Yes. The only time a manager can go to the mound and it not be considered a visit is if the manager believes his pitcher is injured. In that case the home plate umpire will accompany the manager to the mound and listen to the entire conversation to ensure that the manager and pitcher are not talking strategy but solely about how the pitcher is feeling.
As many as he wants however the manager is only allowed one mound visit per pitcher before he has to take that pitcher out of the game.
Not necessarily. He could be arguing a call. If he talks to the pitcher, though. There probably is an infraction.Here is part of the rule: A manager or coach is considered to have concluded his visit to the mound when he leaves the 18-foot circle surrounding the pitcher's rubber.Rule 8.06 Comment: If the manager or coach goes to the catcher or infielder and that player then goes to the mound or the pitcher comes to him at his position before there is an intervening play (a pitch or other play) that will be the same as the manager or coach going to the mound.
The manager may only visit the pitcher one time each inning and have that pitcher remain in the game. The manager cannot visit the pitcher more than once during the same at-bat. If the manager visits the pitcher twice in one inning, a new pitcher must be brought in. If the manager visits the pitcher twice in the same at-bat, the pitcher must pitch to the batter, and then a new pitcher must be brought in.
Not sure I understand the question. The defensive team's manager or any member of the coaching staff can go to the mound to talk to a pitcher. When the second visit of an inning occurs to a particular pitcher, that pitcher must be taken out of the game. Visits to the mound are credited to the team and not the manager or a specific coach.
A coach can go to the mound as many times as he likes in a game. he can only go a few times per inning.The pitcher doesnt have to be removed. If the manager goes to the mound twice in one inning the pitcher must be removed from the gameNot correct.Baseball rule 8.06 is VERY clear that a visit by either the manager OR a coach can only occur twice in an inning before the pitcher must be removed:8.06 A professional league shall adopt the following rule pertaining to the visit of the manager or coach to the pitcher:(a) This rule limits the number of trips a manager or coach may make to any one pitcher in any one inning;(b) A second trip to the same pitcher in the same inning will cause this pitcher's automatic removal;
The pitcher's mound is circular.
Anytime a manager advances from the dugout and says something to the pitcher it is considered a visit to the mound, unless it is in regards to an injury, in which they can only discuss the injury. If a manager visits the mound and then turns back to the dugout and then turns again to say something else, this is considered a 2nd visit, and the pitcher will by rule have to leave the game. Generally you will see catchers look into the dugout and the manager will give him a sign to go out and talk to the pitcher
Yes. If the pitcher is not on the mound and he wipes his hand off before touching the mound and the ball, then it is legal.
Yes, all trips to the mound will be considered a "trip to the mound" no matter if the coach or manager is just talking strategy with the Pitcher or just with the Fielder or Fielders. The only way a trip to the mound does not count against a team is if they're doing an injury check on the Pitcher who is currently pitching in the game however if a pitcher was just substituted into the game and is warming up then the coach or Manager would still be out there and therefore it wouldn't count as a "trip to the mound."
Yes. When the pitching coach comes to the mound he is acting as a representative of the manager.