answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

Yes the official scoring notation is K-E2 (strikeout - error on the catcher)

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2009-06-02 13:44:04
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: If the catcher drops the third strike and the batter is safe at first base is that an error on the catcher?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

What happens when strike three goes by and you swung and missed and the catcher drops it?

This play is referred to as "redeye". If a batter misses (or does not swing) at the 3rd strike, and the catcher drops it, the runner must run to first before the catcher throws the dropped pitch to first. If the runner is beaten by the throw, it is simply a strikeout in the books. If the runner beats out the throw, it still goes as a strikeout, but his advance to first will be listed as an error by either the pitcher or the catcher (depending on how bad the pitch was, and the reason it was not caught). In Little League (60 foot basepaths) batter is out on strike three no matter what the catcher does.


Is a dropped third strike in fastpitch softball an error on the catcher?

It depends, it may be the batter or the catcher but mostly catcher. They missed the pass.


In baseball can you make an error on a foul ball?

Yes. For example, if the batter pops up into foul territory behind the catcher, the catcher can be scored for an error if he gets under the ball, the ball drops into his glove, but he then drops the ball. The batter gets another chance to bat, but no matter what happens later in his at-bat, the run will be unearned due to the catcher's error.


How do you score a missed third strike if catcher drops third ball and the batter is safe at first?

It is scored as a strike out for the pitcher (as far as the pitcher's stats) but not an out against the team at bat. The base runner's advance to 1st is scored as a passed ball (error) on the cather.


If catcher drops the ball can the batter run to first?

Only on a third strike with 1st base un-occupied. This does not apply to Little League. Note: he is entitled to TRY to run to first base. He can be thrown out by the catcher if the throw reaches the baseman before the runner. If he beats the throw, then he is safe. The pitcher is given credit for a strikeout. The catcher is given an error.


Umpire calls a batter out and catcher drops the ball and batter advances to first is he safe or out at first?

If he is called out on strikes and the catcher drops the ball, the batter may try to run to first base. In order to be put out, the catcher must throw the ball and get him out at first before he gets to the base. If the runner beats the throw, then the runner is safe. The pitcher is given credit for a strikeout. The catcher is given an error. This is how pitchers can have 4 strikeouts in an inning, which happened in MLB this week.


Is an out recorded if there are less than two outs and the batter safely makes it to first base on a passed ball third strike with first base unoccupied?

No out is recorded. The batter is safe at first, error charged to catcher.


Is a passed ball in baseball counted as an at bat?

If the ball gets passed the catcher on a (passed) drooped 3rd strike it is scored as a strike out ... If the catcher throws the ball to 1st before the batter gets there it is scored as a strike out and or a 2 to 3 put out ...More then likely a passed ball will be scored an Error then another way ...


Why can a batter strikeout and get on first by a wild pitch?

Rule 6.05(b) of the MLB Official Rules states that a batter is out when a third strike is legally caught by the catcher or when a third strike is not legally caught by the catcher and first base is occupied with less than two out. Except for the infield fly rule and the uncaught third strike rule, which keeps the defensive team from making an 'error' to make a double play or triple play, the only way a batter can be called out is if a defensive fielder has possession of the baseball. With the uncaught third strike, no one has possession of the ball.


If catcher drops a foul pop up and batter subsequently gets a hit is batter creditted with a hit?

Sure, the fact that the catcher committed an error by dropping the foul pop up, doesn't effect any action the batter may do. It may, however, effect whether any run or runs that may score are "earned" or "unearned" runs.


What are the ways to get on first?

Hit, walk, hit by pitch, fielding error, catcher interferrence. 1. Walk 2. Hit 3. Hit by pitch 4. Strike out and catcher misses the ball allowing batter to reach 1st base. 5. Reached on Error 6. Fielder's choice 7. Interference by catcher or other fielder


How can a batter reach first base without getting a hit?

Walk, interference from the catcher when the batter was trying to swing at a pitch, by being hit by a pitch, or by swinging and missing at the third strike and the catcher doesn't catch the ball. The batter can then run towards first base but has to beat the throw to be able to be considered safe. - Error - Hit by Pitch - Walk - Dropped 3rd strike - Catcher interference - Fielders Choice


What are the 7 ways to get to first?

1. Walk 2. Hit 3. Hit by pitch 4. Strike out and catcher misses the ball allowing batter to reach 1st base. 5. Reached on Error 6. Fielder's choice 7. Interference by catcher or other fielder


6 ways to get on first without getting a hit?

1. The pitcher throws four balls and you get a walk. 2. The pitcher hits the batter with a pitch. 3. The manager decides to walk the batter without pitching. 4. On strike three the catcher drops the ball and no one is on first and the batter beats the throw to first. 5. An error by the fielders in which the hit does not count. 6. Fielder's Choice


Can there be an assist on an error in baseball?

Yes. If the official scorer deems that an out would have been made had another fielder not made an error after the player who would have gotten the assist played the ball, the assist is given. If the first baseman drops a throw from an infielder that would have made an out on a ground ball, the infielder is given an assist and the first baseman is given an error. If the catcher throws a perfect strike to second base to catch a runner stealing and the second baseman drops the ball allowing the runner to be safe when he would have been out by five feet, the catcher is given an assist and the second baseman is given an error.


HOW can a batter get on base without a hit?

He can either get thrown 4 balls or if he swings and misses the 3rd strike and the catcher drops it, he can run to the base. Other ways: Error by a fielder allows the batter to reach first. Fielder's choice, less than two outs. Fielder obstruction after batted ball. None of the above are counted as hits, but the batter still ends up on base. Batter hit by pitched ball. Catcher interferes with batter's swing (I've not only never seen this, I've not aware that it has ever been called in the last 75 years or so).


How many ways can a batter get to base without a hit?

You can reach base without a hit via the following: 1. Walk (aka Base on Balls) 2. Hit by Pitch 3. Fielding or Throwing Error 4. Passed Ball on Strike Three (The pitch gets away from the catcher after a swing and miss strike 3 and the batter can reach 1st base before the catcher throws to the 1st baseman) 5. Reach on Fielder's Choice (another baserunner is thrown out) That's all I can think of.


Does a catcher interference call count against a batter as an offer or does it count like a walk as a no at bat or does it rather give the batter a hit?

I was listening to a Tribe (Indians) game the other day, and that very thing happened. Apparently they awarded the batter a hit (or that might have been called ball 4, I'm not entirely sure which, but I THINK it was a hit. It's definitely not a strike. Rule 10:13(f) When an umpire awards the batter or any runner one or more bases because of interference or obstruction, charge the fielder who committed the interference or obstruction with one error, no matter how many bases the batter, or runner or runners, may advance In a 'catcher interference' call, the batter is awarded first base, and it is not an official 'at-bat', thus not counting in the batter's total 'at-bats' for the game. On "catcher interference", the batter is awarded first base, no official at-bat is charged (as it is notated in the box score as "'Joe Blow' awarded first base on catcher interference) and the catcher is charged an error.


Is a passed ball from a catcher considered an error?

If the play is scored as a passed ball it is an error. It should only be scored a passed ball/wild pitch if a runner advances, or on the third strike the batter reaches first base safely. The scoring is sometimes a judgment call. Some statisticians are more strict on calling it a passed ball or wild pitch.


Ground ball to pitcher- pitcher drops ball and batter beats throw does pitcher gets an error or the batter get a hit?

It depends on how bad the pitcher boots the ball. An error is recorded when an out is not made within reasonable effort or talent.


How can a batter reach first base without hitting the ball?

In order to reach base without making contact, a batter could draw a walk, get hit by a pitch, be intentionally walked, or reach first on a passed ball after a strike out (i.e., batter swings and misses, and catcher drops the ball, allowing the batter to reach first base, if first base is free). Without collecting a hit, a batter can also reach first on a fielding error or a fielder's choice, which means that a fielder decided to attempt a defensive play at a base other than first base, allowing the batter to reach first base. You missed a Wild Pitch - wild pitches and passed balls are scored separately.


Is hit batsman a wild pitch or error?

Neither -- a hit batsman is a pitch thrown that hits the batter, even if the catcher immediately catches the ball after that contact. A wild pitch is a pitch thrown so badly that the catcher is not able to catch it, but which does not hit the batter. An "error" in baseball terminology has nothing to with pitching -- it is a fielding mistake. A pitcher can commit an error, but only on a batted or thrown ball.


What are 4 ways a batter can reach first base?

There are 6 ways a batter can reach first base. Base on Balls - a batter is pitched 4 balls Hit By Pitch Hit a single An error in the field Fielders choice (the fielder got another runner out instead of the batter) If the third strike gets past the catcher the batter can run to first if he can beat the catchers throw.


How does a Runner advances a base without the batter striking the ball walking or getting hit by the ball?

A runner, or runners, may advance in several ways; stealing, wild pitch, passed ball, wild throw in pick off attempt, catcher interference with batter, balk, fielder interference with base runner, error by fielder on attempted steal, error on catcher on throw on attempted steal.


How do you score an infield error in baseball?

In the scorebook, the notation is 'E' followed by the number of the fielder who made the error (1-pitcher, 2-catcher, 3-first baseman, 4-second baseman, 5-third baseman, 6 shortstop). The batter is charged with an at bat unless the error came on a play where the batter was attempting a sacrifice bunt.