answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

they must go back,dead ball after hitting batter

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2009-06-26 12:01:47
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides

Softball

25 cards

What is the function of the heart

From what country did the Munich Massacre hostages originate

In what year did the Munich Massacre take place

How do you take an accurate pulse

โžก๏ธ
See all cards
โ˜†โ˜…โ˜†โ˜…โ˜†โ˜…โ˜†โ˜…โ˜†โ˜…
No Reviews

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: In softball if a Batter is hit by a pitch as the runner on second is trying to steal third base is the runner allowed third or must they go back to second base?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

What is force play in softball?

Well for example: If a runner is on first and second, and the batter hits the ball, the force play is at third base because the lead runner is forced to run to third due to the runners behind him/her.


In Cal Ripken League baseball a runner is on second base with first base unoccupied the batter is walked can the runner on second advance to third base?

I'll be honest that I'm unaware of the rules specific to the league, but generally speaking, a batter-runner advances on a walk only when he is forced to do so by a trailing batter-runner. If a runner chooses to advance when not forced to do so, he is allowed, but is liable for being tagged out as if he were stealing a base.


What are some rules of fastpitch softball?

There are a lot of rules to softball but you said a few so I will name some of them. ONE:If there is a throw down to second base then the second basemen has to tag the runner and not simply touch the bag with her foot . TWO:If the ball is hit into a pop fyly ball and if the ball is caught and if there is a runner that ran to the next base then the runner has to tag back up on the bag that they came from before they can go to the next base. THREE:If the batter is batting in the box and the catcher is in the way of the batter and interfears with the hit then the batter gets to go to first base. There you go. Three rules about softball.


What is agood time for a high school catcher to throw a softball to second base?

Runner attempting a steal from first, or a runner caught returning to second base.


Runner on second and batter hits grounder to short and throws out runner at third is batter credited with a hit?

No hit it is a fielders choice


If a Batter is hit by pitch with runner on second base as runner steals third is this legal?

Nope, when the batter is hit it is a dead ball.


How would you score this if the batter hits a ball the drops in center field but the runner at first is thrown out at second?

If the runner at second is out by being forced out, the batter is not given a base hit .... the play is ruled the same as if the ball was hit to an infielder that threw to second to force the runner. If the runner at second is out by being tagged because they rounded the base too far, the batter is given a base hit.


If a batter grounds out to second base and a runner advances is the batter charged a time at bat?

Yes.


What is a double in softball?

A double is when the batter reaches second base on a hit ball.


Does the batter get a sacrifice if the runner on first tags and goes to second?

Yes as long as the runner advances Assuming you mean the runner tags up on a fly ball and advances to second, it is not scored as a sacrifice, but, simply as a fly out and the batter is charged with a time at bat. If the batter bunt a ground ball, the runner would not be required to "tag up" to advance and the batter would be credited with a sacrifice. If the batter is attempting a sacrifice bunt and pops up and the runner, tags up and somehow advances to second the batter is not credited with a sacrifice.


What are the four ways a batter can get out in softball?

1. 3 strikes are called ("strikeout") 2. the ball hit by the batter is caught before hitting the ground ("flyout") 3. first baseman catches the ball before the batter runs there 4. the batter doesn't stand in the batter's box 5. the batter runs to a base that has already been tagged ("tagged" or "tag play") 6. the runner is tagged with the ball before reaching a base 7. the runner goes more than 3 feet out of the base line to avoid being tagged 8. the runner doesn't touch the bases (the runner is allowed to run past first but must touch second and third) 9. a fielder holding the ball touches a base, that is the only remaining base to which the runner can go, before the runner gets there


when a runner on second base ground ball to third base and the batter is thrown out at first?

Runner stays on second base if he is smart. That is a 5 to 3 out.


What is the differecne between a tag play and a force play in softball?

A tag play is when it is required to tag a base runner to get them out. A force play is when it is required to have possession of the ball and touch the base to get the base runner out. By definition, a force play is in effect when a base runner is 'forced' to run to the next base because of the ball being hit and another runner being 'forced' to run to the base that the runner currently occupies. If there is a runner on first base and the batter hits a ground ball to third base, the runner on first base is 'forced' to run to second base because the batter is running to first base. In this case, a force play is in effect at second base (and at first base because a batter is always 'forced' to run to first base after hitting a fair ball. A force play is always in effect at first base when a batter hits a fair ball.). If there is a runner only on second base and the batter hits a ball to first base, the runner at second is not 'forced' to run to third base because no one is 'forced' to run to second base. In this case, a tag play is in effect at third base if the runner at second attempts to advance.


There is a runner on 1st base with 1 out Next batter hits a ground ball to the outfield and reaches first base and runner is out at second base Does the hitter ger credited for a single?

That would depend on how the runner was retired at second base. For example, if the runner slipped and fell on his way to second base and the outfielder had the time to throw him out on a force play, the batter would not get credited with a base hit. If the runner made it to second base safely and then slipped rounding the bag and the outfielder threw to second base and the runner was tagged out, the batter would be credited with a base hit. If a runner is forced out at any base, regardless of where the ball was hit, the batter is not credited with a base hit.


In softball is the first basemen allowed to stand right on top of the base when a runner is running to the firstbase?

Yes, however it is not recommended because if the first basemen is on the base while the runner is running and the runner runs into the first basemen there will be no calls made on interference and injury is very possible. This is why you have the orange/white double first bases in youth softball. The first baseman can actually be called for interference if they are blocking the white base in youth softball just as they can for blocking second or third.


Batter interferes with catcher after striking out runner stealing and safe at second is runner out for batter's interference or returned to first base?

returned to first because when the batter intefer with the catcher the play is normaily stop


Runner 1st and second baseball hit by batter hits runner on way to 2nd Who is out and are any bases awarded?

advancing runner struck by the batted ball is out.


Can a runner advance to second with less than 2 outs in ASA softball?

What's the rest of the question? A runner can advance for many reasons. No outs, one out or two outs has no barring for the runner advancing.


Who bats second in softball?

In softball your best bunter usually bats second. This is because the 2nd batter will often need to perform sacrifice bunts to move the lead-off hitter over a base. The 2nd batter is also usually fast.


What is a force out in softball?

Actually, a force out in Softball is, for example: If runners are on first and second, the force out is at third because the runner is forced to run to third base due to the runners behind him/her.


Who covers first on a bunt with a runner on first and a right handed batter?

second baseman


If you have a runner on first and a runner on third and the runner on first attempts to steal second at the same time the runner on third takes off and scores does the batter get the RBI?

ed Parker isn't


Does the runner score from third if batter tries to stretch a single and gets thrown out at second base?

If there are less than two outs, yes. If there are two outs, this is a timing play. If the runner crosses home plate before the batter is thrown out at second base, the run counts. If the batter is thrown out at second base before the runner crosses home plate, the run does not count.


Does the runner on second have to run to third base when the batter hits the ball?

The runner only has to run if there is another runner behind him (bases loaded) or if there is a force at secoind base.


Do runners have to advance on a ground ball?

That depends on whether a runner is forced to vacate a base when a ground ball is hit. If there is a runner on first base and a ground ball is hit, the runner is forced to run to second base because the batter is running to first base. If there is also a runner on second base, that runner is forced to run to third because the runner from first is running to second. If a runner is not forced to run, they do not have to. If there are runners on first base and third base and a ground ball is hit, the runner at first is forced to run to second because the batter is running to first. But the runner on third is not forced to run because no runner is running to third base from second base.