answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

Yes, it is interference. If, in the umpire's judgment, it was unintentional, the play continues as normal. If it was intentional, the ball is called dead and runners/batter gets two bases.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2015-07-15 19:06:00
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: In a baseball game if a hitter hits a fair ball down the line and it hits the ball girl is that considered an interference?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

Is a runner considered out in baseball if he gets hit by the ball?

yes unless he is standing on the base It is also interference. Y-THINK-Y These answers assume we are talking about a batted ball (not clear from the question). A runner hit by a ball thrown by a fielder is not out, unless his interference with the throw was intentional. It is NOT interference if the ball first passes a fielder other than the pitcher. EXAMPLE: If the runner were to be running behind the fielder, and the ball went through the fielder's legs and hit the runner, the ball is live and there is no interference. A runner hit by a fair batted ball while standing on the base is out.


What do you call the guy who hits the ball with the baseball bat in baseball?

The hitter...


What is interference in baseball?

when a runner interferes with a fielders opportunity to field the ball, interference is called and it is an offensive foul. Obstruction is a defensive foul.


Can a baseball player be pushed off a base and tagged out?

No, this would be considered a dead ball play. A blatant obstruction might be deemed interference and the runner awarded a base.


What happens if a ball hits the backstop and the on deck hitter picks it up as a runner is coming home?

Interference, runner scores


What is a pithcher in baseball?

it is the player who pitches the ball to the hitter on the opposite team!:0 (in other words its the person who throws the ball to the hitter)-sierra


Is a baseball caught in the stands an out?

If it is caught by the player in the stands with no interference (such as a fan tipping the ball up), it is an out.


Is a runner out for interference if accidentally contacted by a thrown ball?

depends on the sport, but in baseball yes he is out. its called bean-baging EDIT: No. Baseball is not kickball. A baserunner is not out if he/she is hit by a thrown ball as long as the baserunner is in the base path. If the runner is considered to have left the base path as so to interfere with a thrown ball, or made some other purposeful effort to impede the flight of the ball (ie, stick his/her hand or leg in the way), they can be called out for interference. This is a judgment call made at the discretion of one of the umpires. However, a baserunner is considered automatically out if struck by a batted ball. And as far as I know, bean-bagging is not a term used in baseball.


Is a Batted ball that hits a bat in foul territory considered foul?

Yes. If the bat is lying on the ground when the ball hits it, the ball is considered foul. The bat is treated as an extension of the ground, just like a clump of dirt. An exception to this rule is if the bat is thrown toward the ball (for instance by the player on deck) then there is interference on the play, and interference rules apply.


What happens if in baseball the ball goes into the runners jersey?

If you are referring to runners already on base, then that runner is considered out because of interference with the ball that was in play.Clarification:Above answer refers to a batted ball that was not touched by a defensive player first. In a situation where a thrown ball or a deflected ball gets stuck in a offensive player's (runner's) jersey then it is a dead ball. The runners will get to advance to the base they are going to and then the play is over


In basketball illegal interference with the ball when the ball is above the basket?

goaltending


A runner is hit by the ball in the back running to first is the ball dead?

Only if it is ruled interference by the umpire -- dead ball and runner is out, no other runners advance.... if no interference is called, this is a live ball

People also asked