answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

No, it is not considered a sacrifice unless the batter is advanced as a result of a bunt. Also, a fly ball that is caught is only considered a sacrifice if a runner tags and scores on the play. If a runner tags at 1B or 2B on the caught fly ball, and advances one base, it is not considered a sacrifice fly.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2009-09-03 17:57:49
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Is a ground ball hit to the right side that advances the runner considered a sacrifice or does it have to be a bunt to be a sacrifice?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

In NCAA baseball a batter bunts with a runner on second base and advances him to third is this a sacrifice?

Yes it is considered a sacrifice.


Does the batter get a sacrifice if the runner on first tags and goes to second?

Yes as long as the runner advances Assuming you mean the runner tags up on a fly ball and advances to second, it is not scored as a sacrifice, but, simply as a fly out and the batter is charged with a time at bat. If the batter bunt a ground ball, the runner would not be required to "tag up" to advance and the batter would be credited with a sacrifice. If the batter is attempting a sacrifice bunt and pops up and the runner, tags up and somehow advances to second the batter is not credited with a sacrifice.


Does a sacrifice fly that advances a runner from second to third count as an at bat?

A fly ball that advances a runner from second to third is not counted as a sacrifice fly, and it does count as an at bat. Unless a runner scores on a fly ball, the batter is charged with an at bat.


If a player hits the ball to the right side of the infield so that the runner on third could score is that considered a sacrifice?

No, it is a ground out RBI.


Runner advances a base on a fly ball but not from third Sac or not?

no it is not a sacrifice- just a regular at bat and fly out


Is it scored a sacrifice if you score a runner from third on a ground out to second base?

No. A sacrifice is only recorded on a fly ball or a bunt. There is no such thing as a "sacrifice ground out".


Why is there no sacrifice ground ball in baseball?

There is no sacrifice ground ball in baseball because you don't try to sacrifice yourself to advance the runner on the ground ball. Also, on a bunt, it's hard to get the leading runner anyway, so the fielder most of the time goes for the batter at first. On a ground ball however, the fielder most of the time has an easy option for the lead runner as well as the batter.


Is advancing a runner buy hitting a flyball or putting the ball in play considered a time at bat?

It is not considered an at bat if it is a fly ball to the outfield or a bunted sacrifice. If it is a ground out and runners advance it is a time at bat.


In the game of baseball if there is a runner on third base with less than two outs and the batter purposely hits the ball to the right side to score the run is that considered a sacrifice?

No. A sacrifice must be either a bunt or a fly ball. A ground out is a ground out, even if it results in a run scored.


When a runner is on first and third and the runner on first advances to second with out a throw from the catcher is the runner credited with a stolen base?

yes


Is it scored a sacrifice fly if you move a runner up but don' t score him?

AnswerNo. Unless the runner scores, it is NOT a sacrafice fly. If a batter flies out while a runner is on either 1st or 2nd base, tags up and advances to the next base, it is simply ruled as a flyout with the runner advancing, and the "at bat" will still be charged to the batter. A sacrafice fly scores the runner after he tags up, the batter does not get charged with an "at bat", and he also gets credit for a run batted in (RBI).I disagree. If a batter bunts and the runner advances, it is a sacrifice. So it would stand to reason that if you fly out, and the runner advances, then it would be as well.To Above:It's not a matter of disagreeing, it's a matter of MLB rules as designated by the rulebook. A sacrifice fly is not the same as a sacrifice bunt, a hit is only a sacrifice fly if the runner can tag and score. The reason being that a sacrifice fly is not scored as an official at-bat due to it's strategic value, thus it doesn't count against your batting average; since it's impossible to determine whether or not a batter is going long for strategy, or just swinging for the bleachers, you thus only get the sacrifice if the runner scores, all other fly-balls count against your average. A bunt is far more obvious in it's intent to move a runner, thus a bunt that moves a runner is a sacrifice.


What is a ground hugging stem?

A "runner". A "runner".


Is it considered an at bat if a player gets put out by a ground ball if a runner on third also scores?

Yes.


Was it ever a sacrifice fly when a runner moved up a base on an out?

MLB Rule 10.08d is pretty clear: "Score a sacrifice fly when, before two are out, the batter hits a ball in flight handled by an outfielder or an infielder running in the outfield in fair or foul territory that (1) is caught, and a runner scores after the catch, or (2) is dropped, and a runner scores, if in the scorer's judgment the runner could have scored after the catch had the fly been caught. Thus, if a base runner advances to another base after tagging up but does not score, it is a fly out, but NOT a sacrifice fly.


What is the difference between a sucker and a runner?

a runner is what goes along the ground and a sucker is what sticks to the runner to hold it down and the plant runs a long the ground.


If a batter bunts with a runner on second base would this be a sacrifice?

Yes. If the batter turns around and bunts with a runner or runners on base in an attempt to move them up a base while giving himself up as an out the play is considered a sacrifice.


Is a runner out if a Pitcher makes an attempt on a ground ball and it hit a runner?

No it is not kickball.


Is a runner out if the first baseman has his hand on the ball while the ball is still no the ground but does not lift the ball off the ground?

Yes. They would be out. Think of it like this. If a runner is running home from third and the catcher slides onto the plate with the ball, the runner is still out, even though the catcher is on the ground. As long as the Defensive player has possession of the ball, and is touching the base, the offensive player would be considered out.


A batter hits a ball to SS with a man on 2nd. He gets thrown out at 1st but advances the runner to 3rd does this count as an at bat towards his batting average or is it a sacrifice hit?

This is simply an out. Sacrifices are only given to bunts that advance all runners or fly outs where a runner scores.


If a batter grounds out to second base and a runner advances is the batter charged a time at bat?

Yes.


There is one out a runner is on third and the batter grounds out to shortstop and the runner scores this is recorded as a rbi but is this a sacrifice as well?

No. The only way it is a sacrifice is if the ball is hit in the air and the runner has to tag-up to advance home. The batter is only given an rbi because he did not sacrifice his at bat to score the runner from 3rd.


If a runner misses first and advances to second when the ball goes out of play can the runner still be called out on appeal?

YES he can be called out on an appeal... this would be the same as if a home was hit and the runner had not tagged first base ...


If a batter reaches base on an error is it an official at bat?

Yes. The only time it is not an official "At Bat", is if a batter reaches base on a base on balls, hit by pitch or catcher interference. A batter is also not charged with an "At Bat" if he hits a sacrifice fly (a fly ball out that results in a runner tagging up and scoring), or a sacrifice bunt that advances a runner or runners. He is also not charged with an "At Bat" if the batter reaches base as a result of an error on a sacrifice fly or sacrifice bunt.


What is a stolon that forms across the top of the ground?

It a Runner


A stolon that forms across the top of the ground is a?

runner