answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

Yes, if the player is forced down, such as a push or a hit, that the ref deems to have caused the ball carrier to hit the ground, he is down. If he went down on his own in an attempt to make a catch or simply lost his footing, he is not down.

User Avatar

Wiki User

βˆ™ 2011-01-11 06:27:21
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Is an NFL player considered down if he was forced down by an opponent but not touched while on the ground?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

When a tornado has not touched the ground yet what is it called?

A tornado that has touched the ground is called a funnel cloud.


When was Boys the Old Flag Never Touched the Ground created?

Boys the Old Flag Never Touched the Ground was created in 1918.


What is the difference between a funnel cloud and a tornado?

A tornado has actually touched down on the ground - a funnel cloud is a spinning cloud that has not actually touched the ground.


Is batter out of batters box if he has not touched ground on contact of ball?

..


What do you call water that has not touched the ground?

Its called as surface water.


What if a ball hits in fair territory and bounces in the air over the foul line and is touched by an infielder-is it foul?

It would depend on if the play happened within first and third base. the ball would be considered foul if it was touched in foul ground.


If a ground ball touches you are you out?

If the ground ball is foul, you are not out. If the ground ball is fair, you are out unless you are touching your base (however, if you are touching your base and in the umpire's judgment you intentionally interfered, you are out). Rule 7.08(f) states: Any runner is out when "he is touched by a fair ball in fair territory before the ball has touched or passed an infielder. The ball is dead and no runner may score, nor runners advance, except runners forced to advance. EXCEPTION: If a runner is touching his base when touched by an Infield Fly, he is not out, although the batter is out."


What happen to Antaeus every time his body touches the ground?

Antaeus was unconquerable as long as he touched the ground.


What is water forced from underneath the ground by?

pumps


Was there a funnel in Chicago that never touched the ground?

yes in 2011 or 2009


True or false a tornado is a funnel cloud that has touched the ground?

true


In NFL play If an offensive is touched and continues to run and he falls on his volition trips etc later in his run is he still considered down?

The touch must have been the cause of him to fall, or he must be touched while on ground. So, he is still eligible to run in the above scenario.

People also asked