It's a touchdown.
If a quarterback completes a pass near the endzone, which is then fumbled by the receiver and recovered in the endzone by another teammate, he is credited with a 0-yard touchdown pass to the player that recovered the fumble. Strange rule, but it happens occasionally.
In high school there are no special rules concerning a forward fumble, so yes, the fumbling team can recover it for a touchdown. However, if the officials determine that a ball was deliberately fumbled forward to try and gain yardage, they can rule it as an incomplete pass.
Special Teams. Defense is off the field at this point.
If a player fumbled the ball into and out of bounds in his own endzone after making a pass interception on his 1 yard line, it is an automatic safety.The impetus is on the player who fumbled.
No - this was banned after 1978 when the Raiders deliberately fumbled the ball forward against San Diego for a winning touchdown.
In college football, yes, except it counts as a 2-point "defensive conversion," not a touchdown. In the NFL, no. As soon as the defense takes possession, the ball would be dead.
There are plenty of players who have fumbled on the one yard line. Quaterbacks do it on quarterback sneaks. Countless running backs and wide recievers have had it knocked out. More often then not itll go out of the back of the endzone if it is fumbled on the goal line. I even seem to remember a defensive lineman who was showboating and was stripped of the ball. You need to give more information...
If you put the ball into your own endzone by backward pass or by carrying it there if the ball becomes dead in the endzone it is either a safety if you have possession at the end of the play or a touchdown if the oponent has possession at the end of the play. A ball that goes out of bounds is in possession of the last team to have possession in bounds so a ball going out of bounds in that case is a safety. Likewise a ball fumbled that goes out of bounds behind the goal line is a touchback because the team put the ball in the oponents endzone. If you put the ball in the oponents endzone it is either a touchback if he has possession or a touchdown if you have possession in the end zone at the end of the play. A kick remains a kick until it is possessed or is dead. That is why a ball touched by the receivers that then goes in the endzone where it is downed by the receivers is a touchback. It was the kick that put the ball in the opponents endzone.
Both Hegman and Thomas 'Hollywood' Henderson hit Terry Bradshaw who fumbled. Hegman picked up the ball and ran 37 yards for a touchdown.
as a pro, 86 times.