answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

Yes

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2011-05-25 00:44:28
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Is a foul tip with 2 strikes that is caught by the catcher an out?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

If the count is two strikes and a foul tip is caught by the catcher is the batter out?

YES.


Is the batter out if a foul tip is caught by the catcher and the count is either no strikes or one strike?

No.MLB rule 2.00 defines a foul tip as follows:" A FOUL TIP is a batted ball that goes sharp and direct from the bat to the catcher's hands and is legally caught. It is not a foul tip unless caught and any foul tip that is caught is a strike, and the ball is in play. It is not a catch if it is a rebound, unless the ball has first touched the catcher's glove or hand. "So the answer to your question is no since a foul tip that is caught is only considered a strike.


What is the minimum height of a pop up foul tip to be out?

There is no minimum height associated with a foul tip - a foul tip is defined as a foul ball which is caught by the catcher without contacting anything else. If it occurs with two existing strikes, the batter is out.


Why is a batter not out if he barely makes contact with the ball and the catcher catches the ball?

only the first two strikes and on the third if catcher does not catch the ball then player can run to first trying to beat a throughIt sounds like what you are describing is a foul tip. MLB rule 2.00 defines a foul tip as follows:" A FOUL TIP is a batted ball that goes sharp and direct from the bat to the catcher's hands and is legally caught. It is not a foul tip unless caught and any foul tip that is caught is a strike, and the ball is in play. It is not a catch if it is a rebound, unless the ball has first touched the catcher's glove or hand. "


If a batter tips the ball with two strikes and the catcher stops it with his chest protector and then catches it is it a out?

I don't know for a fact, but I would guess yes. It's a case of the player "bobbling" the ball, and then gaining control of it. ---- According to MLB Rules, the definition of a foul tip is: "A FOUL TIP is a batted ball that goes sharp and direct from the bat to the catcher's hands and is legally caught. It is not a foul tip unless caught and any foul tip that is caught is a strike, and the ball is in play. It is not a catch if it is a rebound, unless the ball has first touched the catcher's glove or hand." By definition, if the ball hits the catcher's glove or hand and then hits the chest protector, it can be caught by the catcher and considered a foul tip. If the ball hits the chest protector first, the ball it is considered a foul ball and not a foul tip and the catcher cannot catch it for an out.


When is a foul ball caught by the catcher an out?

The baseball rules differentiate between a foul ball and a foul tip.A foul tip caught by the catcher is a strike. If it's the third strike the result is a strikeout, otherwise the at bat continues.A foul ball caught in the air by any fielder (including the catcher) is a pop out (or fly out, which is scored the same).Major League Baseball rules define a foul tip as follows:A FOUL TIP is a batted ball that goes sharp and direct from the bat to the catcher's hands and is legally caught. It is not a foul tip unless caught and any foul tip that is caught is a strike, and the ball is in play. It is not a catch if it is a rebound, unless the ball has first touched the catcher's glove or hand.Many people were taught that a foul tip is anything that does not go over the batter's head, or that does not go at least six feet high, but those criteria are not in the rule book.


Does a foul ball count as a ball if the batter already has 2 strikes?

A foul ball never counts as a ball. In Major League Baseball, a foul ball only counts as the third strike if it's a foul tip that was caught by the catcher.


Why isn't it an out on a caught foul tip ball on a first and second strike but it is an out on the third?

According to MLB Official Rules 2.00 Definition of Terms:" A FOUL TIP is a batted ball that goes sharp and direct from the bat to the catcher’s hands and is legally caught. It is not a foul tip unless caught and any foul tip that is caught is a strike, and the ball is in play. It is not a catch if it is a rebound, unless the ball has first touched the catcher’s glove or hand. "According to the rules, a foul tip and a foul ball are two different things.


In baseball is a foul tip considered a dead ball?

Only if not caught sharply and directly by the catcher.


What is the difference between a catcher catching a foul tip and catching a fly ball?

A foul tip is considered to be when the batter swings and the bat barely touches, or tips, the ball. The ball goes straight back into the catcher's mitt. A fly ball is when the batter makes contact and the ball goes up into the air for a significant distance. If a catcher catches a foul tip with less than two strikes the play is simply considered a strike and not an out. But if the catcher catches a foul tip when the batter has two strikes, the batter is scored to have struckout.


Can a runner advance on foul tip to the catchers glove?

Yes. In all rules, a foul tip immediately caught by the catcher is considered exactly like a strike. As such, a base runner is allowed to attempt to steal a base on a foul tip. Note, however, that if the catcher drops a foul tip, it is considered to be a foul ball, and no base runner may advance.


Is a foul tip strike a dead ball?

A foul tip is a live ball if the catcher catches the ball. Otherwise, it is a dead ball.According to the rules set by Major League Baseball:A FOUL TIP is a batted ball that goes sharp and direct from the bat to the catcher's hands and is legally caught. It is not a foul tip unless caught and any foul tip that is caught is a strike, and the ball is in play. It is not a catch if it is a rebound, unless the ball has first touched the catcher's glove or hand.6.05 A batter is out when-(b) A third strike is legally caught by the catcher;Rule 6.05(b) Comment: "Legally caught" means in the catcher's glove before the ball touches the ground. It is not legal if the ball lodges in his clothing or paraphernalia; or if it touches the umpire and is caught by the catcher on the rebound.If a foul-tip first strikes the catcher's glove and then goes on through and is caught by both hands against his body or protector, before the ball touches the ground, it is a strike, and if third strike, batter is out. If smothered against his body or protector, it is a catch provided the ball struck the catcher's glove or hand first.Rule 7.08(d) Comment: Runners need not "tag up" on a foul tip. They may steal on a foul tip. If a so-called tip is not caught, it becomes an ordinary foul. Runners then return to their bases.5.09 The ball becomes dead and runners advance one base, or return to their bases, without liability to be put out, when-(g) A pitched ball lodges in the umpire's or catcher's mask or paraphernalia, and remains out of play, runners advance one base;Rule 5.09(g) Comment: If a foul tip hits the umpire and is caught by a fielder on the rebound, the ball is "dead" and the batsman cannot be called out. The same shall apply where such foul tip lodges in the umpire's mask or other paraphernalia.

People also asked