answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

This would be a hit. The only scenerio that this would be a fielder's choice is if the bases were loaded during the hit and the runner that was thrown out was on third base during the hit.

A fielder's choice is scored only if the batter would have been out had the fielder chosen to go after him instead of a runner already on base. If the batter would have reached first anyway (such as in the scenario described here), he would get a hit.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2015-07-15 19:45:31
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: If the batter hits a single to left field and a runner is thrown out at the plate is the batter credited with a hit or fielder's choice?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

Runner on second and batter hits grounder to short and throws out runner at third is batter credited with a hit?

No hit it is a fielders choice


Is it a fielders choice with one out and runner on third and batter grounds out to first with runner on third scoring?

Anytime the batter is put out at 1st base on a batted ball it is not considered a fielders choice, it is simply a put out. Now in your scenario if the catcher would have thrown home and the runner coming from 3rd is out and the batter is safe at 1st, then in that case it would be a fielders choice


If the ball hits a runner is it a hit or a fielders choice?

If a ball hits the runner, the runner is out and the play is scored a hit for the batter.


Can a fielder's choice result without an out taking place?

Yes. A fielder's choice is when a defensive player plays a ground ball and tries to throw out a runner other than the batter. A fielder's choice can be credited when no out is recorded on the play if the official score keeper determines that the batter would have been out if the play went directly to first. In this case it would be a Fielders Choice and the batter would not be credited with a hit.


Do you get an RBI on a Fielder's choice?

Yes you would get an RBI on a fielders choice. If a runner scores on any batted ball the batter will get an RBI, whether an out is made or not.


Is it a hit if the runner running to 3rd base gets tagged out but there is no force?

No. This would be a fielders choice and would not count as a hit for the batter.


What is it scored as if a batter attempts a sac bunt with men on first and second and the fielder tries to get out the lead runner and everyone is safe with no error?

Its Fielders choice, and an infield hit. An error can be recorded if the play could have been executed but was not due to a bad throw or other circumstance. If no error occurs, it is a Fielder's Choice, however, if, in the Official Scorers judgement, the batter would have been retired with normal effort, the batter should be credited with a Sacrifice Hit. If, in the scorers judgement, the runner would have beat the throw to first with normal effort by the fielder, he should be credited with a hit, otherwise, no hit should be credited to the batter. Under normal circumstances, in the question as stated, it should be recorded as a Fielders Choice and Sacrifice (officially called a Sacrifice Hit) by the batter.


Can a batter reach base on a sacrifice bunt?

No. By definition it is not a sacrifice unless the batter is out. The correct answer is yes. The runner can reach base during a sacrifice on a throwing error or a fielders choice.


Does the batter get an RBI if he bats into a fielders choice and a runner scores?

Yes. There are only a few times that a batter helps a teammate score but does not get an RBI. Example 1: Bases loaded, 0 outs, batter grounds into double play 2nd baseman to first baseman, runner at third scores. The batter is not credited with an RBI. Example 2: Runner on 3rd, 2 outs, batter hits a routine groundball to shortstop, but the shortstop makes an erro. The batter is not credited with an RBI because if the ball was played cleanly the run would not have scored.


If a runner is on third base with one out and you hit a grounder to second why are you charged with an at-bat if the runner scores?

The fielder made a decision to throw the batter out at first instead of throwing the runner out at home. This is considered a fielders choice.


If a batter hits a ball that falls safely in front of the center fielder but the runner at second hesitates and gets thrown out at third should it be considered a fielder's choice and not a hit?

Provided that there were no runner on 1st base and batter reached 1st before runner were tagged out, this is a hit. Batter alreay had first base, runner chose to go to 3rd, not forced. If he were forced, then it is a fielders choice.


Does a batter get credited with a hit on runner interference?

no

People also asked