Neither. Consider this situation: Team A is backed up to its own end zone. Team A's quarterback throws a pass that is intercepted by Team B just in front of the goal line. The Team B player tries to run around a couple Team A guys to get into the end zone. In the process he gets hit and fumbles the ball. The ball sails out of the end zone and out of play. Because the ball was fumbled and then went out of bounds, Team B retains possession and has a first down at the spot of the fumble. There was a game in 2001 when Patriots receiver David Patten was hit by a defender and knocked out cold, fumbling the ball in the process. The ball shot straight up in the air and came back down, bouncing off Patten's leg, and was recovered by the other team. but because part of Patten's unconscious body was lying out of bounds, by rule that meant his whole body was out of bounds, so when the ball hit his leg it was technically landing out of bounds, so the ball became dead at that instant. The fumble recovery didn't count; the Patriots retained possession. To come back to our theoretical case: if the Team B player fumbled, and the ball rolled into the end zone and was recovered by Team A, that's a touchback, because it was Team B that lost possession. Team A would get the ball at its own 20.
If you have possession of the ball at your own 1 and fumble it out of the back of your own endzone it is ruled a safety. If you have possession of the ball at the other team's 1 and fumble it out of the endzone it is a touchback (a touchback is awarded to defense for the offense playing it at all out of the endzone) and goes to the other team.
While it appears much thought went into the first answer, the second answer is correct.
Agreed. The second answer is right. If a team has established possession in the field of play and causes the ball to go dead through its own end zone, it's the same as any other situation where the offense kills the ball in its own end zone. It's a safety.
If a player fumbled the ball into and out of bounds in his own endzone after making a pass interception on his 1 yard line, it is an automatic safety.The impetus is on the player who fumbled.
She fumbled around in her back pack.
Depending on which side recovers the loose ball. If the defense player does it is a safety and worth 2 points to that team and they get the ball back on a kick off. If the offensive player gets it, and makes it out of the end zone he takes it as far as he can and the game continues from there. If the offensive player gets it and is tackled inside the end zone, it is again a safety for the other team. Do you mean if the ball is fumbled out of the back of the end zone? In that case, it's a safety awarded to the defense. If the ball is fumbled into the end zone but the offense recovers and is tackled, that's also a safety. If the ball is fumbled into the end zone but the defense recovers, it's a touchdown for the defense.
it is a touchback as long as the player never leaves the end zone.
a safety
yes, it's a safety Yes.
yes
Earl Campbell
Yes. The only rule restricting who may recover a fumble occurs in the final two minutes of a half. This rule states if the ball is fumbled forward in the last two minutes of a half, if the player that fumbled the ball is not the player that recovers the ball, then the ball goes back to the point where it was fumbled. If the player that fumbled is also the player that recovers, the ball is spotted where the recovery was made. In other words, let's say there are less than two minutes left in a half and a player is on the 5 yard line and fumbles the ball forward into the end zone. If the player that fumbled the ball also recovers the ball, the play is ruled a touchdown. If any other offensive player recovers the ball, it is not a touchdown and the ball is brought back to the 5 yard line and the offense keeps possession. If a defensive player recovers the ball, it is ruled a touchback.
yes because the player want backwards into the end zone.If the ball has broken the plane when the defensive player makes contact with the ball then its a touchback. If the ball had not broken then plane then the defensive player carried it into the endzone and is a saftey.
Touch back if they recovered in the end-zone and stayed in the end-zone but if they were outside the end-zone then went in the end-zone it is a safety.
The Colts fumbled the opening kickoff of the second half and the Cowboys recovered. The Cowboys drove to the Colts 1 yard line when running back Duane Thomas fumbled the ball and the Colts recovered.