Yes, it is out of bounds.
If the basketball touches the side of, or goes over, the backboard, then the ball is called out of bounds and the play is called dead.
Sure you can shoot the ball over the backboard but it will be out of bounds and the other team will get posession.
no it can not. once it hits or goes over the top of the backboard it is officially out of bounds and its the other teams ball
as log as the player's feet remain in bounds and the ball is not obstructed by the shot clock or the top of the backboard the basked is legal.
The Ball is still in play. Back surface is the only out-of-bounds part of the backboard. (Supporting elements, such as pipes or poles or arms, etc. are obviously not part of the backboard or rim and are out of bounds.)The ball traveling OVER the top of the backboard is OUT of bounds. I believe this rule was put in place because Wilt Chamberlain would score from the other side of the board.Some sources say that if the backboard is 'fan shaped' or arched top, then the over-top rule does not apply, but does if the backboard is rectangle.It's amazing to me how many times this happens at the gym and players call it out of bounds. Cmon! You gotta know the rules if you want to play the game. No one ever knows this rule, but here it is:Rule 4, Section I - c. All five sides of the backboard (top, bottom, both sides and front face) are in play. As long as the shot stays on the top of the backboard, it is still in bounds. When it falls through the basket, the goal counts. But once the ball crosses over the backboard - regardless of where it comes to rest - it is out of bounds.
The ball has gone "in touch" and the restart is a throw-in.
A ball is out of bounds if it goes over the baseline (the line that goes in a rectangle all around the court)
It is when the ball touches the net on a serve, but still goes over, in-bounds.
A puck (or ball in soccer) is considered out of bounds when it touches the netting (big net to protect spectators) or goes over the glass.
that made no sense at all... It does make sense or atleast I understand, I do believe that it is considered out of bounds. I could be wrong but I think that if it goes over the backboard most refs call that out.
It counts as your point.
it should not it is considered out but most refs don't know that
It is not legal under NCAA rules:Art. 3. The ball shall be out of bounds when it passes over the backboardfrom any direction.In NBA the rule is slightly different:b. Any ball that rebounds or passes directly behind the backboard, in either direction, from any point is considered out-of-bounds.Note the word 'directly'. Here's the official interpretation from NBA vice president of referee operations Joe Borgia in 2009:"Think of the backboard as a long tunnel that goes straight back," Borgia said. "If the ball goes through that tunnel, it's a violation. If you looked at Rondo's shot, it was an arching shot up and over the backboard. It never passes through the tunnel."This is why Bird's shot is waived off while other shots that flew over the backboard but not from behind the backboard are valid.Bird's shot is legal under FIBA rules.
A throw-in is awarded when the ball leaves the field across a touch line.
If you save it before it hits the ground i think
The ball is not "out of bounds" unless the ball or the player who possesses it touches the ground in an out of bounds area. So in the case where the ball is in flight over the sideline, and a player who is inbounds catches it and demonstrates control before stepping out, the pass is complete.
Probably no. If you shoot it OVER the rim and it hits nothing, it will go out of bounds and be awarded to the other team.If the shot is from the corner, a team mate could get a rebound and pass it back.So, possibly, but not likely.AnswerNo, that would be considered travelling. Well think about this if you shoot the ball over the backboard it will likely go out of court and tha ball will be awarded to the other team. but also even if you did shoot the ball over the backboard it is called a voilation of the rules so the other team will get the ball so most likely the other team will get the basketball even if the same team catches the ball
You can never have possession of the ball, inbounds, and step out of bounds without the ball turning over to the other team. When inbounding a ball, it is allowed for the player with the ball to pass it to another player that is standing out of bounds on the same boundry line.
Many things can occur when the ball goes out of bounds... (1) If the ball goes over a side line last touched by an attacker, the defense receives a throw-in. (2) If the ball goes over a side line last touched by a defender, the attacker receives a throw-in. (3) If the ball goes over a touch line (not between the goal posts and under the crossbar) last touched by an attacker, the defense receives a goal kick. (4) If the ball goes over a touch line (not between the goal posts and under the crossbar) last touched by a defender, the attacker receives a corner kick. According to FIFA Laws of the Game. Youth rules may be modifided.
In the game of basketball it is out when either the ball is bounced on the line or anywhere in the out of bounds area or when u have the ball and any part of you body (or ball) touches the line or goes over the line. Hope this helps!!
u decide if the ball is in bounds or out of bounds, or if the server stepped over the line when serving. hope i helped :)
Depending on which team kicked it out of bounds, the other team sends one of their players to throw the ball back in to play towards one of their own teammates.
If the ball crosses wholely over the goal line (but not inside the goal) and was last touched by the attacking team, the defensive team is awarded a goal kick.