Best Answer

The football/soccer league known as the Scottish Premier League was founded in 1998. At its inception, the league had 10 clubs, but has expanded to have 12 currently. As of 2013, only two teams have won championships: Celtic and Rangers.

User Avatar

Wiki User

βˆ™ 2013-05-29 20:15:22
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides


1 card

When was Kimia Aqqala F.C. created

See all cards
1 Review

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: In what year was the Scottish Premier League founded?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

What year did Scottish premier league start?

The Scottish Premier League started in 1998 when it separated from the Scottish Football League. The two clubs rejoined in 2013 to form the Scottish Professional Football League.

When was the Scottish Rugby Union founded?

The Scottish Rugby Union is the second oldest Rugby Union. It was founded in the year 1873 as the Scottish Football Union. This union oversees the Scottish League Championship which is the national league system.

Is there an English Premier League champion this year?

There is an English Premier League Championn every year.

Who were the winners of the Scottish league in 1880?

There was no Scottish league competition it the year 1880.

Which premier league football team was founded as St Domingo FC in 1878?

St Domingo FC was founded in 1878 and renamed to Everton FC the following year.

In which year IPL started?

The Indian Premier league founded by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) in 2008.It started in 2008.

In what year was the Clyde FC founded?

Clyde F.C. was founded in the year 1877, over 130 years ago. The Clyde F.C. is based in Scotland and plays for the Third Division of the Scottish Football League.

What year was the premier league made?


Scottish premier division winners in 1961-1962?

While the Scottish Premier Division did not exist in 1961-62, the highest ranking Scottish domestic competition was Division One. The winners of Scottish Division One in that year were Dundee.

Who was the first English football manager of the year?

As for the FA Premier league, there has not been an English Manager of the year. Five different managers have won the award: - Alex Ferguson [Scottish] - Kenny Dalglish [Scottish] - Arsene Wenger [French] - George Burley [Scottish] - Jose Mourinho [ Portuguese]

Who were the Scottish League cup winners in 1993?

The Scottish League cup in the year 1993 was won by Rangers.

Who were the Scottish League cup winners in 1992?

The Scottish League cup in the year 1992 was won by Hibernian.

People also asked