answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

Technicaly the keeper is always the keeper which is why he is wearing a diffrent uniform. In the rules it states that a team must be made up of ten players and a keeper you must have a keeper at all times. If he is out of the box he acts as any other player and cannot use his hands. You could have your keeper playing striker if you wanted as long as he was still wearing somthing to distinguish him as the keeper.

User Avatar

Wiki User

2009-02-03 16:28:28
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Convert this number to scientific notation

What is the metric system prefix for the quantity 0.001

In the metric system what is the prefix for 1000

In a given community a grasshopper eats grass a bird eats the grasshopper and a cat eats the bird What is the trophic level of the bird

➡️
See all cards
4.13
15 Reviews

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: In soccer if the goal keeper is out of the box is the keeper then a defender?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

In soccer is a goal keeper considered a defender when the keeper comes out of the box?

The goal keeper is always considered a defender, if he is in or out of the penalty area.


Can a soccer keeper pick ball up if defender passes within box?

A goal keeper may not handle the ball if it is passed to them from the feet of a team-mate. If they do, an indirect free kick is awarded to the opponents at the location of the handling.


Can the goal keeper in soccer leave his box and kick the ball?

Yes, but he cannot use his/her hands.


How do you score a goal when d goalkeeper is out of the box?

how do you score a goal when the goal keeper is out of the box?


What is the philosophy of the 18 yd box in soccer?

the 18 yd box is mostly used for goal kicks, the keeper's bounderies, and penalty kicks. for goal kicks, the ball must go beyond the 18 yd box. the keeper can only use his/her hands inside the box. if there is a foul commited in the box then you get a direct freekick 12 yds away from the goal.


What is a goalkeeper?

A goal keeper is a position on a soccer team. This player is awarded special status in that they may use their hands while in their own penalty area (the large box). The keeper is required to wear a distinguishable uniform from either team, the referees, and the opposing goal keeper.


What is goalkeeping?

A goal keeper is a position on a soccer team. This player is awarded special status in that they may use their hands while in their own penalty area (the large box). The keeper is required to wear a distinguishable uniform from either team, the referees, and the opposing goal keeper.


When the ball crosses the end line and the offensive team last touched the ball?

It is a goal kick which is placed on the 6 yard box and is typically taken by a keeper or defender


In soccer can the goalie push an opponent while the opponent is in the goalie box?

A goal keeper may not push another player anywhere on the field.


What are the rules regarding the goalkeeper and the little box in high school soccer?

The "little box" in front of the goal mouth is the goal area. There is no rule governing the goalkeeper and the goal box except that if the keeper is taking a goal kick, the ball must be placed on or within the lines of the goal box to restart play. (Note that the keeper or any of his teammates may take the goal kick - there is no mandate that the keeper take the goal kick.) Following the taking of the goal kick, the ball is considered not to be in play until it crosses out of the associated penalty area, which is the "big box" inside which the defending goalkeeper my use his hands to play the ball according to the Laws of the Game. It is highly unlikely that these rules are modified in high school soccer. It could be fairly said that the sole purpose of the goal area is to define the area from inside which the ball is to be placed in the taking of a goal kick on that restart of play.


Can a defender stay in the box when a goal kick is taken?

Yes, there are no rules stipulating that defenders are not allowed in the box when a goal kick is being taken. Case in point: Some defenders are known to take goal kicks for the goalkeepers, and given that the ball is in the box for the goal kick, the defender is already in the box along with the goalkeeper whilst taking it.Do take note though, that the ball must be passed out of the box from a goal kick, i.e, the goal kick cannot be passed to a teammate (defender or otherwise) who is also in the box.


Can the goal keeper touch a ball in the other teams goal box?

Not with their hands. A goal keeper may only use his hands inside of his own penalty area.

People also asked