answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

No. A runner is out if hit by a batted ball but not out if hit by a thrown ball.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2008-05-18 17:18:42
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Is a runner out if a fielder throws the ball and hits the runner?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

Is the ball alive or dead when hitting a runner in fair territory?

It depends. Is the ball being thrown or is it hit. If it's hit off the bat and hits a base runner it's a dead ball and the runner is out if the ball has not passed a fielder. If the ball has already passed a fielder then the ball is live and the runner is not out. It is as if it never happened. If it hits the runner when it is thrown it is perceived as if it never hit the runner.


Is the batter out in every circumstance when a batted ball hits a baserunner?

No. If a fielder has a legitimate opportunity to make an attempt at the ball, but the ball passes the fielder and then touches the runner, he is not out. The rules state a runner is out when a batted ball touches him before it passes a fielder.


Can you charge a hitter with a fielder's choice if there is not a force out at a base?

Yes. For example, runner on 2nd, batter hits ground ball to the shortstop, who, instead of throwing to first, throws to third base in an attempt to get the runner. The batter is charged with reaching first on a fielder's choice, even if the runner is safe or out.


If a batted ball hits a base runner is the hitter safe or out?

The runner would be safe if the ball passes by a fielder other than the pitcher, out if hit before the ball has past a fielder.


What is the scoring decision if a batter hits a ground ball to shortstop and the runner on second collides with the fielder as he is going to third base?

Fielder has the right to occupy the territory necessary to field the ball, runner must give right of way to the fielder. In this case, runner is out.


Can a base runner get in front of a fielder on a batted ball?

Yes, but if they are in fair territory and the ball hits them they are out.


Is a runner out that gets hit with a batted ball?

Yes if it hits him before passing a fielder. If it passes a fielder, then no, he is safe.


If a batted ball hits a runner and pops up in the air and a fielder catches the ball is the batter out also?

No...as soon as the batted ball touches the runner, the ball is dead.


If there is a runner third base and he hits the ball to the shortstop and he throws to home plate and he is safe Is the batter credited with a hit or a fielder's choice?

That would be considered a fielder's choice. Answers.com defines a fielder's choice as: "A play made on a ground ball in which the fielder chooses to put out an advancing base runner, thus allowing the batter to reach first base safely." Even though, in your question, the runner was not put out at home the play would be scored a fielder's choice and the batter would be credited with an RBI.


Is the batter out when he hits his own player with a hit ball?

No, the batter is not out. The runner could be out though. For example in Little League if the runner touches the ball before it goes by a fielder, the runner is out. (The pitcher does not count as a fielder for the purpose of the rule) The runner is not out if he/she is touching a base.


What is the official scoring of a ground ball that hits the runner?

The baserunner is out and the batter is credited with a single. The putout goes to the fielder closest to the ball when it hit the runner.


Does the batter get a hit when the baseball he hits then hits the runner moving from 1st base to 2nd?

If a batted ball that a fielder has no chance to field hits a runner, the runner is called out and the batter is credited with a single.


Is the runner out if he leaves the base before batter hits the ball?

Absolutely not -- a runner can (and invariable does) leave the base even before the pitcher throws the ball to the batter! That's called leading off. A batter can attempt to run to the next base without the batter hitting it -- ie, stealing a base. PERHAPS what you're asking about is what happens if the runner leaves the base before the ball is hit AND the batter hits the ball AND the ball is caught by a fielder before it hits the ground AND the ball is then thrown to the base where the runner was AND the ball is held there before the runner returns to that base. If ALL of those things happen, then the runner is out.


If a batter hits a ball where they would otherwise safely reach first and a runner currently on a base gets tagged out due to a base running error is this considered a fielders choice?

That would depend on whether the runner that made the base running error was forced out. If there is a runner on first base and the batter hits a ground ball into left field and the runner trips and falls between first and second and the left fielder throws to second and gets the runner out, it would be considered a force out and the batter would not get credited with a hit. But if there is a runner on first base and the batter hits a ground ball into left field and the runner rounds second base too far and the left fielder throws to second and the runner is tagged out, the batter would be credited with a base hit.Answer:The above is incorrect. In order for the batter to receive a Fielder's Choice and not be credited with the hit, the scorer must determine that the batter would not have safely reached 1st base. In simple terms: "the fielder COULD have thrown out the batter, but CHOSE not to". In the example above, the left fielder could not have thrown out the batter at first. The batter is awarded the hit and the defense records a 7-4 put out.A force out does not determine a Fielder's choice. If there is a runner on 2nd with 1st empty: If the batter hits a sharp ground ball to second basemen who fields the ball cleanly and attempts to throw out the runner advancing from 2nd, the batter is given the fielder's choice whether the advancing runner is safe or out at 3rd.


If a batted ball glances off of glove and then hits runner is the runner safe or out?

The runner is not out and play goes on. Rule 7.09(k) states a runner is out when: "A fair ball touches him on fair territory before touching a fielder. If a fair ball goes through, or by, an infielder, and touches a runner immediately back of him, or touches the runner after having been deflected by a fielder, the umpire shall not declare the runner out for being touched by a batted ball. In making such decision the umpire must be convinced that the ball passed through, or by, the fielder, and that no other infielder had the chance to make a play on the ball. If, in the judgment of the umpire, the runner deliberately and intentionally kicks such a batted ball on which the infielder has missed a play, then the runner shall be called out for interference" Since the ball touched the fielder first and then the runner, play goes on.


Is the ball still in play if it hits a runner after it passes a fielder?

Yes, the ball is in play and the runner is not delared out. See Rule 5.07(f) in Official Major League Baseball Rules.


Is a runner out if the ball hits them after the ball has hit a defensive player?

No. If a batted ball is touched by a defensive player before it touches a runner, the ball is live and the runner is not out. Also, if a batted ball passes a fielder that could make a play on the ball and touches a runner, the ball is live and the runner is not out. This situation is very rare and would only occur when the infield is playing in and are in front of the runner(s).


Does the batter get first base after he hits the ball which hits his runner going to second?

Yes runner is out (unless the ball has already gone by a fielder other than the pitcher), the ball is dead and the batter/runner gets first base.Correction:It is not relevant as if the ball goes past the fielders (only if it touches a fielder first) -- any time a batted ball first hits a runner in fair territory without touching a fielder first -- the runner is out, the putout goes to the nearest fielder, and the batter is still credited with a single and gets 1st baseCorrection to the correction:It does matter if it goes past the fielder first. This is infielders other than the pitcher and catcher. Because the fielders have had the opportunity to make a play on the ball, the ball is no longer dead. The batter would then advance to first at their own risk and the other runners would advance at their own risk too.


If a base runner is on first and the batter hits a one hopper to center field and the center fielder throws out the runner headed to second who paused to ensure he did not tag Is it a hit?

This is ruled a Fielder's Choice (FC) in the scorebook. The batter is charged an at-bat, with no hit issued.


What if catcher throws and hits base runner?

The runner is safe, in order for the runner to be considered out the fielder would have to have the ball in his glove or hand and tag the runner. *edit: It depends on where the runner is when he is hit. If the runner is running a direct path to first and is within the 3ft baseline, the runner is safe. If however the runner takes a lane outside the 3ft path, in a deliberate attempt to block the catcher's throwing lane, the runner is out for Interference.


Is the batter out if the batter hits a ball and throws his bat and the bat hits the catcher and as a result the catcher is unable to field a throw for a play at the plate?

Yes. If at any point in a game, the batter or baserunner interferes with the fielder, he is an automatic out. If he impedes the throw to get out another runner, the other runner is out as well. For instance, on a double play, if the runner going to second is already out by force at 2nd, and he plows into the short stop trying to throw the other runner out at first, the runner going to first is also out. The baserunner must always slide or otherwise avoid excessive contact with the fielder on a double play.


What is the ruling when a batted ball is deflected by pitcher and hits a baserunner?

A batted ball that hits a fielder is in play, regardless of whether or not it later hit a baserunner. If a batted ball hits a baserunner before touching a fielder, the runner is out, the batter is awarded a hit, and all other runners return to their previous base unless forced to advance.


List 8 official ways a base runner can get to first base?

Well, let's see... 1. Gets a clean base hit 2. Receives a base on balls 3. Gets hit by a pitched ball 4. Is interferred with by the catcher or other fielder 5. Hits a ball that hits an umpire before touching a fielder 6. Hits into a fielder's choice 7. An error by a fielder 8. Hits a ball that hits another base runner. That's about it as far as I can tell.


With runners on first and second how can a triple play occur without the fielder touching the ball and to which mlb team has this occured?

The batter hits a pop-fly making him out due to the infield fly rule. The runner on first passes the runner on second and the ball hits the runner on second. I dont know who it happened to.


What does fielders choice mean?

The fielder who caught the ball had the option to either get the batter running to first or another runner. Example: With a runner of first the batter hits the ball to the short stop. The short stop choices to throw the ball to second to get the runner out but the batter reaches first base safely.