answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

The force is off so the runner can only be tagged out.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2007-05-07 00:53:39
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: If there is a runner on first base and the batter is put out at first is the force removed for the runner?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

Man at first ground ball first baseman tags first runner does not advance to second stays on first is this a double play?

If the runner remains standing on the bag when the 1st baseman touches the bag and the 1st baseman does not tag the runner prior to touching the bag, then the runner is safe and you have no double play. Answer To clarify, once the Batter becomes a batter-runner, the runner at first loses his right to occupy first base and is forced to advance. If he is tagged while standing on the base, he is out. If the first baseman then steps on first base the Batter-runner is also out -- Double Play. BUT, if the first baseman first steps on the base the batter-runner is out and the force is removed. If the runner standing on first base is now tagged he is safe.


Can a runner advancing to second on a force play safely return to first prior to being tagged out if the batter runner was put out first?

Yes. Once the runner that just batted is tagged out there is no longer a force out for the runner advancing to second. Therefore he can continue to second or go back to first.


On a ground ball If the runner on first base never leaves the base and the batter is put out by firstbaseman stepping on first can runner stay since force is off?

yes


Can a runner from third base score if the batter is tagged out for the third out?

If the batter is tagged out before he reaches first base it is still considered a force out and the runner cannot score, however if the batter crosses first base safely and then is tagged out, the run counts if the third base runner crosses home plate before the batter is tagged out.


Can a runner on 3B score on 2 outs if he crosses the plate before the shortstop throws out the batter at first base fielding ground ball?

No runs score on a play when a third out is made and that third out was a force out, period. A batter-runner being put out prior to touching first base is a force out. If there had been only one out with runners at first and third or first and second and third, putting the batter-runner out before he reaches first base ends the force on the other runners, and so if the defense next also got the runner going to second or to third, on a double-play, the runner from third crossing home before that third out would count, because the third out was not a force out.


What is the differecne between a tag play and a force play in softball?

A tag play is when it is required to tag a base runner to get them out. A force play is when it is required to have possession of the ball and touch the base to get the base runner out. By definition, a force play is in effect when a base runner is 'forced' to run to the next base because of the ball being hit and another runner being 'forced' to run to the base that the runner currently occupies. If there is a runner on first base and the batter hits a ground ball to third base, the runner on first base is 'forced' to run to second base because the batter is running to first base. In this case, a force play is in effect at second base (and at first base because a batter is always 'forced' to run to first base after hitting a fair ball. A force play is always in effect at first base when a batter hits a fair ball.). If there is a runner only on second base and the batter hits a ball to first base, the runner at second is not 'forced' to run to third base because no one is 'forced' to run to second base. In this case, a tag play is in effect at third base if the runner at second attempts to advance.


On a dropped third strike with 2 outs runner on 3rd is stealing home and crosses home plate before the batter is put out does the run count?

That depends on how the batter is put out. If the batter is put out by throwing to the first baseman who touches first base before the batter does, the run will not count because the play is considered a force out. No run can score when the batter or another runner is put out by a force for the third out of an inning. However, if the batter is tagged out and the runner from third scores before the batter is tagged out, the run does count because the runner was not forced but instead tagged. Only if the batter runner is tagged out after he reaches first base (in attempt to get to 2nd base for example) does the run count. If the first baseman was pulled off the bag on the throw and was able to tag the batter runner before he reached first base, the run would not count. It is still considered a force play (NFHS Rule 2-24-1). The above answer is incorrect. MLB rule 4.09(a) states: One run shall be scored each time a runner legally advances to and touches first, second, third and home base before three men are put out to end the inning. EXCEPTION: A run is not scored if the runner advances to home base during a play in which the third out is made (1) by the batter-runner before he touches first base; (2) by any runner being forced out; or (3) by a preceding runner who is declared out because he failed to touch one of the bases. Note the exception. No run scores when the third out is made by the batter-runner before he reaches first. Doesn't matter if it's a force or a tag on the batter-runner.


Can you charge a hitter with a fielder's choice if there is not a force out at a base?

Yes. For example, runner on 2nd, batter hits ground ball to the shortstop, who, instead of throwing to first, throws to third base in an attempt to get the runner. The batter is charged with reaching first on a fielder's choice, even if the runner is safe or out.


Is it still considered a force if with a runner on first the fielder chooses to throw to first but the runner is safe but the runner from first falls and the first baseman throws to second base?

Once the batter/runner is forced out at 1st base, the force out of all other base runners is no longer in effect. Therefore, even if the original runner at 1st falls, he must be tagged out. He could, in fact, return to first and be safe there if he is not tagged out.


What is force play in softball?

Well for example: If a runner is on first and second, and the batter hits the ball, the force play is at third base because the lead runner is forced to run to third due to the runners behind him/her.


Runner on 3rd base dropped 3rd strike with 2outs Batter is tagged out after runner crosses the plate Does run count?

no. force out runner to first base kills the run crossing the plate with 2 outs


Does a run score on a fielders choice when a runner crosses home plate before the force out is recorded?

If the third out is a force play or a fly out, a run can not score, no matter how soon a runner crosses home before that third out. If the batter hits the ball over the outfielder's head with runners on first and third, and the runner on first constantly slips and falls as he runs to second, the fact that the batter got to first and the runner on third got home several seconds before the runner going to second was forced out, is just too bad. It's still a force out, and no run scores.

People also asked