits them it is a strike... As long as the batter makes an attempt at the ball, like pushing or moving the bat to the ball then yes it would be a strike if they were hit.If the batter simply has the bat over the plate and is hit by the pitch out of the strike zone then its not a strike.
A bunt attempt.
Yes. The umpire calls the pitch by determining if any part of the ball crossed any part of the plate within the strike zone. If the pitch does not cross home plate, the umpire calls a ball. If the pitch crosses any part of home plate, the umpire determines the height of the ball as it crossed the plate. If the beight is within the strike zone, it is called a strike. If it is outside the strike zone, it is called a ball.
The strike zone varies from batter to batter. The width of the strike zone is the width of home plate. The height is from the batter's chest (usually the letters) down to the batter's knees. The strike zone doesn't necessarily go by how tall the batter is, but by how the batter's stance is in the batter's box while waiting for the pitch.
Yes as a matter of fact it is. If the bat swings half way past home plate then its a strike.
If the pitch passes through the strike zone, or if the batter swings at the pitch and misses, it's a Strike. Otherwise it's a Ball. It has nothing to do with where the batter is standing.
even if the smallest bit of the ball crosses over the edge of the plate, it is to be called a strike as long as it is still within the strike zone