answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

Players in their defensive zone can hand pass the puck to anyone in the defensive zone; therefore, they can "shovel" the puck under their goalie in the crease to stop play. Play would be stopped provided the goalie was in check by an attacking player; otherwise, the goalie would be given a minor penalty if he didn't get rid of the puck within 3 secs. This penalty rule is at the discretion of the referee.

With regards to penalties and penalty shots associated to players playing the puck with their hands:

If any player other than the goalie closes his hand on the puck or picks the puck off the ice with his hand "OUTSIDE" of the goal crease, a minor penalty will be assessed most likely a delay of game.

If any player other than the goalie closes his hand on the puck or picks the puck off the ice with his hand "INSIDE" the crease, a penalty or penalty shot will be awarded to the non-offending team. (at the discretion of the referee)

User Avatar

Wiki User

14y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar
More answers
User Avatar

Wiki User

15y ago

Obviously, that would be up to the discretion of the referee but from attempting to literally intrepret the question, I would say no. According to National Hockey League rules, there seem to be two instances related to the situation mentioned in the question where penalty shots are awarded when the puck is in the crease: 1) A player falls on the puck in the goal crease 2) A player picks up the puck in the goal crease with his hand. SInce it sounds like the player was already on the ice and did nothing to attempt to cover the puck in the crease, and the player did not pick up or grip the puck while in the crease, I would interpret the rules to mean that a penalty shot would not be awarded. I would be interested in knowing the opinions of others on this situation.

This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: If the puck goes underneath a defensive player while in the crease and then the player uses his hand to knock the puck out of the crease not gripping the puck. Is it a penatly shot?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp